We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel! Definitely coming back to stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Edgewater South Beach to your Saves list
Edgewater South Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel! Definitely coming back to stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This hotel was amazing! When i got there, the room I had on my reservation was unavailable so they upgraded me and my boyfriend to a one bedroom suite. We couldnt of asked for anything more! It was huge, it had 2 bathrooms and an excellent view of the ocean. It's in a great location being close to a bunch of restaurants, clubs, bars, shopping, and of course right across the street from the beach! They gave of complimentary breakfast in the morning which was sufficient enough to hold us through lunch. They also had an early happy hour from 6-7p where u can drink all u want for free. The people who worked in the hotel were extremely nice and helpful, especially two of them (Raphael and Johnny). They helped me and my boyfriend find a place to jet ski for the cheapest price and tended to any of our requests immediately and throughly. Couldn't complain about anything, this place was definitely the best part of our vacation! Loved it!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterSouthBeach, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Dear caralea09,

We are so glad to hear how much you enjoyed our hotel, its location, view, facilities and amenities.
We are sorry to hear that you had problems with the flushing of the toilet and that a soap dish was missing. We appreciate that you took it upon your self to fix the toilet instead of calling our engineer. Your comments have been duly noted and we have taken the necessary steps to insure that there are soap dishes in all our bath rooms. Our engineer has also inspected the toilets to resolve any issues with them.
We also apologize for not providing you with adequate information on our Happy Hour (wine tasting). The Resort Fee includes a complimentary continental breakfast, Happy Hour which includes beer and wine along with the complimentary beach towels and chair. Our front desk has been instructed to remind our guests on check-in.
Thanks again for your very valuable feed back and we look forward to hosting you again at the Edgewater South Beach in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    314
    74
    27
    9
See reviews for
125
539
44
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

The hotel was in a great location, right next to the beach but far away enough from the crowds and noise. From the moment we arrived, Rafael and Marissa were very helpful, friendly, and accommodating. We had a deluxe studio and the room was huge! Had a kitchen, bar area, seating area, queen bed, and flat screen TV. The room was very modern and sleek and the TV had a lot of channels like A&E and NatGeo. The only negative would be the bathroom because the shower didn't have a door, it was just very open, and we didn't have much of a view but we didn't come to Miami to stare out a window. The terrace was also very nice, with lots of tables and lounge chairs. There is free breakfast and happy hour held on the terrace but normally the terrace is very empty, great for if you wanted a more private outdoor experience. Overall, loved the hotel and staff and we would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Husband and I stayed here late July 2011 for one night as a romantic retreat w/o the kids. We chose Edgewater bc of the location (right across the street from the beach on the main strip of South Beach) and the price (lower than nearly every other place in the vicinity). Overall, it was a decent stay, but the hotel is a bit strange.

Pros:
-- Location is ideal. Less than 5 minutes from room to jumping in the ocean. Prime South Beach location.
-- Beautiful, restored building
-- Very competitive price
-- Super large rooms, especially by SoBe standards, comfortably appointed with sofa, chair, king bed

Cons:
-- Haphazard service at check-in. Not a very friendly welcome but rather a mumbled request for credit card and ID. In all fairness, the lady at the desk in the morning for check out was pleasant, but this isn't the service you would get at a higher-end hotel.
-- No pool. This was a real bummer, esp since I didn't notice this fact until after I had booked our room. The hotel has a decent roof terrace with chairs and loungers, but there is a high parapet wall around the terrace, so there's no view unless you're standing right at the edge. Still, being across the street from the beach it wasn't a big deal.
-- Every little bit of hallway noise leaked in through the door, including the constant ringing of the elevator bell all night long and the sound of someone talking at 4am. I definitely did not sleep well, which kind of ruined our one night away from the kids.
-- Oddly spare rooms. Our mini-fridge was just sitting in the corner on the floor. Lot's of plain, empty floor space.
-- Shower is nice, but the lack of a door and close proximity of the toilet means that water sprays all over the toilet while showering and soaks the toilet paper. Reserve a hand towel for daily wipe-downs of the toilet. Kind of gross.
-- The breakfast service was a bit disappointing. They've clearly listened to reviewers on here and have added fresh fruit and yogurt, but I still found the quality of product to be lacking. Pastries were unappealing and white bread for toast was a no-go. Dannon Fruit on the Bottom yogurt is a similarly yucky choice. I had hoped for higher quality items.

