We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and Romantic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dream South Beach

Save Saved
You added Dream South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dream South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago
1 review
“Fantastic and Romantic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

My boyfriend and I spent 3 nights at the PH as part of our weeklong vacation. We selected it based on the reviews here, and everything you read is true. We arrived in the evening by car and were guided to the municipal garage about 2 blocks away to save valet charges. It was nice to see the staff actually recommend a more economical alternative. Check in was fast and easy. We were guided up through a blue-lit corridor to a second floor .

When we entered, it was like....wow, this looks exactly like the pictures on the web site! Cool blue lighting that's adjustable (though it takes some practice), an AWESOME bed, a leather couch, chair, led tv. The place couldn't be more romantic or cleaner. Then the bathroom......VERY different. The shower is soooo sexy -- open on one side, a wall of glass on the other, and nicely tiled everywhere else. The entrance to the bathroom was through French glass doors.....more decorative than useful. With all the glass, be aware that you won't get much privacy, so be prepared to share your most intimate moments (which can be a little strange even for us).

The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in, and the linens and towels were first-rate. Our only complaint (a minor one) was that the AC blew a bit too hard right at the bed. This was great most of the time, but not for sleeping through the night.....it felt like a steady wind. We shut the system off, but found out that if you do, you can pretty much hear EVERYTHING in the next room. But it was okay (lol....we kept pace)......just a little awkward coincidently going down the elevator with them the next morning (honeymooners???)!!!

The beach is only a block away, and the front desk provided chairs and towels for us. The location could only be better if the hotel was right on the beach! It's central to everything on Ocean Drive, and a short walk to Lincoln St. We got great recommendations for dinner, music, and clubs. This place will be totally awesome when it's complete with pool and restaurant. We just hope that the hotel's management doesn't jack up the prices once the hotel is finished; it's a GREAT value right now.

We'd highly recommend the PH to anyone, but especially younger couples looking for a romantic getaway. You won't make a mistake staying here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseSoBe, Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, November 1, 2010
Wow! It sounds like you had a wonderful experience here at the Palmer House! We definitely agree with you - our beds are awesome! We are so happy that you enjoyed the room, all the design elements, as well as all the great attractions in the area. Thanks so much for your glowing review, and we look forward to providing you with another great experience next time you visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    682
    444
    129
    51
    20
See reviews for
62
817
81
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

From the moment we arrived our experience at the Palmer was aboslutely incredible. It had always been my dream to stay at the Delano in Miami and when I saw the cost of staying there decided that I wanted to find something that was nearby. i searched the net for something not too far from the Delano and came across the Palmer. What Luck!!!!

The location in my opinion was perfect for us.

The decor was impressive. especially the shower and the specialty lighting

But above all was the Service .... the staff of this place were helpful and friendly. from the moment that we arrived to the moment of our departure ... EVERYONE!!! was so on top notch!
Not a thing bad to say about this place and from what we heard it is going to only get better as the hotel next door will be joined with a roof deck and resto..... so if you are looking for a great hotel this is the one .... no question!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseSoBe, Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, November 1, 2010
It makes us smile with pride knowing our staff was able to make you feel like a rockstar during your stay with us! Sounds like you had a fantastic time and took full advantage of all the hotel and SoBe had to offer. We'll be looking forward to taking care of you again next time you visit beautiful South Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

This Hotel is beyond words-I am noise sensitive and hard to please-but his Hotel was quiet/beautiful/well sound proofed and truly "over the top". The Staff were amazing and went above and beyond. The bed was so comfortable and the room was incredible-pictures cant do it justice-You really need to experience this place in person to appreciate it. I simply cant say enough except to STAY HERE!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseSoBe, Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, November 1, 2010
Wow! Thank you so much for your awesome review! Our staff really takes pride in what they do, so it is great to hear they provided you with such a memorable experience! Thank you again for your lovely recommendation, and all of us here at the Palmer House look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

I felt like I was transformed to a different country when I was in the room. The attention to detail in these rooms - simply amazing! It really inspired me to come home and try some of these ideas. The rooms are very small, but every inch is used effectively. The lighting is the most unique of any space I've ever been in. The employees were always helpful and friendly. Loved the location.

Pros: one block to beach, super-clean (it's brand new), great interior design, friendly staff, price, upscale materials (sink, shower, doors, lighting, etc.)

