We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun in the Sun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Save Saved
You added Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   940 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun in the Sun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Me and some friends came to South Beach for just for a couple days and we have to say we were very impressed with the hotel. It is true the pool is not open but you can literally see the beach upon check -in, so who cares about a pool? its south BEACH! We were checked in by Amanda and Amanda which i thought was a cute gimic. Both girls were very nice and made our check in so much fun. The girls made sure our rooms were near eachother and both my room and my friends room was upgraded to an ocean front in the 2nd building. Although the 2nd building can feel like you are the loop but it was perfect for us. Our building lead right out to the clevlenader hotel which is a big hot spot and we never had to pass the front desk always doing the awkward 3am stroll through the lobby after a long night of partying!!!

The only bad thing is that it is a pretty loud area. The hotel is located inbetween loud and louder so it can be bad for some people but I've been to South Beach before, I know how it goes so I wasnt bothered by it much.

The hotel is beautiful. It is brand new and the stafff is extrememly friendly. Im sure once their pool is finally open and their resturant is open this will be an even more amazing hotel. So the best of luck to them!

We will be returning for sure.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear Jessica A,

What great feedback on our Hotel! We are most delighted about the experience you have received and we are glad that our staff was able to fulfill all of your needs. Our hotel is centrally located and as such we are in the middle of all the action. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with our Hotel and are eagerly awaiting your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    304
    217
    105
    51
    90
See reviews for
85
310
45
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I visit Miami 2 to 3 times year. This was by far the worst experience we have ever had. One week before our visit, we were notified that their renovations were bot complete which meant no room service, restaurant or pool. When checked in, we were told that our room got upgraded.... I wouldn't call it an upgrade. We were in a separate building that in order to get to, we had to walk through a dark alley that was not clean or safe. There was no security or concierge in our building. To top it off, the staff was extremely rude and unprofessional. I am still waiting to hear back from the manager. I have never been so disappointed than I am after this trip. This is the first time I am writing a negative review.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Dear SP24,

We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations as requested. Please keep in mind that ongoing construction in our pool is still concluding as well and our room service will be fully functioning by this week. Our Hotel is safe and we have 24 hour security to provide you throughout all times. Please do not feel hesitated to contact us anytime to provide you with better assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed at the the breakwater for a week at the start of October 2011. The staff, the decor, and the location were all amazing. The hotels terrace at the front of the property is the perfect place for people watching and the security team do an amazing job at keeping the hotel terrace for the exclusive use of guests. The differing reviews on this site are down to the fact that the hotel is only partially open, there is no restaurant or bar facilities yet, so no room service, however the best mini bar i have seen in a hotel is great and there are plenty of bars and restaurants just moments away. The hotel pool is not finished yet and the roof terrace seemed to be used mainly for events during our stay, it was open in the day, but no cushions he'd been set up and it did not feel like it was in use, i am sure if we had asked, then the staff would have set something up for us. The beach is across the street and the resort style service of sun loungers and towels made up for the terrace and pool not being open. Having read reviews on this site before going i contacted the hotel with my concerns about the negative reviews and they did their best to make things right by upgrading our room and selecting a quiet room for us to stay in away from the loud bars, they also did not charge the resort fees for the beach as the pool was not open. If your thinking of booking this hotel knowing all the facts then you will have a great stay and it is an amazing hotel, if you have booked as i had believing from the website that the hotel was fully open then you could be left feeling a little let down, however hard the team try to make it up to you during your stay. Five stars for everything they have open and thanks to the team for a great stay.

Room Tip: Email and ask to be in the quieter block of the two they have away from Oceans 10 and Clevelander ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Dear Lobodoh,

Thank you so much for your constructive feedback. Our pool and restaurant will be available soon and will provide all of the amenities that we are striving to provide to our guests.
We are striving to be the best Hotel in South Beach and with these two amenities in place we are sure that will be the case. Once again thank you for your feedback and can not wait to see you in beautiful Miami Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

My wife and I have been visiting Miami 2 to 3 times per year from NYC for the past 12 years. This hotel was by far the worst experience we have ever had. There pool, bar and restaurant was NOT open, no room service, terrible overall service, we needed to walk around to a dark alley to get into our lobby which was open to the general public which was extremely and completely unsafe and dirty. This hotel should NOT be open in its current state. Do yourself a favor and find another hotel desination point for Miami Beach! Miami is a fun and vibrant place and this hotel will certainly hamper that experience. This is the 1st negative experience feedback we have ever written...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Dear 458 Traveler,

Thank you for your prompt review. Our pool and restaurant are awaiting the permits from the city of Miami to be open in time and will be available to all of our guests and patrons. We do apologize in advance for the opportunities presented but rest assured that once available, they will make the experience more uplifiting than ever before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I am a native of Miami and grew up visiting South Beach, but had never experienced South Beach like this before. I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Breakwater Hotel which is located in what we consider the heart of the South Beach Art Deco District, 10th Street and Ocean Drive. Everywhere you want to be is within walking distance. The hotel is a South Beach Art Deco staple having been built in the mid 1930's. The recent re-modeling has produced a modern hotel feautring brand new suites with every ammenity, while preserving the art deco style. To the east, our rooftop terrace overlooked Ocean Drive, the famous, Miami Beach thermometer, and the ocean. To the north, we had a courtyard featuring food, drinks, live music, and a great DJ. We had a brand new, private, jacuzzi with multi-color light show and cascade. The staff were very helpful and attentive. If you are looking for a Magic City experience of the sort you would see in the movies or music videos, then this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms will hear music playing until about 2am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Dear Raymond D,

We at Breakwater Hotel thank you for all of your encouraging comments. We are so happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and found your experience to be unique. Our Rooftop solarium is indeed unique and the views of course fantastic. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and can not wait to have you back at your home from away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

What a wonderful experience!!! My husband and I have vacationed in South Beach several times at different hotels. We decided to try Hotel Breakwater on a suggestion from a friend and we were so pleasantly surprised with our experience. The staff was so warm and helpful. Honestly the most professional and friendly staff of all the hotels we've stayed in on South Beach (including the big ones: Loews, Delano, etc) We got an upgrade when we checked in...beautiful ocean view room. The room was impeccably neat and clean...comfortable size room with fully stocked bar, snacks, etc. bath robes, beach towels, fitness center, rooftop. The staff recommended some new restaurants that we hadn't heard of that were excellent. If you are planning a vacation to South Beach, check out this hotel...you will NOT be disappointed. My husband and I will DEFINITELY be staying here again next time!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Dear Randi G,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We strive day to day to fullfill and pamper all of our guest's needs and wants. Our Hotel indeed is very charming with its retro feeling and look.
Our Hotel is located in the heart of South Beach and with easy access to the beach and its surroundings. We can not wait to have you back in our Hotel to experience our service all over again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

I'm an event planner and i do a lot of travelling and I Loved the hotel and staff. Clean, beautiful room and amazing service. I would highly recommend this hotel whenever you are in SoBe. I'll defintely be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Dear Rodney B,

Thank you for your prompt feedback. We can not wait to have you back in South Beach and enjoy the Breakwater unfiltered experience once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Address: 940 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Esplendor Breakwater, is a fun, bustling and entertaining historic Art Deco hotel located in the heart of South Beach's famous Ocean Drive. The hotel is a non-stop, active delight right in the center of everything that is South Beach. You'll find yourself within walking distance of a wide variety of outdoor cafes serving every style of cuisine imaginable, art galleries, night clubs, the famous Beach, the Versace Mansion, beach front walking, biking and jogging paths, world class events like the Wine and Food Festival, as well as the fabulous shops of Lincoln Road Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Tablet Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.