We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, wine, and service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gotham Steak - Fontainebleau Miami Beach - CLOSED

Gotham Steak - Fontainebleau Miami Beach
4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
305-674-4780
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $25 - $200
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 44th & Collins
Description: "....gorgeous, service is solid and the 500-bottle wine selection overflows." - Miami New Times-Best of Miami® 2009 Best Steak House, Best New Restaurant - Alfred Portale, chef and owner of perennial New York City favorite Gotham Bar and Grill, is among the culinary leaders featured at Fontainebleau Miami Beach. Gotham Steak, encompasses two-levels with indoor and al fresco dining. Portale’s menu expands beyond modern American steakhouse fare to include fresh seafood, specialty cuts of meat and 500+ wines from around the world. Design highlights include a brilliant chandelier of hand-blown glass, an open exhibition kitchen and a two-level, glass-enclosed wine tower. Gotham Steak’s accessible cuisine appeals to both youthful diners looking for adventurous food and distinguished guests who appreciate time-honored cooking.
Cromwell, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very good food, wine, and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed at the Fontainebleau with my brother and 3 of our friends for a bachelor party. Came here two nights. We all had great steaks, sauces, and sides. Got an order of beef carpaccio and it was so good we ordered another. We ordered a few bottles of wine and had fantastic service. Our waiter even took us over to an area with couches and a TV after dinner so we could watch a game. (The Bruins I think. Our waiter was from Slovakia and was talked about a Bruins player also from Slovakia). But a very good place. Very expensive though. Bill came in at around $600.

My visit was actually May/June 2012. But wanted to write this post, even though the date was listed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    102
    51
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice steak but pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

At good restaurants it is hard to get a truly bad steak, this is no exception. Good steaks but with everything ala carte prepare for a truly staggering bill to the point where your guests are embarrassed to order. This concept should remain in NYC, it is passe.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great restaraunt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Love visiting fontaine bleau, and Gotham steak. Second time for me and it was superb. On of my new favorite places to eat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“love miami spice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

excellent choices for miami spice. Being that it is a steak house we opted for beef. I had beef tar tar to start followed by a bone in 17oz bone in NY( $15 upcharge , but well worth it) Both were fantastic. Service is excellent as well> Our server dan took splendid care of us. We also werent made to feel less important just for ordering miami spice as some other restaraunts do.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogersville, Missouri, United States
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Sonja was the perfect waitress, so attentive and a joy!
The Caymus wine flight was a great deal for the $
Chef Derrick, was outstanding accommodating our food issues, he created the perfect Salmon with chorizo it was beautiful! we shared the chopped salad which was more than enough for two, it contained an entire garden of delicious veggies. 10 plus in our books.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gotham Steak - Fontainebleau Miami Beach also viewed

 
Miami Beach, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gotham Steak - Fontainebleau Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.