We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BRAVO! THE Art Deco hotel of South Beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leslie Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Leslie Hotel to your Saves list
Leslie Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1244 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
TravelAdvisorySC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“BRAVO! THE Art Deco hotel of South Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Staying at a boutique Art Deco hotel in South Beach can be tricky. Many of them are worn, dated and are operated by amateurs in hospitality. Then there's the Leslie, a 30+ room 1937 gem that was gutted down to its four walls and completely rebuilt from the inside out, opening again in April 2014. The hotel's presentation is absolutely flawless with its yellow canary, white and grey theme with splashes of color throughout, while still staying true to its Art Deco heritage. (On a side note, the former hotel and now condos next door, The Carlisle, is the hotel featured in the film "The Birdcage" with Robin Williams and Nathan Lane, as well as the hotel featured as the facade of the hotel in "The Golden Girls" spin-off, "The Golden Palace.")

When I checked in I was greeted warmly and shown to my room on the 3rd floor. (I had read in previous reviews that the third floor was the best option for those seeking a quieter environment due to the often noise from Ocean Drive below out front. Let me also add to that the the 2nd or 3rd floor towards the back of the hotel is the perfect environment for those seeking a quieter stay.) The rooms are fantastically contemporary, with polished wood floors, white tufted leather headboards with comfortable beds made with comfortable duvets and colorful abstract pillows, a desk and usually two walls of curtains, giving the room a very tranquil setting. The bathrooms were tiled in a slate grey, sharing a walk in shower and a frosted locking glass door - absolutely great design. The sink area featured great counters space with an above-bowl basin and gilded mirror, which was also fantastic, but the lighting selected (LED energy saving) was lacking for make-up and morning shave. There is a safe and a nice closet area to put your things away, in addition to a desk with a SMART flatscreen television above. The air system is very generous and quiet. Very nice shampoos, conditioners, shower gel and soap is included. The maid service was fantastic, usually finished by 1:00pm and making the rooms look completely fresh with their visits.

The hotel features a generous American or Continental breakfast, featuring orange juice, coffee, bacon or sausage, eggs and toast with jelly/butter, ALL INCLUDED (gratuity not included, of course.) The dining space is out front on the covered/tented porch and is very accommodating with the beach right across the street offering a great view. Service was great.

Selling point for the hotel? It does have a great gym for those loving exercise, a business center featuring two Apple computers for those who need it and a nice gathering area downstairs between both, but…the pool is the crown jewel of this property. Located on the roof top, it features a yellow awning cabana with four separate sitting areas (they do not charge to reserve a cabana as many hotels do) with leather seating, seating for poolside dining and plenty of padded leather lounge chairs to help one sunbathe properly. Poolside bathrooms and elevators are accommodating. Of course you can order your meals to be poolside, as well as your drinks. The pool features a waterfall, as does the heated jacuzzi hot tub…just the perfect oasis.

The staff here was very cultured, very accommodating and very kind, especially Pablo, who was truly a gentleman and made our stay especially welcome with his hospitality.

If you want to stay in a South Beach Art Deco style hotel, The Leslie is one where you cannot go wrong. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Stay at the back of the hotel on the second or third floor if you're concerned about noise as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    61
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
44
64
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We enjoyed our wonderful stay in the Leslie Restaurant very much. We even had an excellent meal for three times! We came back to Leslie after a fortnight's holiday. Especially our waitress Alisa from Poland was highly attentive and cordial! Indeed, she recognised us straight away after two weeks. Besides, we can strongly recommend the lobster with pasta.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed here in a King suite for 4 nights. The room had ample space and storage. The upgrades to the room were modern and made for a comfortable stay. The majority of the staff were welcoming and accomodating to any requests. They provided beach towels and small chairs to use at the beach as well. We also enjoyed breakfast at the hotel each morning we stayed. It was not anything extravagant, however it was good food accompanied by friendly servers and beautiful surroundings. We ate dinner here a few times as well (steak, chicken, lobster tails, pasta). The food was consistently good to my surprise. The rooftop pool offers beautiful views of the beach and was nice area to hang out that wasn't too crowded. This hotel was a great find for the area and price point. It is across the street from the beach and in the middle of all the action. It is not on the busiest block on the street, so I was happy to arrive back at this hotel at night after all the hoopla a few blocks down. Overall I would definately stay here again, and I hope that they keep up the good work so that I can have the pleasant experience when I return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

As a party goer ths hotel is in the middle of everything!! thoguht it rained we were able to enjoy our mini vacation in the heart of shouth beach!! i would like to mention the great staff this little hotel has! I've been to some nasty hotels in Miami and the Leslie will not disappoint you! the rooms are amazing, the pool was breathtaking!! (on the roof!!) great view from my room and the pool staff was incredible. Thanks to everyone who made my stay the best vacation ive had so far! David on the front desk (thanks for calling a cab for us and for being very patient and the ladies that checked us in) and i believe Mike was very friendly and helpfull too! these people go above and beyond and do a great job! i work in the hospitality business and this hotel is an example of a true jewel in the zoo that Miami Beach has become.
we are definetly coming back and sharing with friends and family!

Room Tip: Any room facing Ocean dr
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue ridge, ga
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I never leave reviews but since I have never had such a wonderful experience I figured I would help other ditch the gross hotels on the beach. I stayed at the Leslie with my husband just 4 days, and we have been coming to Miami for 6 years now. The Leslie is newly remodeled, centered in the heart of Ocean drive, beautiful pool, gym , and amazing personalized service from the staff. Usually I am rushed out of the front desk by the guest service employee but at he Leslie I was treated with respect and accommodated like a celebrity. I want to thank Mr Mario for recommending the best places to visit and great food in town. I recommend everyone to see him for the real Miami beach experience.
The rooms were nicely clean and I leave without any complaints.
Will be coming back next year!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Really nice brand new designer hotel. Right on Ocean Drive, only steps away from the beach. Staff is superior, rooms are beutifully made, rooftop pool is one of a kind. Restaurants, barsm nightlife is right at the footsteps.

The only thing they need to learn is how to make an espresso. Not a US espresso but something that would staisfy European espresso drinkers as well. Our espresso was more like an Americano in a small cup.
What was really nice that we did not say a word about then coffee, did not complain and still ended up not paying as the waitress felt it wasn't appropriate to charge us as they made us wait before taking our order.
This was a very nice touch wo we ended up paying for our coffee via tip

Highly recommended hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed in Miami for the 3rd and 4th July on our trip back from the keys. we normally stay at the Lowes however decided we fancied a more boutique smaller experience on ocean drive so we could watch the 4th July fire works and be amongst it. found this hotel on booking.com and it did not disappoint. Beautifully decorated, lovely rooms amazing attention to detail and great staff. the food was good and we had a breakfast a lunch and a dinner here. Great to sit and people watch, you are amongst it without having to battle the throngs of people and noise along ocean drive. We actually preferred this from the big corporate hotels, pool on the roof, lovely decor , good service, great food, what it there not to like. We would defiantly stay here again and recommend. thank you Leslie hotel for a great end to our holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms were good we had one on the side which was nice and quiet 110 as ocean drive can be a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leslie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leslie Hotel

Address: 1244 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leslie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
35 Room Art Deco Boutique Hotel in the heart of South Beach Miami. Only steps away from the beach on the renowned Ocean Drive. This recently renovated property features Restaurant, bar, lounge, business center, media and game room, gym and a rooftop terrace and pool. There are 2 Ocean View Suites with his and hers shower and other amenities. Services include concierge, maid service, valet parking. Included in rate are: beach chairs and towels, access to hotel amenities and services, wifi and Continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Leslie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leslie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.