We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and well located hotel in the heart of south beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Save Saved
You added Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   940 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #75 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice and well located hotel in the heart of south beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We had a very nice week at the break water hotel.
Of course its a little bit noisy, but its well located, in the heart of Ocean drive.
Employees here are very nice and friendly (Nathalie, Pablo, Sadrac and the rest of the team are always there when you need)! So really appreciate it
The menu of the restaurant should be improve, it was better two years ago...

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the hotel are too noisy, much better taking a room in the back with no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey C, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
It was wonderful having you here visiting with us! We are happy you enjoyed being here with us in the center of Ocean Drive (we know it can be a bit noisy, but is the heart of South Beach!). To address the noise from all the surrounding entertainment and action, we will be modifying our windows this year to help minimize the noise for our guest's comfort. Natalie, Pablo, Sadrac and the Team look forward to having you visit with us again soon!

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    233
    113
    50
    97
See reviews for
92
337
48
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This hotel was perfect. Starr was excellent, location was prime time and the aura was much needed. Definitely recommend this hotel to any and everyone. Pablo who works for the hotel helped us with our bags and taxis as if it was his livelihood. Much respect

-Brandon B.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey C, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
So wonderful to hear you enjoyed your visit with us at The Breakwater! We loved having you here. Pablo and the Team look forward to you visiting with us in the center of South Beach's Ocean Drive again soon!

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We just returned from a 4 day stay at the Breakwater. We were a part of a 10 person group. From the time we arrived, Pablo and Natalie took care of us. From checking in to checking out, they had us covered. There were some requests from the group for bath tubs because not every room had them. But that was no problem, Natalie changed our rooms and even was able to move to whole group into the same building. You can't ask for any better service than what we received at The Breakwater. I would advise anyone that is looking for a good location in South Beach with friendly and professional staff to stay there. We had a blast in South Beach and can't wait to come back again. And yes, we will be staying at The Breakwater.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. Some of our group stayed in suites and the Penthouses. Just remember, you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey C, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
It is so great to hear you enjoyed a wonderful visit with us at The Breakwater! We loved having you here. Natalie, Pablo and the Team are looking forward to having you visit with us again soon!

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Me and my wife stay there every summer. Marisol and Natalie both need raises, they are AWESOME and professional. A+++ and so are the bell hops. They accommodate us and handle all or any issues that arise. The breakfast inclusive of the hotel fee is far better than the when they would give you a chair out at the beach so KEEP THE BREAKFAST.

You can check out Bicycles and the vibe is just the best. I love this hotel.

The price is great. The staff is great. We had a few issues and they totally took care of us. The food is great if you eat there. I am in the music business and I stay at 5 star hotels only. These rooms are not 5 star but with all that you get I call it the best hotel on South Beach PERIOD. Hands down.

Room Tip: If you want the party side of the hotel stay in the side by the club. It's loud but if your you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey C, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your comments! We loved having you and your wife here visiting with us! Natalie, Marisol and the Team look forward to having you here in the center of South Beach's Ocean Drive with us again soon!

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templeton, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

What a fun evening! The drinks are enormous and delicious. Buy one, get one free. We had mojitos with plenty of mint and lime. Service was good. Dinner exceeded our expectations. We had whole snapper, crusty on the outside, tender on the inside. Steak was done perfectly and the garlic mashed potatoes were tasty! Plenty of food - two people split one dinner in our party. I recommend the seating at The Breakwater for fantastic people watching and a good time!

Room Tip: Valet parking is the only way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey C, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your time at the Breakwater! It was wonderful taking care of you and we look forward to seeing you here with us again soon!

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

You cant get a better location then the Breakwater right on Ocean drive in the heart of South Beach. Ana at the front desk and Murat in reservations were extremely helpful and accommodating considering a few hiccups we had during our stay which was outside of the hotels control. This was my second time here and I will definitely be back.

P.S. room key cards need to be fixed/updated had a few problems getting into the elevator/room

Room Tip: I had 2 suites facing Ocean Drive and even with all the nightlife the room was still very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey C, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for visiting with us! Ana, Murat and the team enjoyed having you here at our active, bustling hotel in the center of South Beach's Ocean Drive. We all look forward to having you visit with us again soon!

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

beware!! please read..

i recently stayed at this hotel the weekend of july 10-14th, 2014, i arrived early and my room was ready, which was great but it was not what i expected. very small room. i asked the supervisor for an upgrade and she gave me one free of charge which was awesome. it had the ocean front view which was beautiful.

let me shorten this whole thing up. friday night me and my friends were at the courtyard, hanging out, i decided to use the bathroom in the lobby around 2am. i went in, and after i left, about 5 minutes later i realized i forgot my room key in the bathroom. i asked the manager on duty to go back into the bathroom, and he kept telling me that it was locked. i told him i left my room key in there but he did not care. i didnt want to argue, so i told him to make me a new one.
me and my cousins went back into the room, around 2:30am, i decided to leave to go find a drink with my cousin. so there was 2 people left in the room, one slept on the couch, and the other on the bed. we came back around 4:30am to the room to only find that the door was open.... everyone was sleeping when we left!!! i woke up my cousins up to ask if they opened the door and they didnt. come to find out, one of their phones was stolen!!!!!!

someone went into the room when they were sleeping and stole a iphone!!! i could go into much detail but im not going to waste my energy.. i called down to the front desk, the jerk from earlier, did not seem to care. i called to make a report with the police, they came down to get my story, then detectives came, and even crime scene...

the hotel told me they couldnt review the cameras, without the dm there. and he wouldnt be coming in until tuesday.. it takes 3 whole days???? and of course, i'm leaving on monday, so he would come on tuesday..

my cousin had to purchase a brand new phone $700 at apple to replace.. the hotel did not care about us, didnt seem bothered at all about the burglary.

and fyi, we seen "housekeeping" cleaning at 3am, saturday night... oh really?!!!

stay away from this hotel. everything about it sucks. food is nasty. free breakfast? of course, cause its just cereal and very limited options..

please please dont give this place anymore business...

i never got refunded my money for my stay, nor did i ever get a call back from them in regards to the viewing of the cameras from the night of the incident...

hate this place.. made me lose trust, and i was worried for my life the whole entire trip. had to sleep with the chair wedged in the door. worst feeling ever!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey C, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
I was very disappointed to read your account of your visit with us here. To say that is not the typical experience here is an understatement. I and the team are truly sorry that was your experience and you left with that memory and feeling. I did look into the issue with your phone along with the detective assigned to the case. Perusal of the video did not show anyone other than the occupants entering or leaving your room. As to the rest, I can only hope that you would contact me on your next visit to South Beach so I can organize a wonderful visit for you.

Sincerely,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Address: 940 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Esplendor Breakwater, is a fun, bustling and entertaining historic Art Deco hotel located in the heart of South Beach's famous Ocean Drive. The hotel is a non-stop, active delight right in the center of everything that is South Beach. You'll find yourself within walking distance of a wide variety of outdoor cafes serving every style of cuisine imaginable, art galleries, night clubs, the famous Beach, the Versace Mansion, beach front walking, biking and jogging paths, world class events like the Wine and Food Festival, as well as the fabulous shops of Lincoln Road Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tablet Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.