We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Weekend Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dream South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dream South Beach to your Saves list
Dream South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off Room Rate
Ranked #53 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We booked this trip through Jetsetter and it was non-refundable, no cancellations, no modifications however, due to horrible weather in the D.C. area, our flight was cancelled the first night of our reservation. The hotel agreed to refund the money for the night that we couldn't make it which was AWESOME! We finally made it around 9:00am the next morning and our room was ready which again, AWESOME. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room (Junior King Suite) was amazing, and the HighBar (rooftop pool/bar) was great. Would definitely stay at the Dream South Beach again.

Room Tip: The rooms are a bit small so it may be worth it to pay a little extra for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
We think your review is perfect as well! Thank you so much for your awesome comments and for choosing to stay at Dream. All of us here hope that we will see you both again soon for your next trip to beautiful South Beach. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    476
    141
    56
    22
See reviews for
66
877
85
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Dream hotel is a great spot to live South Beach to the full, including a dedicated area on the beach itself, a rooftop pool that kicks off in the evening and rooms that are so cool that it takes ten minutes to understand how the lights work. The location is superb for partying on South Beach, walking distance from bars and restaurants. All good, though the see through toilets and dark rooms do not make for quite a practical stay and they make get a bit too much after a couple of nights.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thanks very much for your recent stay at Dream, and for your nice comments! We are so happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay and got to relax in style. Great job taking advantage of our prime location here is South Beach and getting to sample some of the flavor of the area. Thanks again, and take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

WOW, wow, wow, wow, wow, wow, wow and WOW!! That pretty much narrows down what my fiancé and I kept saying the entire duration of our stay here. I have to be honest and say that although I often visit this property I have not yet had the opportunity to stay there until this past weekend. Our stay was simply flawless. From the minute we arrived the valet staff, whom are friendly waiting and in clean chic uniforms directly in front of the hotel where friendly. Check in was smooth and the complimentary glass of Champagne at the front desk during check in was the best possible way to start our journey to our room. Arriving to the third floor in itself was stung as we admired all the spotless walls and immaculate clean carpet. The sent was delectable throughout which is a hard find in SOBE and of course thanks to this hotels no smoking policy. Our room 302 had to be the most amazing room for miles around and by far one of the MOST spectacular we have ever seen. The ambiance was so SEXY, and elegant. The room was very clean and very well appointed. The shower to die for! And the cherry on top was get ready for it....your very OWN PRIVATE ROOF TOP LOUNGE! Yes thats correct with direct access to the pool and your very own outdoor roof top shower, lounge furniture set and flat screen TV. We did not want to leave and am now even more confident to recommend this amazing jewel in south beach. The Happy hour at the pool was an added bonus a hard find with such a great view in south beach. I high suggest the mango mojito. Staying for our anniversary was even more special as we received a bottle of champagne at turn down with a card from the hotel, a beautiful and very thoughtful surprise. Our stay at Dream was really just that...a Dream!

Room Tip: Book room 302 to really get the VIP treatment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Wow, indeed! It sounds like you had an absolutely rockstar experience here at Dream, and we couldn't be happier reading your review! Flawless is what we strive for, and we are so happy we were able to make your anniversary trip so memorable. All of us here at Dream look forward to welcoming you back for another awesome stay! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there in October 2010 when it was the Palmer House. The rooms exude a very sexy atmosphere. The room was small but lit very seductively. Decor was Art Deco - modern. Staff was great and concierge was right on with hotel recommendations. The rooms smelled so good my wife asked what air freshened they used.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us! Great job on taking advantage of our great concierge staff - they really are masters at what they do and love opportunities to take care of their guests. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Staff - valet were friendly and attempted to help us get the best value for our money (we opted for convenience), front desk - John was friendly, professional and efficient, Pool bartender good drinks, Pool side concierge Indosa was extremely accommodating, polite and professional.

