We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Save Saved
You added Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   940 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #74 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Dearborn, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Visit MIA a lot and this was my first time staying here. Very nice. would stay again. Got a great rate. Hotel clean, room clean, bathroom updated and nice. Overall it was a good stay for me. Right in the middle of everything. Hotel provided beach chairs across the way which was a plus. Staff was nice. Very pleased

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    324
    228
    110
    50
    96
See reviews for
92
329
46
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I want to give many, many thanks to the staff of Breakwater Hotel, where we spent very pleasure time during our business trip in Miami Beach. We are not so young and we attended medical conference in Miami Beach Conventional Centre.Even with so many young people around, the hotel had been important for our enjoyment time at Miami. In particular, the kindness of reception clerks (f.e.Natasha) was exceptional. So I want recomended Breakwater Hotel to the people, which are seeking after vacantion or event business time at Miami Beach. Dr.Jozef Pacak and colleagues, Slovakia.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise but I was satisfice whith room 227 and 226.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My one night stay in a beachfront suite was simply wonderful. Beautiful furnishings, comfy bed, fantastic views, great service and most of all the best location. Thank you to all the staff for making my stay so lovely...I slept like a log :-) Great Wifi too that stretches to the beach

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermontville, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

During my stay at the Hotel Breakwater, I couldnt help but constantly think about the experience i had for the short time i stayed there. From the entrance of the lobby to my room i couldnt help but note the hotels cleanliness and crisp, fresh housewares and linen! This stunning hotel not only offered me exceptional comfort, but im honestly not sure if out of everything i was really more impressed with the Pretty, young and professional receptionist named Tasha that assisted me on the day of my stay. I was new to the area on a mini vacation and from the moment i walked in i could tell she wanted nothing more but to assist me in any way she possibly could. When i entered she immediately greeted me and gave me her full and complete attention. Gave me exceptional support and even tips and ideas for attractions and food locations for my stay in the area. Not only did she meet my personal goal of making the customer feel like "He or She is the most important person in the world", she kept a smile her face even after i repeated mis pronounced her name. From the day i check in to the day i sadly checked out Tasha was there with a warm welcome and an even warmer good bye as she wished me a safe11 hour trip back home. If it were not for her exceptional service i dont think my trip would have been half as enjoyable as it turned it out, Thank you so much Ms. Tasha!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was truly the smallest room I've ever stayed in. Definitely not a 4 star. The room was sooo small. This was suppose to be a penthouse suite. Yeah right. Enough room to fit the desk and the bed and the bathroom. Never again. Not even a fridge. The fridge that was there was fiiled with their stuff to buy if you chose to. Not impressed. Only thing I liked was the location. Daffney at the front desk took off our resort fee since she realized we were displeased. Sticking to brand named hotels from now on.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in this hotel with my husband for 4 days in October, here are main positive and negative:
" - " loud music plays during whole day starting from early morning and till late at night
Additional charges for sunbed and umbrella ( 30 $ per day)
You have to cross the road to get to the beach ( hotel is not directly on the beach)
Unfriendly receptionist ( afro american lady)
Tiny pool
"+"
Located on the main street of miami beach
Free bicycles, wi fi and fresh green apples
Newly renovated rooms in modern style
Close to bus tour station (hop on/off)

Room Tip: Corner suits are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I've been on vacation Breakwater hotel for 10 days in September and October of 2012 and just have to say that people who work and hotel is note 10. Surely come back again because the hotel has a great structure and a great location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Address: 940 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Esplendor Breakwater, is a fun, bustling and entertaining historic Art Deco hotel located in the heart of South Beach's famous Ocean Drive. The hotel is a non-stop, active delight right in the center of everything that is South Beach. You'll find yourself within walking distance of a wide variety of outdoor cafes serving every style of cuisine imaginable, art galleries, night clubs, the famous Beach, the Versace Mansion, beach front walking, biking and jogging paths, world class events like the Wine and Food Festival, as well as the fabulous shops of Lincoln Road Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.