We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach to your Saves list
Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   940 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Expensive, great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach
The hotel is in the middle of the beach and awesome. However the hotel manager and the valet manager both only had nice things to say. No actions. Both my girlfriend and I had bites starting out first day and largely covering out bodies the 4th. My rental car which I trusted to the valet, was not only dented (filed an incident report) but on our 3rd night had over 20 miles put on the car. The valet garage was .5 miles from the hotel.. Both ways..

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for your inconveniences while you were visiting with us. I will share your observations and suggestions with the everyone and make sure we improve in these areas in our efforts to provide you and the rest of our guests with a wonderful South Beach experience. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Chauncey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    253
    118
    53
    100
See reviews for
97
370
51
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

At first we loved the location of the Hotel Breakwater, which is right in the centre of Ocean Drive; the hotel is authentic Art Deco and we were delighted when reception upgraded our stay to a corner balcony with ocean view. That was until the DJ started at 4pm, right below our window. Because the bar next door is located in a courtyard the music echoed up into our room and was actually louder than when you passed by the bar on the street. We didnt mind during the day, but as I'm pregnant and couldnt drink, we knew we had a long night ahead of us. We used ear plugs to try and block out the noise, but as the room was vibrating, it was of little use. My husband felt ill during the night, because of the vibrations and he is a musician! As the hotel was full, we didn't complain as we knew there was nowhere to move us to, but we would not choose the hotel again, unless we ourselves were planning to be out until 5am, which is when the music next door eventually stopped. There were issues with the room key system - nobody's worked, not in the lift or on the doors and we had to constantly go down to reception to get new keys which still did not work. They really need to sort this basic system / requirement out. Breakfast wasn't great, but was free. Porter was super friendly and very helpful. We liked our room and our view was great. If you are looking for a party spot, this is great, but if you need some sleep, don't stay here!

Room Tip: Ask to be in a quiet room if at all possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
First, congratulations on your expecting! It is a blessing. Thank you for sharing your observations about your visit with us. I apologize for the difficulty you had resting. As you noted, our location is in the midst of the very busy and active South Beach Ocean Drive scene. It is very lively and entertaining, but also quite active until late. We are looking at some steps we can take to minimize the ambient noise from the activity and I will keep your feedback in mind as we do so. We look forward to your next visit to the area and to see you here with your new addition to celebrate.

Best regards,

Chauncey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I was a little dubious about this hotel after reading all the reviews. My husband can't tolerate loud music. It was a good deal through Hotwire and we loved what it had to offer barring the club scene. We had a lovely stay at this hotel. The staff was courteous. Our room was clean. Towels for the beach and the pool. Yes it was noisy and hard to sleep, wish I has known about the free ear plugs at the front desk. I had to improvise with tissue paper and burying my head in the pillow.
We were in the middle if the Art Deco area with all the neon lights at night. Quite the experience. Don't fall for the $45 giant cocktails, we got 2 for 15 at Legends down the road! Very expensive but come off Ocean Dr and there are nice cheaper eats.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
It was wonderful to have you here visiting with us! We are right in the middle of things on Ocean Drive and it can be a bit noisy with all the music, activity and entertainment! Thank you for your observations which can guide us as we are always seeking to make the experience for our guests more enjoyable. We look forward to having you back with us in the near future.

Best regards,

Chauncey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is good.view is excellent.but the elevator is not perfect .the internet was very good but sometimes was reconnected .and a lot of nose at night.it was terrible. At the first night we can't sleep at all.Breakfast was good .but water not hut for tea.also the milk was cold.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your observations about your visit with us. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our central locations, ocean views and active ambience. Being in the middle of all the music and entertainment on Ocean Drive in South Beach can be a bit noisy at times. We are always seeking ways for our guests to enjoy their visits with us more. I appreciate your feedback and the chance to serve you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Chauncey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed at the hotel this last weekend and we liked it very much. The main asset of the hotel is its location. In general, we were also pleased with the room, which was clean, updated and inviting. There is definitely a good amount of noise that comes from the downstairs club/restaurant, but otherwise, it had everything we could expect from a four star hotel. In particular, we appreciated the helpfulness and friendliness of Natalie, at the front desk. She happily dispensed helpful tips and recommendations. She was the best face of the hotel. We would certainly stay there again. Thanks, we enjoyed it!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Michel H,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us here at Esplendor Breakwater. I will pass along your comments to Natalie and do hope you'll return to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed at the hotel Nov 29 & 30th and enjoyed it. The hotel is well deocated and very clean. You are right in the middle of the action. You are right in the middle of all of the bars and clubs.

We booked through Hotwire and was happy with the price we paid.

If you don't like noise, I wouldnt stay here. Most of the rooms are on a courtyard above a disco so the music goes until 3am or later. I had no problems sleeping but I am an okay sleeper.

We didnt try the pool but looked clean and in a good location.

Tried sending clothing for cleaning seemed a bit of a chore; I called at 8am and no one knew what to do. They figured it out eventually, just seemed like more work than it needed to be.

The restaurant downtstairs was misleading. My friend who isnt much of a drinker...didnt want the 5 gallon drink for $45, instead she asked for regular sized drink which they told us we could not have. However, someone at another table ordered a regualr sized drink so I felt they lied to us just to get us to buy this drink which got wasted.

The Bellman who works at the front is fantastic!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear JDailly,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us here at Esplendor Breakwater. We are indeed located in the middle of it all. We are close by to the most exotic entertainment venues which makes our Hotel the most appropriate when visiting nearby venues. We will make sure that our Restaurant team is made aware of the situation which you encountered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I had a great experience staying at this hotel. It was my first visit to Miami and you cannot beat this hotel's location on South Beach. The bellman is very friendly and he recommended a great Cuban place for lunch--talk to him if you can! The rooms are modern, clean, and nice. The only downside to staying here is the noise at night. If you open your window, it sounds like you are in a club. Even with the windows closed, you can hear the music from the bars until about 5 AM. Do not go there planning to go to bed early and get a long, good sleep. Take advantage of the free buffet breakfast!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear lilredosu2013,

Thank you for your response about your recent stay at Hotel Esplendor Breakwater. We do understand that the noise can be a bit overwhelming. Due to our location, our Hotel is nearby the most vibrant clubs and entertainment centers. We also have a live band that plays in our affiliated restaurant called Ocean's ten that offers world class entertainment and cuisine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Address: 940 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Esplendor Breakwater, is a fun, bustling and entertaining historic Art Deco hotel located in the heart of South Beach's famous Ocean Drive. The hotel is a non-stop, active delight right in the center of everything that is South Beach. You'll find yourself within walking distance of a wide variety of outdoor cafes serving every style of cuisine imaginable, art galleries, night clubs, the famous Beach, the Versace Mansion, beach front walking, biking and jogging paths, world class events like the Wine and Food Festival, as well as the fabulous shops of Lincoln Road Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.