Serafina Restaurant - had breakfast at pool. Average quality for price but convenient and friendly staff.

Room - exactly as pictured dim lighting (on verge of being too dark) but sexy vibe; clean, modern decor; overall great place for short couples retreat. 1 night was perfect for us. Negatives - bed was lumpy; lighting gadgets were complicated; very loud (could hear ppl upstairs and from 4a-6a had front row seats to sexy playlist from the adjacent room); inadequate lighting in bathroom - not good for putting on makeup. Privacy a non-issue especially for a couple like us (married, kid, etc). We simply closed the glass pocket doors to the toilet room and additionally closed the decorative pocket doors to the bedroom. We could still see one another if we really tried but not much of an issue for us.

Roof Top Pool - beautiful, tons of comfy lounge seating both pool side, beach views and city views. Excellent service. They have a DJ on Fri, Sat nights (but we were there mid week).

Overall - good valve, good location, excellent service, felt safe and comfortable but in the middle of all of the action of south beach. Do not book if you are looking for a serene, beach getaway. Do consider if you are wanting a hot, sexy, SoBe retreat with someone you are very comfortable being in a small, dark, translucent room with.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Dream, and taking the time to share your comments! We are very happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that our friendly and efficient staff were able to take good care of you. We really appreciate your business and hope that you will come back and see us again soon. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Great room for a trip to south beach! It was cool and sexy. the concierge really helped me decide between the list of restaurants I was mulling over. (the forge is where we settled on, great choice) I really liked the rooftop pool they had sold out on cabanas for an event one of the days we stayed but still managed to make room for my friend and I on some poolside lounge chairs. Bottomless bellinis for $25, amazing! The restaurant there served me the best pasta, black linguini with fresh seafood, I will go back just for that alone!
Only two tiny gripes, I don't like that the toilet area has a glass door (i went with a friend)and there isn't a fitness center, ht for $15 a day you can go to crunch one block over. Other than that perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Very nice! Thank you so much for your recent stay at Dream, and taking the time to share your experiences with us! We are all smiles knowing that our rockstar concierge was able to take good care of you and make sure you had a fantastic time out and about in South Beach. Great job also on taking advantage of our weekend brunch at Serafina - those bottomles bellinis are definitely awesome! All of us here at Dream hope to welcome you back soon, so until then, take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I have certainly stayed in larger more comfortable hotel rooms, and past posters are right about the annoying lighting, there's not really any room in the toilet/sink area to unpack any toiletries, and we were woken in the mornings early by laundry bins wheeled past our window, the lift is so slow I would take the stairs, but... If I was going back to south beach I wouldn't hesitate to stay again, it was perfect to soak up that special south beach feel. The roof top pool area is just wonderful, big 'Nikki beach' type double loungers, bar and dj at weekends, people watching galore!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Dream! All of us here look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back for another relaxing stay here in beautiful South Beach. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dream South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream South Beach

Address: 1111 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your loftiest dreams become a reality when you step foot in the art deco-inspired haven that is Dream South Beach. Located on Collins Avenue, our hotel is surrounded by stylish boutiques, the hottest clubs and is just 50 yards from pristine white sand beaches. Right next door is another fashionable address, once known as the famed Versace Mansion. Hospitality is reinvented at our luxury hotel in South Beach. Art Deco style meets French Moroccan chic, at Dream South Beach, which boasts 108 guestrooms and suites designed by Michael Czysz with modern amenities such as large flat screen TVs, high-speed Wi-Fi for a fee, fully-stocked minibars, Etro bath amenities and much more. While here, be immersed in late 70's poolside glamour at our rooftop pool and lounge, indulge in Mexican fare at Naked Taco, slip into ecstasy with a relaxing spa treatment, and enjoy an atmosphere that is both cosmopolitan and comfortable. For a stunning nightlife experience, head up to Highbar by the rooftop pool lounge and sample creative concoctions while taking in the Miami skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Dream South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.