We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy Americans on "Spring break"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dream South Beach

Save Saved
You added Dream South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dream South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    701
    448
    134
    51
    21
See reviews for
63
833
82
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Just because a room is small, with no storage and dark lighting does not make it a boutique hotel. $427 plus tax for a night was daylight robbery. I originally booked this hotel for 3 nights but cancelled the other 2 on my arrival and thank goodness rebooked at the Riveria which was twice as nice and had large rooms for obly $174 a night. No beds available and sectioned off bit at the top reserved for people who spend $50 at the bar. One lift that was so slow ( over 15 minutes) to arrive. When the staff were challenged over these issues, their dogma appeared to be- This is a boutique hotel and this is what you expect from such a unique hotel. It certainly was unique. Why oh why has it got such good reviews? The staff must be busy that's all I say....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Dream Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so sorry that you had such a negative experience at our hotel. I wish that I could go back and help repair some of those issues that contributed to making your stay not so enjoyable. Please accept my sincerest apologies. I would love a chance to help restore your faith in us as I am very confident we are able to provide you a wonderful time. Please contact me directly the next time you are considering where to stay here in South Beach and I will work to make sure you have a lovely experience. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experiences, and all of us hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

John Walbridge - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Great place to stay. Just like the pictures. Super close to the beach and they have chairs and towels at the beach hut. Roof top pool is perfect, as is the naked taco restaurant. Staying here again in two weeks.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Dream Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Awesome! Thanks so much, and all of us here look forward to seeing you again very soon for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Not sure how this hotel gets 4 stars on this site. The reviews are accurate. Small, and I mean small rooms, high price, NO views, noisy rooms, bad showers, terrible lighting, complicated buttons for turning on lights, smelly and slow elevators, tiny pool, no newspapers on premises, and a confusing layout. At first they put us right outside the elevator which was loud. The other people staying there were so loud every time they got off the elevator, that we moved rooms, before the first night! The second room was even more noisy because this time we had street noise all night long. They were nice about refunding my last 2 nights, that were prepaid. I appreciated that. We moved to the W down on Collins which for a couple of hundred dollars more a night, blew it away. We will not be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy yourselves during your stay and that several factors contributed to a negative impression of our hotel. Although I cannot go go back and erase these issues, I would like to offer my apologies. We really do appreciate your business, and safe travels in your journeys!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Despite agreeing with some of the negative comments (such as the smelly elevator; the glass WC/shower doors in the rooms; the frustrating lighting controls and the lack of a full-length mirror) we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The location is great for South Beach: It's set back from the main drag and therefore relatively quiet, yet within very easy walking distance from the beach, the interesting Art Deco buildings and Espanola Way.

All the staff were courteous and professional.

I would certainly consider staying here again when I next visit South Beach.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thanks for staying with us and allowing our friendly staff to take care of you! Great job on taking advantage of our awesome location - it really does make exploring the area so easy and so much fun. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dream South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream South Beach

Address: 1111 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream South Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your loftiest dreams become a reality when you step foot in the art deco-inspired haven that is Dream South Beach. Located on Collins Avenue, our hotel is surrounded by stylish boutiques, the hottest clubs and is just 50 yards from pristine white sand beaches. Right next door is another fashionable address, once known as the famed Versace Mansion. Hospitality is reinvented at our luxury hotel in South Beach. Art Deco style meets French Moroccan chic, at Dream South Beach, which boasts 108 guestrooms and suites designed by Michael Czysz with modern amenities such as large flat screen TVs, high-speed Wi-Fi for a fee, fully-stocked minibars, Etro bath amenities and much more. While here, be immersed in late 70's poolside glamour at our rooftop pool and lounge, indulge in Mexican fare at Naked Taco, slip into ecstasy with a relaxing spa treatment, and enjoy an atmosphere that is both cosmopolitan and comfortable. For a stunning nightlife experience, head up to Highbar by the rooftop pool lounge and sample creative concoctions while taking in the Miami skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Dream South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.