Overall, we had a decent experience here, but we wouldn't go back. The hotel seems like it's not sure if it wants to be a luxury, boutique property or a lower-end hotel. Instead of committing, it uncomfortably straddles the line between the two.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterSouthBeach, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Dear brooklyncouple,

Thank you for your review, We are happy that you had the opportunity to stay with us and enjoyed our facilities and location. Sorry you had problems at check and that our services did not quite meet your excepectations. We have made note of your very valuable comments and will certainly make the necessary changes for improvement. We hope on your next visit to South Florida you may give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We go to South Beach every year and stay at various beach hotels. This time we found a great deal at Edgewater South Beach and decided to give it a try. What an amazing place. First off, had a great ocean view room. Huge room with living room area, microwave, kitchen sink and fridge; big bathroom with great shower. Hotel was quiet and met all our needs. The toilet didn't flush properly so my husband just fixed it and we didn't have a soap dish in the shower so we had to sit the soap on the shower edge on the floor. But overall, those are minor things. I read they had wine tastings with the manager at night, but we were given no info on the hotel when we checked in and there wasn't anything in the room so we didn't take care of that. I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 205 was our room, corner and overlooks the ocean....ask for that room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterSouthBeach, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Dear caralea09,
We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed our hotel, its location, view, facilities and amenities.
We are also sorry to hear that we did not quite live up to your expectations and apologize for the inconveniences caused with the toilet and soapdish and appreciate your efforts to fix the problem. Thank you for taking the time to write this review so we can understand and correct the issues mentioned. Since your stay our engineer has inspected and resolved the bathroom problems.
Please also accept our apologies for not providing you with adequate information on our daily happy Hour(wine tasting). Our Resort Fee includes the complimentary continental breakfast, Happy Hour (wine and beer) along with complimentary beach towels, chairs and umbrellas. This situation has been brought to the attention of our front desk and we will certainly insure that all guest are informed on check-in.
Thanks again for your very valuable feed back and we look forward to hosting you again at the Edgewater South Beach in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

i went to south beach for five days..alone for the first time and i stayed in this hotel. i absolutely loved my room..it was a deluxe studio. clean comfortable...i would recommend it again..the only thing i would want is a microwave in the room other than that everything was great. the staff was cordial and pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterSouthBeach, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Dear maritza62,

It was our pleasure having you stay here at the Edgewater South Beach for five days. I am glad to hear our staff were able to let you feel at home and apologize for you not having a microwave in your room. We will insure that all our rooms have microwaves so on your next visit this should not be a problem.
Thanks for your review and we look forward to you staying with us on your nex trip to South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

From our arrival everyone was very friendly and courteous. The hotel is very clean and in a great location. The views from the roof top are amazing. Our room was huge for the price. Rafael Castro is an amazing man, no job is too big for him. He always greeted you with a friendly smile and made you feel welcomed and well looked after. Iris also did a great job running the "Happy Hour" and morning breakfast. She was a blast to talk to and made you feel at home. The other staff members were also great, but I didn't get a chance to write down their names.

In closing.... My hats off to everyone for a great job, I will definitely be staying here again on my next trip to South Beach.

Room Tip: All rooms are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterSouthBeach, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Dear Profundus,

Thank you for your review. I appreciate your comments on the great staff we have here and I am glad that Rafael, Iris and the rest of the staff were able to make your stay a memorable one. We strive to provide our guest with excellent service and thank you for your affirmation.
We look forward to having you back again at the Edgewater South Beach in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011 via mobile

i like the location and the service they provide.
its right in front the beach..the price was fair..the room was nice and so clean.
i like Rafael and johnny...they were helpful and friendly
i cant forget the sweet girl but i didnt get her name :(

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewaterSouthBeach, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Dear Aziz-Kuwait,

Thanks for staying with us at the Edgewater South Beach.
Glad you enjoyed your stay, our facilities and found our staff helpful and friendly.
We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgewater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater South Beach

Address: 1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater South Beach welcomes guests to a relaxing, intimate retreat. The contemporary style and comforts of a modern boutique hotel are evident in every detail of this fully renovated Art Deco District hotel. From the contemporary vibe of the rooms and suites to the European ambiance of the private Rooftop Terrace, Edgewater South Beach is a refreshing alternative in Ocean Drive hotels.Edgewater South Beach was originally built in the heart of Miami Beach’s burgeoning Art Deco District in 1936. Constructed in the Mediterranean Revival style by renowned architect Roy F. France, this Ocean Drive hotel features a striking façade and an intimate rooftop terrace that evokes feelings of St. Tropez, Italy and the Cote d’Azur.Completely redone and renovated in 2003, Edgewater has emerged as a modern boutique hotel featuring suites and studios designed by the internationally renowned Deborah Wecselman Design firm. Located oceanfront at 1410 Ocean Drive, Edgewater South Beach offers guests an experience that blends stylish accommodations with exceptional service, all in the heart of Miami Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Edgewater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.