We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaruant Tourist Trap!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlyle Cafe

The Carlyle Cafe
1250 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4610 (Flamingo / Lummus)
305-534-9414
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #686 of 892 Restaurants in Miami Beach
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Flamingo / Lummus
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Restaruant Tourist Trap!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just beware of this place!!! My wife and I spent a bit of time on the beach and decided to go for a relaxing drink and small bite. We were coaxed into the restaurant area. The service was nice enough. We had two drinks and mini apps. Our bill was outrageously overpriced. 126$. The waitress claimed that the shocked expression happens all the time, and mentioned that they are often visited by undercover police. This information would have been nice before being sprung with the bill!! Emphatic Stay Away should be branded on this place !!

    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Long N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Don't come here, especially if you are young! I just stopped by for some supper because the hostess was extremely friendly and it seemed like a good place to go. Our waiter on the other hand was completely rude and didn't refill our glasses of water until I walked up to the bar to get another one. Our food was over cooked and super dry, and the waiter never came back to check on us. You can't pay separate checks, which is okay, but he freaked out completely when we didn't include the tip right away because we were going to do it all separately on our own receipts. Then we informed the manager that he was being rude to us in front of other customers and the manager did not care one bit. Not a pleasant visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Meagan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Be aware!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Their drink do not have prices, we were shocked when we find that they charged us $35 dollars for a single drink and 20% for the tip was charged on the bill. They trick the customer.......be aware!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Total rip off. Be warned:”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Although the prices are above average, you'd expect that from somewhere on Ocean Drive. What we did not expect, as the review below supports (we wish we'd looked at it before dining there) is that one cocktail drink would cost as much as $65. The oh-so charming waitress informed us that only people on a budget ever ask the price beforehand.... I'd like to know how many of their visitors would happily pay that much if they knew what the cost of two bottles of Corona and some iced rum would arise to.
Food= average at best.
Please don't make the same mistake we did, ask for the prices first.
If you're still hungry after reading this head to puerto sagua on the corner of 7th and Collins. Totally delicious, friendlier and much better value.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank EnglishPurpleturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Extortion”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This establishment is deplorable.
They got us in with a promise of drink deals and then dishonoured the deals once the bill came.

They also have no prices on their drinks, so anyone who doesn't ask in the first place gets a nasty shock when the bill comes: we were charged $35 for a single drink z

    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AdamCCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carlyle Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Carlyle Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing