We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad restaurant” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach to your Saves list
Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   940 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Georgetown, Malaysia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Bad restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

I wonder why all the restaurants on Ocean Drive have lowered their standards serving bad food in a very loud environment. The famous Breakwater hotel has opted for a DJ with dance music instead of focusing on better quality food (they all do the same lobster paella and pizzas). Not that the music was bad (it would actually be ok if you we're in a bar or a club), but this is the last thing you need after driving 300 miles back and forth to Key West the same day! Not a very pleasant moment when you can relax with a nice glass of wine and watch people passing. You just wish your food to be served quickly (that was the case) so that you can leave for a quieter place. Don't look for an alternatives on Ocean Drive; they are all the same. Some with really bad live music though !

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Pascal109,

Thank you for the review posted about the restaurant. The Hotel takes these matters seriously and we have contacted the restaurant owners to address these issues. Please be aware that the Hotel is not associated with the restaurant and we will do everything in our power to correct the opportunities presented.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    239
    113
    51
    98
See reviews for
93
349
48
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
delray
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Had the best time at the hotel for my 21st birthday! Booked the room online. Turns out the penthouse room we booked wasn't available but the lovely front desk attendant; Natalie; we got upgraded to VIP penthouse. The room was beautiful with pictures of old Miami. Nice rooftop jacuzzi and table with chairs. Had a beautiful view of the ocean and the clevelander! Huge flat screen and free bike rentals. Wifi worked well and loved the ihome! Bathroom was awesome with a shower and separate tub; huge tub! Checked out around 12 the next day and they held our bags for us in a secured room while we went to the beach before leaving. Loved my stay there and will be returning in the near future and other trips to sobe

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is my second time at the Breakwater and I enjoyed my self even more this time around! I was checked in by a girl named Ana who was very nice and helpful in giving us an early check in. I was in room 214 which was a nice room but pretty noisy at night time, when I came by the front I spoke to Amanda at the front desk who was one of the girls who checked me in the first time I stayed at the hotel the 1st time, and she was very friendly and helpful when it came to moving our rooms and I was surprised that she remembered me from my 1st stay last year. My boyfriend and I were moved to a quiet penthouse where there was a bottle of champagne waiting for us from the front desk. Thanks a lot Amanda !!!!! The hotel is in the middle of everything on south beach so its easy to get around. Get advice from the employees they gave me and my boyfriend a great place to eat dinner at a place called Davids Cafe. The only thing that bothered my about the hotel was that housekeeping took a while to clean the rooms and every time we came to the front desk to rent the bicycles ( they are cool old school bright green bikes you can rent for free) they didn't have any or they only had one. I think the hotel needs to invest in more bicycles for the guest if they are going to rent them out. The valet guy Pablo was very nice as well! We complained about having to wait 30min to get our car that he had the front desk give us 1 day of free parking.

The Breakwater is really a south beach hotel and I will be coming back next year! Thanks for giving me another great vacation in miami

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back, there is no view but there is no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My girlfriend and I wanted a quick getaway and decided to hit South Beach. We booked Hotel Breakwater and met Natalie upon checking in. Natalie was very courteous, accommodating and helpful; a genuine sweetheart. We didn't expect the room to be ready, but she checked us in early and our mini vacation started immediately!! The room was clean and had a partial ocean view. We called about the hot water and maintenance was at the door within minutes. He explained that the faucet needed adjusting and showed us how to use it to our satisfaction, since I declined to have it fixed at that time. The next day, they fixed it before we returned to the room. They had free bike rentals and gave us vouchers for the chairs and towels at the beach. Everything went very smooth and you could tell the hotel maintains a great rapport with the beach service providers. We will definitely stay here again and again. The location, service and value are the best. Thank you also to Frances at the front desk and the other hotel staff members. They were all great to us!! See you again soon!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

I arrived from Dallas and checked in Natalie was helpful but took a while to check in. I was told i have access to bicycles and beach equipment. Rooms were nice but a bit loud. Next day i went to the beach and was treated by Jack who took care of me and helped me all week let me know the different things to do in Miami. He was really helpful and made my stay alot more relaxing. While i checked out i waited like 30min for the valley guys to get the car.But overall was a good stay the beach makes up for everything i love Miami and would love to live here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzarote, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

wow! this was the best hotel ever! Especially in ocean drives. I was staying at another hotel, not too far from the breakwater, but the service in the noise was the horrible. We went around looking for rooms, the prices was not worth it. When we got to the breakwater ask for the rate the front desk agent Natacha told us and shower us room 308. We book for the next day for two nights, she was very nice, and she matches the rate we were paying. If you want a nice room great location breakwater is the place to go.

Room Tip: room 308..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby ct
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We were there for thanksgiving weekend and we were celebrating out 30th anniversary . The manager name Janina could not be any more awsome and the staff from the maids up to the management were so pleasant and helpful . We arrived Thursday and left on monday they were the same from start to finish . Do yourself a favor and book a room THE BEST ON SOUTHBEACH see how the staff is for yourself

Room Tip: we stayed on the 4th floor and have a great deck on top to sit and see the water and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Address: 940 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Esplendor Breakwater, is a fun, bustling and entertaining historic Art Deco hotel located in the heart of South Beach's famous Ocean Drive. The hotel is a non-stop, active delight right in the center of everything that is South Beach. You'll find yourself within walking distance of a wide variety of outdoor cafes serving every style of cuisine imaginable, art galleries, night clubs, the famous Beach, the Versace Mansion, beach front walking, biking and jogging paths, world class events like the Wine and Food Festival, as well as the fabulous shops of Lincoln Road Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.