We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay at Edgewater!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Edgewater South Beach to your Saves list
Edgewater South Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #13 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
New Jersey, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Stay at Edgewater!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed three nights at Edgewater in Deluxe Studio Room 212 and thoroughly enjoyed the spacious room and its amenities. And, of course, the staff was wonderful, friendly and always helpful. My only complaint was the lighting in the bathroom. It was a bit dim and especially so in the shower area. The Ocean Drive location is also a plus being on a more 'quiet' block but, of course, only a very short walk to louder action on Ocean Drive and to other attractions on Collins Avenue, Lincoln Road Mall, Lummus Park, Espaniola Way and Washington Avenue. This was my first visit to Miami and South Beach and staying at Edgewater made for a very memorable time. I would definitely stay at Edgewater again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thanks for choosing to stay with us on your first stay in South Beach, now we definitely feel special! It's fantastic that you had a great time, we hope to be at your service again during your next stay. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    290
    69
    27
    9
See reviews for
116
498
43
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We agree with the positive comments about the staff and the so-so breakfast. The happy hour was a nice touch with quality beer, acceptable wine and quality mixed nuts and pretzels. We had two room issues. The first was in room 203. It smelled swampy or musty, sort of choked me up. The bed was comfortable and the bath was nice. They gladly moved us to room 303 and the air was fine; however the bed was terrible. It was like a piece of old foam and you sunk down so deep it was like sleeping in a hammock. We asked the front desk to be sure to mention this to the management on our departure and he wrote it down. The reason to stay here is value for location. Be careful of room selection. We loved our first time visit to Miami Beach!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, our guest feedback is very important to us. Our apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced, we are glad that we were able to resolve some to your satisfaction. We checked the mattress and unfortunately were not able to verify that it's defective in any way.
Thanks again for choosing Edgewater South Beach, we do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Passaic, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here for two nights over the weekend and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel was in a great location, the room was spacious and spotless, and the staff was the best I've ever dealt with. We didn't have a car but taxis were readily available and for a major city, affordable.
Downside was there was no pool but you were right across the street from a beautiful beach - why would you need a pool? For $18 per guest for the length of the stay you receive beach chairs, beach towels, wifi, computer and printer access, continental breakfast on a beautiful beach front patio, and a happy hour cocktail. The room had all the amenities you would need. The beds were very comfortable, and the entire hotel was very clean. I cannot say enough about the staff at this hotel, especially Victor! They all went above and beyond to make sure our stay was enjoyable and we had what we needed. It was first class service and made the stay all the more enjoyable. I will definitely be back to this great hotel, and highly recommend it for your stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thanks very much for your kind words Suzanne. We appreciate being chosen for your getaway to South Beach and hope to be at your service again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Loved the beautiful terrace overlooking Ocean Drive and the beach,conviniently located, large clean rooms, the staff was great always service with a smile. The General Manager even took the time to introduce himself. Thank you Richard, Andre, and Marteen for a very relaxing few days. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: A room on the 5th floor (Terrace floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
It was my pleasure to meet you, Ricardo! Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience with us. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

OK there is no pool and you pay $30 a day to park but other than that this is a great hotel.

We upgraded our room to a one bed as we had 2 guests with us, the hotel were very helpful and accommodating and totally meet our needs before arrival.

While the lobby area in the hotel is small the rooms all appear to be a good size, the staff are fantastic and very helpful giving great advice and even sending us to a local Cuban restaurant to eat.

The breakfast is OK nothing hot other than the coffee but from 6-7pm there is a free bar with beer and wine available both served on the roof.

The location of the hotel is perfect right on Ocean Drive 1410, the beach is across the road and the hotel supply towels and chairs which you can use.

Overall a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Look around before booking trips we found the best deals walking around some 40% cheaper than on off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Kevin,

We are very grateful that you chose Edgewater over the many other options you have in South Beach. Glad you had a great stay, please come see us again soon. Great pics, by the way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Well located, nice staff, nice rooms and clean.
Only and huge problem: spoiled plan tax - we stayed 4 nights and had to pay 200 dollars for this. We read it on the website before booking but it seemed to us that it was something optional, when we arrived at the hotel the receptionist said that it was not optional and we must pay it.
I said that I did not want to use those benefits (beach towels, breakfest and fruit on the reception) and at end did not use any but it was worthless.
This is not a fair tax and should be optional.
No plans to return because of lack of transparency on the reservation. They should say it's something you are forced to pay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Laura,

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us. Seems that our "Spoil me" fee was not properly explained to you and for that I apologize. The fee is $18 per day (tax inclusive) so for your 4 night stay the total is $72. Our website does explain this fee as "*Fee of $18.00 (per room per night) applies to all reservations." and the breakdown for the fee as: The Spoil Me Plan also includes:

Beach chairs & towels for the complete oceanfront hotel experience
High-speed wireless internet access in guest rooms and common areas
In-room safe access
Daily newspaper

What is also included is the continental breakfast, nightly happy hour and local calls.
Again, my apologies for the confusion, I will be sending you a separate private email with my information in hope of further discussing your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here for three nights on our trip around Florida.
Great room large, spacious and well equipped. Very well situated overlooking the beach but within easy walk of shops and restaurants.
Used the valet parking which was first class and a necessity in this resort. Took the package which included breakfast on the roof!
Staff were really helpful, a small well kept hotel, no bar but within close proximity of all the attractions expected in Miami Beach

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks for choosing to stay with us, we appreciate the opportunity to be at your service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgewater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater South Beach

Address: 1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater South Beach welcomes guests to a relaxing, intimate retreat. The contemporary style and comforts of a modern boutique hotel are evident in every detail of this fully renovated Art Deco District hotel. From the contemporary vibe of the rooms and suites to the European ambiance of the private Rooftop Terrace, Edgewater South Beach is a refreshing alternative in Ocean Drive hotels.Edgewater South Beach was originally built in the heart of Miami Beach’s burgeoning Art Deco District in 1936. Constructed in the Mediterranean Revival style by renowned architect Roy F. France, this Ocean Drive hotel features a striking façade and an intimate rooftop terrace that evokes feelings of St. Tropez, Italy and the Cote d’Azur.Completely redone and renovated in 2003, Edgewater has emerged as a modern boutique hotel featuring suites and studios designed by the internationally renowned Deborah Wecselman Design firm. Located oceanfront at 1410 Ocean Drive, Edgewater South Beach offers guests an experience that blends stylish accommodations with exceptional service, all in the heart of Miami Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Edgewater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.