We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach to your Saves list
Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   940 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Bonn, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Nice hotel with very helpful and friendly staff (Mario and Natalie)! In spite of outdoor clubbing at night, we did not hear a lot of the party "noises". If we will visit Miami Beach again, we will definitely consider booking the Breakwater Hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey C, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
It is great to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. We loved having you here! Mario, Natalie and the Team look forward to having you here visiting with us again soon!

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    277
    129
    54
    112
See reviews for
104
405
53
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

In the heart of Deco District right on South Beach. Venue is nice, room are good price quality ratio and they also have choice of quieter rooms so u don't have to listen to the parties till 5am. Wish they offered king size beds rather than queen.
Staff service is ok and if they improved the overall level that would be better. Reception very friendly and a bit confused on room costs charges etc.
Not my recommended location for Miami after being coming for several years.
Ciao

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey C, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your comments about your experience visiting with us. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy all aspects of your visit, but we loved having you here with us! We look forward to having an opportunity to have you visit with us again soon so we can provide you with a wonderful time.

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We stopped by the breakwater hotel after out can took us to south beach , we wanted to just come to the beach but we had all of our luggage and bags with us, the hotels bell boys and manager assisted us in out requests even though we weren't guest and had no intention of staying . They then stored our luggage for a small
Fee of $5 , and helped us in touring south beach. It was a lot to ask for even though we weren't guests , but they helped anyway. They even arranged a car service to transport is to Ft lauderdale to catch our flight. I know for a fact the next time we're in Miami we're staying here

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey C, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your comments! It is our pleasure to take care of everyone we can. We look forward to having you visit with in the near future!

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My sister, best friend and I needed a place to store our luggage until our flight and the staff was so nice. It was $5 a bag but Mario even went and booked our transportation to get to the airport just out of courtesy. The hotel itself was in a great location. Next to everything you would want to go to. When I go back to Miami I'm def staying there.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey C, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments! We loved you visiting with us. Mario and the Team look forward to having you here in the center of South Beach with us again soon!

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

excellent location, very nice and friendly team especially nathalie and pablo .
A bit noisy, but fun in the center of ocean drive! Great week in general
lots of restaurant close to the hotel
Will come again!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey C, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
So great to hear you had a fun time here with us! We loved you being here. Natalie, Pablo and the Team look forward to you visiting with us here in the center of South Beach's Ocean Drive soon!

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We had a very nice week at the break water hotel.
Of course its a little bit noisy, but its well located, in the heart of Ocean drive.
Employees here are very nice and friendly (Nathalie, Pablo, Sadrac and the rest of the team are always there when you need)! So really appreciate it
The menu of the restaurant should be improve, it was better two years ago...

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the hotel are too noisy, much better taking a room in the back with no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey C, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
It was wonderful having you here visiting with us! We are happy you enjoyed being here with us in the center of Ocean Drive (we know it can be a bit noisy, but is the heart of South Beach!). To address the noise from all the surrounding entertainment and action, we will be modifying our windows this year to help minimize the noise for our guest's comfort. Natalie, Pablo, Sadrac and the Team look forward to having you visit with us again soon!

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This hotel was perfect. Starr was excellent, location was prime time and the aura was much needed. Definitely recommend this hotel to any and everyone. Pablo who works for the hotel helped us with our bags and taxis as if it was his livelihood. Much respect

-Brandon B.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey C, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
So wonderful to hear you enjoyed your visit with us at The Breakwater! We loved having you here. Pablo and the Team look forward to you visiting with us in the center of South Beach's Ocean Drive again soon!

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Address: 940 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Esplendor Breakwater, is a fun, bustling and entertaining historic Art Deco hotel located in the heart of South Beach's famous Ocean Drive. The hotel is a non-stop, active delight right in the center of everything that is South Beach. You'll find yourself within walking distance of a wide variety of outdoor cafes serving every style of cuisine imaginable, art galleries, night clubs, the famous Beach, the Versace Mansion, beach front walking, biking and jogging paths, world class events like the Wine and Food Festival, as well as the fabulous shops of Lincoln Road Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.