Cons: rooms are very small and the only window is behind the bed, lobby and outdoor area is cool looking but not comfortable

I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseSoBe, Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
We couldn't agree more - our rooms really do have that effect of transporting your whole experience to another level! It sounds like you really enjoyed the design elements, and we love that the staff took good care of you. Thanks for your great review and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Fabulous hotel right in the heart of South Beach. The rooms look exactly as they claim on the website and while they aren't the most spacious, they are what you would expect in a boutique hotel. The layout of the shower and toilet facilities is quite unusual so definitely recommend for couples or the closest of friends!

The staff and service are absolutely outstanding and, like previous reviewers, all recommendations were certainly worth following through. Nothing was too much trouble and even though we arrived very early in the morning after coming off a cruise ship, we were warmly welcomed, our luggage stored, given recommendations for breakfast and then called as soon as the room was ready, which was before noon. Small touches like the complimentary beach chairs and towels and printing off boarding passes free of charge made more of a difference than I would have thought and the location could not be faulted.

Everything you could possibly want is close at hand - the beach, shopping, nightlife - and there was plenty to do during our five days at the hotel. In fact, didn't get to do all we wanted, so we'll just have to go back!

The additions to the facilities will simply boost what is an already fantastic hotel, so stop looking through hundreds of options and book Palmer House now.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseSoBe, Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
Outstanding! What a really lovely review! We really appreciate your great comments, and are so happy that the staff was able to take such good care of you. We definitely can't wait to see you again for your next adventure in South Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

We have just returned from our stay at the Palmer House South Beach in Miami for 3 nights but decided to move on heres our review.

Once we got to Miami and finally found somewhere quite reasonable to park as its really expensive to park in Miami and didnt want to pay the $30 a day valet parking charge by the Hotel.

We arrived to the Hotel and was greeted by a nice gentleman who openend the door for us and took our luggage for us and told us it would be taken care of and all we had to do was check in which we thought was nice.

The lobby looked amazing and the front desk staff seemed to be really nice and friendly and checked us in though unfortunatly our room wasnt available when we checked in but was given a disabled room which she said was larger than the other rooms apparantly.

We then took the Elevator to the 3rd floor and our room was directly opposite the elevator which i specifactly asked not to be near though i guess because our room wasnt available this wasnt much of a problem though

We then entered the room which looked amazing and looked around a bit and tried to get use to the lighting of the room.

The Conceirge then bought our luggage and showed us on how to use the lighting which was very confusing but a nice touch to the room.

During our stay there was no hot water for the shower and the cold tap was running warm water,We complained about this twice and the plumber came to fix it however the next morning the shower was running freezing cold again so we called again though they didnt seem interested on the front desk.

The airconditiong unit was also annoying and kept turning off and on again and was quite noisey

Apart from these problems this Hotel is sure to be great and would love to return someday.

If you have any questions dont hesitate to ask :-)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseSoBe, Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, November 1, 2010
Thanks for giving such good feedback! We really appreciate your comments as it allows us to make sure we can be responsive to the total guest experience. It makes us very happy that the staff were able to take care of you, and we certainly would love to have you stay with us again next time you visit South Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

very nice hotel , very clean , brand new rooms. personnel very helpful. in the herat of the art deco area, 5 minutes walk from the beach

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseSoBe, Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, October 24, 2010
Short, sweet, and most excellent! Thanks for your nice review! We are really happy you had a great time while staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dream South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream South Beach

Address: 1111 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream South Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your loftiest dreams become a reality when you step foot in the art deco-inspired haven that is Dream South Beach. Located on Collins Avenue, our hotel is surrounded by stylish boutiques, the hottest clubs and is just 50 yards from pristine white sand beaches. Right next door is another fashionable address, once known as the famed Versace Mansion. Hospitality is reinvented at our luxury hotel in South Beach. Art Deco style meets French Moroccan chic, at Dream South Beach, which boasts 108 guestrooms and suites designed by Michael Czysz with modern amenities such as large flat screen TVs, high-speed Wi-Fi for a fee, fully-stocked minibars, Etro bath amenities and much more. While here, be immersed in late 70's poolside glamour at our rooftop pool and lounge, indulge in Mexican fare at Naked Taco, slip into ecstasy with a relaxing spa treatment, and enjoy an atmosphere that is both cosmopolitan and comfortable. For a stunning nightlife experience, head up to Highbar by the rooftop pool lounge and sample creative concoctions while taking in the Miami skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Dream South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.