We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Woooooooonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach to your Saves list
Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   940 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Woooooooonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My one night stay in a beachfront suite was simply wonderful. Beautiful furnishings, comfy bed, fantastic views, great service and most of all the best location. Thank you to all the staff for making my stay so lovely...I slept like a log :-) Great Wifi too that stretches to the beach

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    273
    129
    54
    111
See reviews for
103
403
53
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vermontville, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

During my stay at the Hotel Breakwater, I couldnt help but constantly think about the experience i had for the short time i stayed there. From the entrance of the lobby to my room i couldnt help but note the hotels cleanliness and crisp, fresh housewares and linen! This stunning hotel not only offered me exceptional comfort, but im honestly not sure if out of everything i was really more impressed with the Pretty, young and professional receptionist named Tasha that assisted me on the day of my stay. I was new to the area on a mini vacation and from the moment i walked in i could tell she wanted nothing more but to assist me in any way she possibly could. When i entered she immediately greeted me and gave me her full and complete attention. Gave me exceptional support and even tips and ideas for attractions and food locations for my stay in the area. Not only did she meet my personal goal of making the customer feel like "He or She is the most important person in the world", she kept a smile her face even after i repeated mis pronounced her name. From the day i check in to the day i sadly checked out Tasha was there with a warm welcome and an even warmer good bye as she wished me a safe11 hour trip back home. If it were not for her exceptional service i dont think my trip would have been half as enjoyable as it turned it out, Thank you so much Ms. Tasha!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was truly the smallest room I've ever stayed in. Definitely not a 4 star. The room was sooo small. This was suppose to be a penthouse suite. Yeah right. Enough room to fit the desk and the bed and the bathroom. Never again. Not even a fridge. The fridge that was there was fiiled with their stuff to buy if you chose to. Not impressed. Only thing I liked was the location. Daffney at the front desk took off our resort fee since she realized we were displeased. Sticking to brand named hotels from now on.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in this hotel with my husband for 4 days in October, here are main positive and negative:
" - " loud music plays during whole day starting from early morning and till late at night
Additional charges for sunbed and umbrella ( 30 $ per day)
You have to cross the road to get to the beach ( hotel is not directly on the beach)
Unfriendly receptionist ( afro american lady)
Tiny pool
"+"
Located on the main street of miami beach
Free bicycles, wi fi and fresh green apples
Newly renovated rooms in modern style
Close to bus tour station (hop on/off)

Room Tip: Corner suits are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I've been on vacation Breakwater hotel for 10 days in September and October of 2012 and just have to say that people who work and hotel is note 10. Surely come back again because the hotel has a great structure and a great location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

As I walked in i was greeted by German the valey man who was very nice. In the front desk Natasha was very nice and let me know all the different things i can do. They provided bikes and beach equipment. On the beach i was helped by Jack who was the sweetest person he provided me with great help and let me know the different activities i can do even mentioned clubs and bayside that was a great place to vist also let me know about the jet skiing that his company provides. He was always willing to help even in moving and opening a umbrella for me. On the beach also i got food and Jack once or twice got it for me. The food and beverage girl witch i didn't grab her name was very nice. In the room was very clean but a bit noisy other than the noisy part everything was good and hope to come back. Great service!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I had tickets to see a show at the filmore Miami, just by luck I found a special rate for the breakwater on hotels.com the breakwater is a perfect location to everything. We walked to the filmore. After the show we went back to the hotel to clean up and go out, when we got to the hotel that's where the party was, we didn't have to go anywhere else. The hotel was very clean and the staff were most friendly and helpful. The room was perfect and the beds are comfortable. Any one wanting to experience south beach should stay here, you won't have to go far for a fun vacation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Address: 940 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Esplendor Breakwater, is a fun, bustling and entertaining historic Art Deco hotel located in the heart of South Beach's famous Ocean Drive. The hotel is a non-stop, active delight right in the center of everything that is South Beach. You'll find yourself within walking distance of a wide variety of outdoor cafes serving every style of cuisine imaginable, art galleries, night clubs, the famous Beach, the Versace Mansion, beach front walking, biking and jogging paths, world class events like the Wine and Food Festival, as well as the fabulous shops of Lincoln Road Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.