We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sailing, gracious hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Sailing - Private Day Charters

Miami Sailing - Private Day Charters
300 Alton Rd., Miami Beach Marina, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Nautilus)
786-423-3131
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 158 Activities in Miami Beach
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Unique Way to Enjoy Miami on a PRIVATE Sailing Charter from Miami (South Beach). We offer Private Sailboat Charters including Day Sails and Sunset Cruises. Half and Full Day Charter with snorkel and kayaking, Romantic Sunset or Night Sailing Trips with Spectacular Views of Miami from close. Best Sailing on Biscayne Bay, Miami Sailing Sightseeing Tour, Sail - Snorkel and Kayak in Biscayne N.P., Romantic Dinner on a Sailboat. Overnight Charters to The Florida Keys and More! It’s Our Goal To Make You Happy And Smile!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
philly
1 review
“Great sailing, gracious hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015 NEW

Well, we are back from the trip, and the charter with Miami Sailing was a success. They were organized, pleasant, accommodating and eager to go sailing. Being a two person team, they were able to sail and prepare food at the same time. This was a big advantage over single operator charters, as it allows real food to be prepared down below, and keeps the skipper free to concentrate on driving the boat.

They offer a 4ksb for budget charter, but will offer upgrade to the Bene 46.1 (Bruce Farr design) for a little more $ if available. Definitely recommended for performance, but either would be a safe platform for a day of fun.

Their location was convenient (Miami Beach Marina), especially since we were staying in South Beach. We got oriented, and started snacking on fruit, cheese and meats while we motored out the Cut, tacked upwind for an hour (winds N15-20, rolling 3-5ft waves), then bore away back down to reenter Miami Harbor to motor past the shipping terminals and gawk at the city before heading under the Rickenbacker Bridge. We saw a bunch of 49ers returning from practice (lots of international teams with coaches), and the first foiling Moth I'd seen live (not a video).

We traded stories and told lies & jokes while lazily reaching in Biscayne Bay. The kids hung out on deck, at the bow, napping, driving, and later swimming. (They ate very well, which is often a challenge all by itself.) The boat is quite comfortable, and very well maintained, with an enormous bimini and brand new mainsail.

The calmer waters allowed real cooking to go on belowdecks, and soon we were dining while the sun set and the Miami skyline lit up. Very cool, especially when the skipper surprised my wife with a Cuban birthday serenade! After dessert and Cappuccinos with Cpt Morgan we were dropped off on the dock, fully an hour and a half after our time was up! Very gracious hosts and a memorable day.

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSailing, Owner at Miami Sailing - Private Day Charters, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Phil
Thank you for your kind words, it was a very nice experience indeed, and Im glad we could do both ocean and Biscayne Bay - to get the full experience what Miami has to offer for true sailors :))))))
Agata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
“Excellent time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

We had an amazing time on Wind Runner for a 4-hour dinner sail. It was an incredibly romantic trip with great views and food prepared by Agata. Both Miguel and Agata were great hosts and the entire process was simple and elegant. They had fresh fruit and beverages ready for us and they really knew how to set the mood for my proposal to my now fiance. Great views of downtown Miami skyline and awesome sunset in Biscayne Bay. Couldn't have asked for a better day!

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Boating Day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

We rented the Wind runner sailboat for the afternoon 4 hour sail. It was perfect! There were 7 of us on the boat plus our captain, which was a perfect size. You could have fit a few more (maybe 3 or 4 more comfortably, without people having to be downstairs).

Agata was great to work with. She is super friendly and was helpful with booking and answering any questions. She even had ice and a cooler ready for us on the boat. The boat was beautiful and in great condition. The seats, kitchen, table, bathroom was all very clean.

We sailed Key Biscayne and Virginia Key, and stopped at a sand bar to swim and chill a little, but you could ask the captain to take you wherever. We brought our own food and drinks and they had utensils and a fridge on board to keep everything cool. They have a Bose speaker for your music, which worked perfect.

I'd definitely recommend the afternoon cruise so you can watch the sunset over Miami. It is stunning. This could also be really fun for a bachelorette/bachelor party day. I already can't wait to go back and do this again!

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“As good as it gets.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Beautiful boat (Wind Runner) and the amazing, attentive and personal service from Agata and Miguel make Miami Sailing a truly unique experience. They do love what they do and it shows. I've sailed with them three times and can't wait to sail again with them. Sailing with Agata and Miguel is for sure the highlight of any trip to Miami.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sailing Miami Bay and Ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

We just went on Wind Runner two days ago. There were 4 of us and the Captain (Miguel). We all had a blast. Started the morning with a cup of Latte and headed to South Miami Beach where the sailboat was docked. Trip advisor review suggested to choose off of Key Biscayne but it probably didn't matter. Got off quite easily from the port to the open seas and Boy, it was marvelous. The view of the open seas and the feel of ocean as it felt on the skin was very pleasing. After about 1:30 hrs on the open ocean sailing, we headed to Miami Bay and eventually to Biscayne Bay where we went for a swim. Miguel is a very friendly and personable man and quite hospitable. If there is any negative comments to be made, I would think that it would have been nice had there been some better snacks on board ( cheese and fruits would have been nice. All in all I would revisit them next time we visit Miami.
Anoosh.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami Sailing - Private Day Charters also viewed

 

Been to Miami Sailing - Private Day Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Sailing - Private Day Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.