We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great South Beach Location- Expect Crowds and Noise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Save Saved
You added Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   940 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #75 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
California
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great South Beach Location- Expect Crowds and Noise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have stayed here previously- South Beach is great and worth seeing the craziness and the beautiful views ( people too!) However take note that the noise level is nearly 24 hours- being next to the another well known party spot can be challenging for traffic, sleep etc...The hotel istself is above average. I do notice that some of the staff seem to have less than the "yes I can" attitude than others. That being said when I addressed with management they quickly resolved to my satisfaction. I do suggest getting an outside room at least you can see the ocean- as the interior rooms echo the club noises and have no view at all. I like the restuarant just attached to the hotel- good food and once they get to know the regulars they are quite entertaining. The best service I have always had here is the Valet parking staff! This is important as I am always on business and time waiting around is time I dont have- they are the best!! This is Miami- very cash oriented- tip and tip well if you expect good service..it will enhance your stay!

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    320
    228
    110
    50
    96
See reviews for
91
327
46
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I can't say enough good things about Hotel Breakwater. The staff is awesome- they are friendly, helpful and will do all they can to make your stay fabulous. The rooms are perfect for SoBe- reminiscent of 60s Miami. There is an aquarium-style pool that overlooks the restaurant/bar and dance floor, with glass walls that allow you to see into the water. The $15/day resort fee includes beach chair service, in-room wi-fi, and even bikes for cruising the beach. It's also in a primo location- right between Mangos and The Clevelander. And the best part-- it's a steal compared to other beachfront hotels in South Beach. If you are looking for a true Miami experience, you can't go wrong with Hotel Breakwater.

The only (possibly) negative thing I can say is that the party and music go well into the night--so if that's not the atmosphere you are looking for, I'd recommend a quieter hotel. But if you want a fun, energetic spot to play and party...this is the perfect choice!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Breakwater Hotel is designed for fun. The lobby bar and restaurant are good, though the drinks are too big and the entrees in the restaurant are over-the-top large, mostly to justify their high prices. There's a club that clamors on all night long, and if you happen to have an interior room that overlooks it, forget about sleeping. That said, the club is a LOT of fun if that's what you have in mind!

The rooms are very nicely designed - spacious and modern, with amply sized bathrooms. However, housekeeping barely showed up and maintenance could have been more on top of things. Don't be confused by the term "Penthouse;" the top two floors are all called "Penthouse" and are described as having balconies, though they are actually widow's walks for smokers, who left their butts all over them. Unfortunately, when a smoker is on the ledge, forget about privacy in your room. It looked like only one of the Penthouses actually had private outdoor space.

The hotel is on the busy Ocean Drive, directly across the street from the beach so the location is pretty much in the middle of things, with easy access in every direction.

The hotel staff was friendly, though largely hands off and might have brought more of a service-orientation to the moment. Restaurant and bar staff were very attentive and kept everything moving smoothly.

All in all, this is the perfect spot for young partiers who want to take a walk on the wild side. Those over 40 might think twice.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep, definitely request a room that doesn't overlook the club. The sound trave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We were not staying at this hotel, only popped in for a bite to eat. We sat outside on the porch looking out on to Miami Beach. The setting was lovely.
Good menu choice and the food was good. The waiters were attentive, professional and polite

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

For the price, this place screams mediocrity. Pulled up with no valet in site and had to circle the block, 3 times before i could find someone to park my car. Reception was not overly enthusiastic, more like, hmmmm it is 5:30 pm and your room might be ready, let me check with housekeeping. Not a good first impression.

The room itself was sizeable (jr. Suite) and had a real comfy bed. The pool was the size of a sandbox. The resort fee covered wifi, bikes, and long distance calls to anywhere in the world.

We knew it would be loud outside the room and indeed it was, with music going until 4am, garbage trucks at 6am, then the powerwashing of the sidewalks at 8am....all on a Monday night. That said, i had no problem sleeping considering the good meal and drinks consumed prior.

The Breakwater will always have its great location, but the total package is lacking, just average.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We arrived after flying in from Australia. The staff were wonderful, upon finding out it was our Honeymoon, they upgraded us. The room had everything and was perfect for the short stay as we were only there for 2 days. The beach was a short walk and restaurants superb. The only thing to be aware of the the bar next door which plays loud music until very late. It wasn't an issue for us as we were jet lagged but could be a downer for some.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

From the time we pulled up to the front of the hotel, to the next day when we checked out we were very impressed with the service and friendliness of the staff at Hotel Breakwater. The location of the Hotel is perfect if you want to be in the center of all that South Beach has to offer. Our room, and especially the bathroom were very roomy. We did have a problem with one of the shades in our room, and within three minutes of calling the front desk there was a repairman at our door to fix the problem. The only negative thing I could say about this hotel was that the hallway carpets were worn and somewhat dirty. All things considered, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Address: 940 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Esplendor Breakwater, is a fun, bustling and entertaining historic Art Deco hotel located in the heart of South Beach's famous Ocean Drive. The hotel is a non-stop, active delight right in the center of everything that is South Beach. You'll find yourself within walking distance of a wide variety of outdoor cafes serving every style of cuisine imaginable, art galleries, night clubs, the famous Beach, the Versace Mansion, beach front walking, biking and jogging paths, world class events like the Wine and Food Festival, as well as the fabulous shops of Lincoln Road Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.