We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Blew me away Service, rooms and food excellent!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater South Beach

Save Saved
You added Edgewater South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Edgewater South Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just Blew me away Service, rooms and food excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were looking for a different place to stay on South Beach and we will be back here for sure. The GM has trained his staff to treat customers with respect and great service. Not common place in today's world.

Location is perfect for all you want to do on South Beach.

Room was so nice I was surprised after some reviews had complained. This is a clean and comfortable place to stay. Everything seems so new and fresh.

Look forward to returning again!!

Room Tip: Get room 301 view of the ocean from living area. The bedroom is tucked away from all the noise on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
And we look forward to welcoming you back! We appreciate the time you took to let us know how your stay went. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    472
    257
    58
    21
    8
See reviews for
101
424
39
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Everything about this hotel was perfect. The staff, especially Richard, Victor, Johnny and Andre, were helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. Our room was spacious and comfortable, and the continental breakfast was more than adequate, despite what other reviews might imply. Best of all was the location, which is at the northern edge of all of South Beach's craziness. We were able to walk to everything, but the nightlife didn't intrude on us when we wanted some quiet time. We loved our stay at the Edgewater, and we hope we will be able to stay there again.

Room Tip: If you want a view, specify. Our room faced a small courtyard, but we did not go to South Beach to l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
The Edgewater front services crew thanks you very much for you wonderful comment and look forward to your return! Thank you so much for taking the time, we're happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

rafael was very accommodating and friendly during our stay. location is phenomenal; on the (semi) quiter end of the strip. room was clean and view was great. only negative was the 'included' breakfast that was not good at all but many restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and for your feedback. Sorry you did not enjoy our breakfast offering, most of our guests seem to enjoy having this option. As you stated, there are plenty of restaurants in our immediate area that offer a full breakfast menu as opposed to our continental menu.
We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Everything is already said in the previous positive reviews: the super-friendly staff (the reception staff as well as Martine who is present at the happy hour), the spacious room, the breakfast with enough choice, the wonderful happy hour where we could end the day and start the evening with a nice glass of wine or beer (or two..... ). The location is great, the beach just a few steps away as well as the beautiful art deco buildings. The Lincoln Road Mall just a 10-minutes walk. Everything easy and friendly, a great holiday feeling in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
We're very happy that you had a great time with us, we strive to create this experience for all of our guests. Thank you for taking the time to share, we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

At the very first step in we immediately felt a special atmosphere in this place. Everybody was smiling and ready to help you for everything. Very good surprise when entering the 2 rooms we had booked with our friends. They were more impressive than they looked on the pictures. In one word we were very happy to be here for seven days. A special mention to Richard who did all his best to solve a problem we had had in a hotel in N Y NY.

Room Tip: We had a room on Ocean Bvrd but no noise thanks to the quality of the double windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Looks like Richard showed you the real face of hospitality! Thanks for the recognition and for choosing to stay with us, I'm sure we'll see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I booked the Edgewater very last minute, literally as I was boarding my plane to Miami. I was very nervous about what I was going to get!!!!

When I arrived to the hotel for a late night check in, right from the moment I walked in I knew that this was going to be an excellent experience at this hotel!!!

The hotel was spotless!!!!! I read other reviews and could not believe that people were not happy with their stay.

I believe that EXCELLENT customer service is what makes you want to return to the Edgewater, they were truly on point with everything. The front desk staff were pleasant,courteous,respectful and went above and beyond to provided us with whatever we needed!!! This hotel is small, so the staff know you by first name, know who you are and exactly which room you are in. Everything was on point. Thank you to Andre, Johhny and RICHARD!!! You all were wonderful and because of you I will never stay anywhere else when I visit Miami which is pretty often. I will never give my business to that supposed 5 star stuffey resort like hotel (no names) that is overpriced with daily fees alone!!!!

Finally last but not least Rafael...Rafael is the hotels "do it all man"...This man was incredible and provided the best service ever!!! As soon as we walked in from the beach he greeted us with dry towels, he provided us with ice promptly, he was just incredible!!!!

When we checked out, I got my bill and there were no hidden fees or charges!!! Everything was explained to me right out! Businesses don't realized all of these big or little things is what makes a customer happy.

Congratulations Edgewater yes your location and amenities made us happy but I will return only because of your staff who provided us with superb customer service and made us happy with our choice of hotel!!!!!!

Thx Edgewater
Boston Friend-GR

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
You made everyone mentioned in your comment very happy! Our team thanks you for taking the time to leave such an amazing review for us and for choosing to stay with us. We very much look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I chose this place due to the reviews and was not impressed. I got a room overlooking an alley which did not offer a place to even hang my clothes. I heard the dinging from the elevator all night. I checked out early and Will not be back. I went to Z Ocean.

Room Tip: I wish I knew
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Esteemed guest,

Our apologies for not having met your expectations, your feedback is an exception to the overwhelmingly positive response we consistently receive from our guests. I would very much appreciate the chance to discuss your stay with us and have sent you my direct contact information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Edgewater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater South Beach

Address: 1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater South Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater South Beach welcomes guests to a relaxing, intimate retreat. The contemporary style and comforts of a modern boutique hotel are evident in every detail of this fully renovated Art Deco District hotel. From the contemporary vibe of the rooms and suites to the European ambiance of the private Rooftop Terrace, Edgewater South Beach is a refreshing alternative in Ocean Drive hotels.Edgewater South Beach was originally built in the heart of Miami Beach’s burgeoning Art Deco District in 1936. Constructed in the Mediterranean Revival style by renowned architect Roy F. France, this Ocean Drive hotel features a striking façade and an intimate rooftop terrace that evokes feelings of St. Tropez, Italy and the Cote d’Azur.Completely redone and renovated in 2003, Edgewater has emerged as a modern boutique hotel featuring suites and studios designed by the internationally renowned Deborah Wecselman Design firm. Located oceanfront at 1410 Ocean Drive, Edgewater South Beach offers guests an experience that blends stylish accommodations with exceptional service, all in the heart of Miami Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Edgewater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.