We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value; Nice Staff; needs a few minor tweaks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leslie Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Leslie Hotel to your Saves list
Leslie Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1244 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Wethersfield, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great value; Nice Staff; needs a few minor tweaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at The Leslie Hotel for 4 nights. Our room was comfortable and immaculate, but we did find that the room did not have enough closet or drawer space to accomodate clothes for 3 women so we lived with stuff all over the place. Also, be advised that the bathrooms are not very bright so consider that if you need to apply make up or blow dry your hair. The rooms do not have irons either but the staff will bring you one if you ask. The location is great, the free breakfasts are adequate, service was prompt and the staff was helpful in making suggestions on attractions, etc. The free chairs and towels were a nice touch. I would recommend The Leslie for anyone looking for a very reasonable hotel in a fabulous location. Pablo at the front desk was super nice and did everything he could to accomodate 3 high maintenance women. We also left with the feeling that Lilly and the entire staff truly appreciated our business.

Room Tip: 3rd floor was better than the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    57
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
57
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kalisz, Poland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The hotel is located on the Ocean Drive and it is just across the street to the beach.
Location is splendid, access to the beach is the best you can get. Also you can get free towels, chairs and sunshades for the beach at the front desk, but you better do it in the morning because they run out of sunshades around 11 a.m. There is very nice roof pool with a beautiful view. The bedrooms, are new, very clean and functional although a little bit too small. The beds are firm and very comfortable. We had a long and very good sleep on them. Very important is to ensure that you have a room at the rear of the hotel.The rooms at the front of the hotel close to the street can be noisy at night.
In the hotel you get a complimentary breakfast. This is either a continental: croissant and a slice of toast, or, american: either bacon or sausage (not both), egg, about 5 bits of potato and a slice of toast. This is served cold, because the kitchen is located in another building next to the hotel. Breakfast is very poor. In the neighborhood we could find hundreds of other places with better breakfast. If it wouldn't be included in the price after first morning we would never eat breakfast there again. We had there also a lunch which was not bad at all concerning that we ordered fried calamari which are very difficult to spoil.
Very poor side of the hotel is service at the restaurant. They are poorly organised and very slow in service. What made me even more angry they care much more about gaining new customers from the street than to serve customers who stay at the hotel.
Overall the hotel is worth to stay taking to account very good location and fact that it was lately renovated.

Room Tip: If you want a good sleep take room from the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Clearly a newly refurbished business trying to get things right but suffering in some areas.

The front of house reception staff are fantastic, couldn't ask for more. The bedrooms, being new are clean and functional, the room could do with a comfy sofa as the modernist feel leaves comfort to one side in favour of style. The beds are firm, and for me fine, but 4 nights left my wife having to take tablets for backache. However, let's be clear - front of house and bedrooms overall are pretty good.

Location is first class, access to the beach is the best you can get, the hotel offer free towels, chairs and sunshades for the beach, plus of course a good roof pool, if you prefer this to the beach.

So now the downsides. First ensure you have a room at the rear of the hotel, the front of the hotel close to the street is very noisy at night, and with single glazed windows, must be intolerable. We were at the rear and had no problems.

Second, is the biggest issue: Food. Put simply "do not eat at this hotel!" As part of the price you get a complimentary breakfast. This is either a continental: Croissant and a slice of toast, or, American: either bacon or sausage (not both), egg, about 5 bits of potato and a slice of toast. This is served cold, as the kitchen is down a side alley and takes a while to arrive. One day we sent it back as the egg smelled of vomit. The replacement egg was undercooked.

Third, the service. With the exception of the reception staff, cleaners and bellhop, the food related staff are poor. At our first breakfast we were told that breakfast was complimentary (which we knew), but did not include tip. In other words...... leave a tip.

So all in all an enigma. It has potential, but they really need to sort out the bar and food service; it is very poor and substantially below the standard of the rest of the hotel.

And finally, before you leave the cleaner leaves a printed note saying how much they have enjoyed cleaning your room, and of course.... don't forget to leave a tip.

Do they pay their staff?

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel as far way from the front entrance as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We had booked for one night, but were so impressed we added another. This is a classic deco hotel, right on Ocean Drive. Perfect position. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and above all cool in 100 degree Miami heat. Pablo the concierge was great, looking after everyone and recommending restaurants. Lilly on the front desk was also great. Very friendly.
Sadly the bar service at night was a bit disorganised. What bar tender doesn't know gin and tonic. On night one we couldn't charge to our room but we could on night two?
Finally, breakfast was included, which is fine if you like over cooked bacon, rubber eggs and untoasted toast. We paid on day two, much better.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I could not WAIT to write a review on this hotel; it was so amazing. I came down to Miami with my girlfriends (we're in our late 20s) for a girl's vacation and we had an amazing time. This hotel was perfect: It was walking distance to everything and right in the middle of all the action during the day time but at night, this block quiets down which is great because Miami doesn't sleep and there are some blocks where there are outdoor parties all night. The hotel is right on Ocean Drive so it's right in front of the water. Beautiful view. Our hotel room was too cute and clean and a great use of the space they had to work with. There is a safe in the room and there is no iron. The staff made it all the better too. SOOOO friendly! Lilly, Kadia, and Pablo? were so helpful and friendly and went above and beyond for us. The amenities are ENDLESS! Complimentary breakfast every morning (and I don't mean a bagel, danish, and OJ). They had eggs, toast, and bacon or sausage. Home fries were like $2 extra but I HIGHLY recommend it because it was delicious! Their on-site restaurant is on the sidewalk in front of the hotel (like the rest of Ocean Drive) so it was great to sit outside and enjoy the view and people watch. They offer free beach chair, towel, and umbrella rentals. There's a gym. Free Wi-Fi. Business Center. Bar in the lobby. Quiet rooms. Comfy beds! I can't wait to come back and stay at this hotel. Hopefully nothing changes until then because it's perfect!

Room Tip: We had a good, quiet room but with no view, but that's ok. The rooms that face the ocean-front a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This lovely art deco on the outside and boutique on the inside is a real gem of a hotel. We stayed here for three nights a couple of weeks ago and found it to be a wonderful place to stay close to the hustle and bustle of Ocean Drive, but without too much noise at night from the activities on the street. If you go up to the roof, there is a restful sun deck and pool, along with a shaded seating area, ideal for a lazy day or just a place to chill for a few hours! If you are visiting the Miami Beach and want a good value, modern and well located hotel, look no further!

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor and number 207, it was towards the back of the hotel and as a conse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This is a great hotel! All the staff were friendly and helpful from check in to check out! The location is ideal, on ocean drive directly across the street from the beach. The beach towels and beach chairs are a nice touch. We really enjoyed the rooftop pool! My daughters and I stayed for 3 nights. The rooms are tiny but we were seldom in the room anyway. There's so much going on right outside the front door of the hotel. The restaurant and bar were good. We would definitely recommend the Leslie hotel and would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leslie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leslie Hotel

Address: 1244 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leslie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
35 Room Art Deco Boutique Hotel in the heart of South Beach Miami. Only steps away from the beach on the renowned Ocean Drive. This recently renovated property features Restaurant, bar, lounge, business center, media and game room, gym and a rooftop terrace and pool. There are 2 Ocean View Suites with his and hers shower and other amenities. Services include concierge, maid service, valet parking. Included in rate are: beach chairs and towels, access to hotel amenities and services, wifi and Continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Leslie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leslie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.