We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great customer service" :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Save Saved
You added Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   940 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Great customer service" :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

This hotel was just what me and my husband needed for our vaccation. We visited the hotel Feb 02 thru 04.The moment that i check in i went up to my room i was looking for the ice machine on the floor i found a very respectful men that was checking rooms on the floor's that approach to me with kindnest to ask me if i needed help finding anything that i need,i told him i needed ice, he took the bucket from me went to get the ice and brought it to my room, that was very nice of him. The day we were going to check out, we had call the front desk to send the bell men to come get our luggage, apparantly the front desk said the bell men would be ready for us in 5 minutes but we were in a hurry. I found the same gentlemen who bought the ice i ask for his name, he told me his name was Castillo and we ask him can someone come to get our luggages for us down to the front desk. He suddenly, said he was going to take the luggage down for us. The check in and check out was easy and smooth even if we had some difficulties to have a bell men at the moment to process our luggage for our check out but we find castillo that were helpful, always smiling. From my opinion he look like he was always happy to help out with anything needed. Thank you to the cleaning staff because the rooms were very nice, and clean. We are looking forward to come back again!!!!
Thank you :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey C, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and observations! It was great having you here with us. I will be sure to share with Castillo your comments and the rest of the team. We are always seeking opportunities to serve our guests and make your stay ever more fun and comfortable. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the near future.

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    304
    217
    105
    51
    90
See reviews for
85
310
45
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trosa, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The hotel keeps an average standard in the middle of South Beach, Clean and OK but the shower in our room was wrongly constructed so the water ran out out the bathroom floor and carpet. Broken lamps etc. also takes down our judgement. The restaurant was also no better than the average South Beach restaurants offering nothing else than the others, nice staff however.
Best of all was our porter Rony who was extraordinarily service minded, allways happy to help out with anything we needed. Rony also contributed with that "extra" that is so important for a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and give our best regards to Rony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey C, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and observations. It was great having you here with us. I will share your delight with Rony's service and use your observations to focus our efforts to ever improve the guest's experience in our fun, active and entertaining property. We look forward to you visiting with us again soon!

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This hotel was just what we needed for our vacation. Rony and all others in customer service were helpful, always smiling, and very welcoming. Rony also carried our bags to our taxi, about a block over, on our last day. So amazing! Our room was facing another hotel that had music playing all night, but it did not bother us. What do you come to South Beach to do? Have a blast!!!! We want to thank everyone who helped make our stay great!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks and observations! It was great having you here visiting with us. We look forward to having you here with us in the near future.

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Check-in was easy and smooth, but they pre-assign your rooms and so you have no say in whether you face a back alley or the loud noisy club/pool. The city garbage trucks come every other day and are very loud and startling and the club on starting on Thursday nights and through the weekend goes until 2 or 3 am and earplugs cannot even tune it out. So staying here for other than partying and pleasure should not be considered. They have the air conditioning turned off when you get to your rooms. All signs and plaques are missing letters. Fortunately my husband has some muscle because we had issues opening and closing our door. We stayed there last year and it was not this bad. My parents were in the same room as last year and we pointed out maintenance things that needed to be fixed and they had yet to fix them a year later. Our shower has mold. The cleaning ladies leave the bare minimum with the towels and coffee so day after day we had to call the front desk for more towels. They have black out shades, but light come in through the sides so bad on the windows. They have a patio on the top floor for guests but it wasn't always open and the door would lock randomly. Also half way through our stay they decided to start maintenance on our pool and the closest pool was 2 blocks away. And don't let them fool you with the "free" breakfast that comes with the resort fee. It is hardly enough to eat nor edible. On a better note. They do offer bicycles you can use for free to ride along the beach. They have towels for you to bring to the beach and they have valet guys are quick and are good about helping you get a cab. All in all it's just not a place for the well traveled people.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for your observations and suggestions. It was great having you here with us. Your comments will help focus us on ways to make our guests every more comfortable in our energetic and active hotel here in the heart of South Beach's Ocean Drive. Our location can sometimes be a bit noisy because of all the activity in and around our property. It being a historic building, we continue to work within those parameters to consider measures which minimize noisiness for our guests. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the near future.

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed here last Thursday night (1/30/14). We were very impressed with this hotel. From check-in to check-out the staff made us feel like family. We must give a special thank you to the young gentleman who checked us in and showed us our room, Darlon. He really made us feel welcome from the second we stepped into the lobby, and took his time to answer all of our questions, even though he was very busy at the time. Once again Darlon, thank you! We will forever stay at this hotel every time we are in South Beach!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
It was great to have you visiting with us! Thank you for your kind remarks and observations. I am glad you two enjoyed yourselves at our fun, active and energetic spot! We look forward to having you here with again in the near future.

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Almost everything in the hotel is good or better. Room, people, free usage of wifi and computer, including printers, at lobby, location directly in Ocean Drive, etc. Only two points not that good. First, breakfast. Everything was good, but, assortment was very, very, very limited. Second point is about noise. During the night the music in the outdoor bar in Ocean Drive arrives very strongly to the rooms not facilitating the sleeping at all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey C, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
It was wonderful having you here with us! Thank you for your observations and suggestions. They are very helpful focusing our activities to provide an ever more comfortable guest experience in our fun, energetic and entertaining property in the heart of South Beach's Ocean Drive. Our wonderful location is very fun and at times noisy because of the the activity, live music and general merriment that is South Beach. We are seeking methods in our historic property to minimize some of the noise in the rooms when our guests want to rest from all their activities. We look forward to having you here again in the near future!

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

We arrived from our flight at 7:30am and were forced to sit, sleep and wait in the lounge AND dinning area until 3:30pm! When a room was finally made available, the room had a used condom wrapper in the ccorner of the bed, mold in the shower, and broken A/C. The room was 80 degrees for the 1st hour we were in the room! The service and cleanliness were horrible!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey C, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
First, I am very disappointed to hear about the inconveniences you experienced while visiting with us! Please accept my apology! I know when you were with us that a very large group arrived at 730am, when our guaranteed check in time is 4pm. Many guests had to wait in our lobbies and lounges while our in-house guests checked out (check out wasn't until 11am and several left later than that) and rooms were prepared by our staff knowing many people were waiting to get to their rooms. Still, there is no excuse for finding the conditions you mention in the room. Thank you for your observations as they will serve as a focus for ever improving the comfort of our guests. Please contact me directly on your next visit with us so we can enjoy our fun, energetic location properly as our guest.

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Address: 940 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Esplendor Breakwater, is a fun, bustling and entertaining historic Art Deco hotel located in the heart of South Beach's famous Ocean Drive. The hotel is a non-stop, active delight right in the center of everything that is South Beach. You'll find yourself within walking distance of a wide variety of outdoor cafes serving every style of cuisine imaginable, art galleries, night clubs, the famous Beach, the Versace Mansion, beach front walking, biking and jogging paths, world class events like the Wine and Food Festival, as well as the fabulous shops of Lincoln Road Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Tablet Hotels, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.