We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful for Short Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Save Saved
You added Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   940 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful for Short Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We arrived after flying in from Australia. The staff were wonderful, upon finding out it was our Honeymoon, they upgraded us. The room had everything and was perfect for the short stay as we were only there for 2 days. The beach was a short walk and restaurants superb. The only thing to be aware of the the bar next door which plays loud music until very late. It wasn't an issue for us as we were jet lagged but could be a downer for some.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    217
    105
    51
    90
See reviews for
85
310
45
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

From the time we pulled up to the front of the hotel, to the next day when we checked out we were very impressed with the service and friendliness of the staff at Hotel Breakwater. The location of the Hotel is perfect if you want to be in the center of all that South Beach has to offer. Our room, and especially the bathroom were very roomy. We did have a problem with one of the shades in our room, and within three minutes of calling the front desk there was a repairman at our door to fix the problem. The only negative thing I could say about this hotel was that the hallway carpets were worn and somewhat dirty. All things considered, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at the Breakwater for three nights while at Miami Beach for a conference. The room was very nice, but "all rooms" only have one king bed, although my boss had reservations that stated double beds in one of the rooms. (The hotel did provide a comfortable cot for no charge.) The room that I stayed in overlooked the Clevelander hotel, which hosted a raucous night club atmosphere until approximately 4:00 am each night. This atmosphere of sleeping was not conducive to early morning meetings, but would be great if you are visiting South Beach for the party atmosphere! Do watch out for the "resort fee," which is a daily $15 fee that includes the not-so "complimentary" wi-fi. We told them at check in that we did not want the "resort fee," but it snuck onto our bills at checkout anyway. All in all, great location for the party atmosphere of South Beach, not so perfect for a work trip!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We are due to check-in July 18, 2013. I originally booked Hotel Breakwater through expedia and they are HORRIBLE, they canceled our reservation, re-booked another one, charged our credit card almost $1000.00, it was a huge mess. We called the hotel directly and spoke to Mursc(maybe the spelling of the name is wrong) and I can say this , We are already at ease and looking so forward to our visit just BECAUSE he was the best agent we have dealt with since our yearly trips to South Beach. My husband and I are looking forward to our trip more so now than ever, he answered all my questions and did it with such a awesome attitude. I am sure our trip will be a very great one and if so then starting next year will make Hotel Breakwater our hotel for our yearly vacation

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Breakwater for 5 nights for a little get-away and were very pleased with so much. The front desk/reception people (most especially Natalie and Ann) were very accomodating with everything I asked from great restaurants to inquiring about certain areas. I liked how convenient it was to South Point where we would go biking everyday. It was nice having complimentary bike rentals(if you are a hotel guest), and complimentary beach towels and chairs and we also took advantage of the apples in the lobby. The only disturbing thing was the noice with the music at night and also next door to the Cleavander...yikes!! I will definitely go back again, but just request another room in the back!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

On checking in, we were given room 230, an "ocean view suite," instead of the oceanfront room we had paid for. The bellman commented that he'd never booked anyone into this room before. Little wonder. The "view" actually overlooks the nightclub next door, whose cacaphonic storm of house music thunders through the night (it is 3:05AM as I write this with no relief in sight). The night clerk, when asked by my wife when the music might be expected to cease, volunteered helpfully that "ear plugs are available at the front desk. And they are complimentary." At a discounted rate of over $400 per night , that seemed almost too generous to be true.

Room Tip: Another hotel is our best advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Natgutwirth,

We appreciate your response about our Hotel. Our Hotel is currently being implemented with sound proof windows as we speak . We apologize if we did not meet your needs at this time but would love to hear from you in the future. Please get in contact with us at info@breakwatersouthbeach.com so that we discuss your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Outstanding staff. Where to start. Appreciated Paul the valet guy went above and beyond with our bags. The reception / front desk made sure all our questions were addressed in all the detail. Location is awesome. People looking for a quieter neighborhood and complaining about noise should avoid south beach please. The rooms are great. We had second floor ocean view. Will come back again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Address: 940 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Esplendor Breakwater, is a fun, bustling and entertaining historic Art Deco hotel located in the heart of South Beach's famous Ocean Drive. The hotel is a non-stop, active delight right in the center of everything that is South Beach. You'll find yourself within walking distance of a wide variety of outdoor cafes serving every style of cuisine imaginable, art galleries, night clubs, the famous Beach, the Versace Mansion, beach front walking, biking and jogging paths, world class events like the Wine and Food Festival, as well as the fabulous shops of Lincoln Road Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Tablet Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.