We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great South Beach Location- Expect Crowds and Noise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Breakwater South Beach to your Saves list
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   940 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great South Beach Location- Expect Crowds and Noise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have stayed here previously- South Beach is great and worth seeing the craziness and the beautiful views ( people too!) However take note that the noise level is nearly 24 hours- being next to the another well known party spot can be challenging for traffic, sleep etc...The hotel istself is above average. I do notice that some of the staff seem to have less than the "yes I can" attitude than others. That being said when I addressed with management they quickly resolved to my satisfaction. I do suggest getting an outside room at least you can see the ocean- as the interior rooms echo the club noises and have no view at all. I like the restuarant just attached to the hotel- good food and once they get to know the regulars they are quite entertaining. The best service I have always had here is the Valet parking staff! This is important as I am always on business and time waiting around is time I dont have- they are the best!! This is Miami- very cash oriented- tip and tip well if you expect good service..it will enhance your stay!

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    340
    151
    68
    134
See reviews for
136
504
57
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I can't say enough good things about Hotel Breakwater. The staff is awesome- they are friendly, helpful and will do all they can to make your stay fabulous. The rooms are perfect for SoBe- reminiscent of 60s Miami. There is an aquarium-style pool that overlooks the restaurant/bar and dance floor, with glass walls that allow you to see into the water. The $15/day resort fee includes beach chair service, in-room wi-fi, and even bikes for cruising the beach. It's also in a primo location- right between Mangos and The Clevelander. And the best part-- it's a steal compared to other beachfront hotels in South Beach. If you are looking for a true Miami experience, you can't go wrong with Hotel Breakwater.

The only (possibly) negative thing I can say is that the party and music go well into the night--so if that's not the atmosphere you are looking for, I'd recommend a quieter hotel. But if you want a fun, energetic spot to play and party...this is the perfect choice!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Breakwater Hotel is designed for fun. The lobby bar and restaurant are good, though the drinks are too big and the entrees in the restaurant are over-the-top large, mostly to justify their high prices. There's a club that clamors on all night long, and if you happen to have an interior room that overlooks it, forget about sleeping. That said, the club is a LOT of fun if that's what you have in mind!

The rooms are very nicely designed - spacious and modern, with amply sized bathrooms. However, housekeeping barely showed up and maintenance could have been more on top of things. Don't be confused by the term "Penthouse;" the top two floors are all called "Penthouse" and are described as having balconies, though they are actually widow's walks for smokers, who left their butts all over them. Unfortunately, when a smoker is on the ledge, forget about privacy in your room. It looked like only one of the Penthouses actually had private outdoor space.

The hotel is on the busy Ocean Drive, directly across the street from the beach so the location is pretty much in the middle of things, with easy access in every direction.

The hotel staff was friendly, though largely hands off and might have brought more of a service-orientation to the moment. Restaurant and bar staff were very attentive and kept everything moving smoothly.

All in all, this is the perfect spot for young partiers who want to take a walk on the wild side. Those over 40 might think twice.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep, definitely request a room that doesn't overlook the club. The sound trave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
362 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We were not staying at this hotel, only popped in for a bite to eat. We sat outside on the porch looking out on to Miami Beach. The setting was lovely.
Good menu choice and the food was good. The waiters were attentive, professional and polite

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

For the price, this place screams mediocrity. Pulled up with no valet in site and had to circle the block, 3 times before i could find someone to park my car. Reception was not overly enthusiastic, more like, hmmmm it is 5:30 pm and your room might be ready, let me check with housekeeping. Not a good first impression.

The room itself was sizeable (jr. Suite) and had a real comfy bed. The pool was the size of a sandbox. The resort fee covered wifi, bikes, and long distance calls to anywhere in the world.

We knew it would be loud outside the room and indeed it was, with music going until 4am, garbage trucks at 6am, then the powerwashing of the sidewalks at 8am....all on a Monday night. That said, i had no problem sleeping considering the good meal and drinks consumed prior.

The Breakwater will always have its great location, but the total package is lacking, just average.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We arrived after flying in from Australia. The staff were wonderful, upon finding out it was our Honeymoon, they upgraded us. The room had everything and was perfect for the short stay as we were only there for 2 days. The beach was a short walk and restaurants superb. The only thing to be aware of the the bar next door which plays loud music until very late. It wasn't an issue for us as we were jet lagged but could be a downer for some.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

From the time we pulled up to the front of the hotel, to the next day when we checked out we were very impressed with the service and friendliness of the staff at Hotel Breakwater. The location of the Hotel is perfect if you want to be in the center of all that South Beach has to offer. Our room, and especially the bathroom were very roomy. We did have a problem with one of the shades in our room, and within three minutes of calling the front desk there was a repairman at our door to fix the problem. The only negative thing I could say about this hotel was that the hallway carpets were worn and somewhat dirty. All things considered, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#53 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 674 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#34 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,773 reviews
0.1 mi away
Essex House
Essex House
#38 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#83 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 487 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#60 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 691 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clinton Hotel South Beach
Clinton Hotel South Beach
#121 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Breakwater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Address: 940 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Breakwater South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Breakwater, is a fun, bustling and entertaining historic Art Deco hotel located in the heart of South Beach's famous Ocean Drive. The hotel is a non-stop, active delight right in the center of everything that is South Beach. You'll find yourself within walking distance of a wide variety of outdoor cafes serving every style of cuisine imaginable, art galleries, night clubs, the famous Beach, the Versace Mansion, beach front walking, biking and jogging paths, world class events like the Wine and Food Festival, as well as the fabulous shops of Lincoln Road Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Splendia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Breakwater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Breakwater South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.