We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it for rooftop bar pool and beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dream South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Dream South Beach to your Saves list
Dream South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save 15%!
Ranked #50 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Worth it for rooftop bar pool and beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

So I think the design is absolutely right for the location! For those worried about the comments on room size- it's fine I stayed in tinier in NYC at 3 times the price( TriBeCa grand) where truly the design guaranteed you stayed up till the bar closed unless you put on the white noise system...
I stayed on the second floor. I heard nothing, despite knowing the dj and party went late into the night.i found this worth the location , rooftop bar and pool, 1 block to beach, close to scene but not in middle of it and none of the stuffiness or pretense of north beach. The bed was great and the room is perfect to guarantee you do not get up until you want to. It can be challenging for those that do not want to deal with lots of options- stay at the chains. I did not encounter any cigarette smoke- even when I sat in that section on the rooftop bar. The only comment I agree is everyone is nice but can be forgetful. The person on the beach forget to bring me a towel, and the person at the pool forget to send over someone to get my food order. They did honor a late check out request which was fantastic. I took advantage of a spa treatment poolside. It was fine , but I thought pricy for what it was. The 2 for 1 drinks every evening are really nice as was the champagne on arrival. The staff was attentive and helpful throughout my stay. Yes I would come back. Ps dj is really good, I tried to shazam the music a lot... Internet service a bit slow since you are paying a fee for it. Fast sometimes, sometimes a bit slow

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Dream! It sounds like you had a really nice stay and got to thoroughly enjoy our beautiful rooftop. Great job on taking advantage of a poolside spa treatment - talk about relaxing in true South Beach style! Thank you again for your business, and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    488
    143
    58
    23
See reviews for
70
893
86
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

+ stylish
+ clean
+ location

- small rooms
- noisy: could hear every word from our neighbours
- sometimes it was necessary to switch off A/C due to smell of cigarette smoke (I guess should be normally no problem, as it is a non-smoker hotel?)
- extras are very expensive:
I had to make an urgent LANDLINE call to a FREE number in Europe from my hotel room (suspicion of credit card misuse). They charged me for an 8 minute call 120 Dollars. On the phone it was only mentioned it would cost 4 Dollars extra for international calls. This is insane! Pure rip-off!
First you have to pay 8 dollars extra for every day for a chair at the beach. But if you are at the beach, they expect you again to pay additional 15 dollars for a parasol! Crazy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to offer my apologies that the international calls that you made during your stay came at an unexpected cost. However, I am very happy that at time of your departure I was able to adjust off the majority of that cost as a gesture of good faith between us. Here at Dream, we look for any opportunity to recover any challenges or issues experienced and make sure that our guests are having a relaxing and completely enjoyable hotel experience.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future, as me and the staff here look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you for your business, and take care!

Sincerely,

John Walbridge - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel this past week. Great location and staff. The layout of the rooms, particularly the bathrooms, was troubling. In the suites, you can sit on the bed and see directly into the bathroom. The door to the bathroom is clear glass. In other rooms, you walk in the front door and the toilet is on one side with clear glass and the shower the same way on the other. When we brought our concerns to the staff's attention (particularly Eduardo) they were incredibly accommodating and did everything they could to try to remedy the situation. Unfortunately, they could not remodel the room to give us privacy.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Dream! I am sorry that you encountered some challenges with our design and layout. We do understand that our hotel may not be for everyone, and some elements may be unexpected. However, it is awesome to hear that Eduardo made every effort to accommodate you, and that you were able to interact with our friendly staff during your stay. We take great pride in providing outstanding service and look forward to all opportunities to take care of our guests. Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We only stayed at this hotel for one night but it was a good choice. Just off Ocean Drive it was quieter and we were able to sleep. Arrival was a pleasant and efficient experience with car parking and checking in hassle free. We had two rooms (one for our daughter) both of which were fine and very relaxing. It was a bit quirky having a loo with a glass door (what purpose does that serve one asks!)
We didn't use any facilities at the hotel other than the roof top bar where service was very pleasant and efficient but from what we saw we would expect any visitor to enjoy the facilities offered. It is ideaaly situated for the restaurants on Ocean drive and the beach is two minutes away by foot. We would definitely stay there again. Compliments to the very friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Very nice indeed! Thank you so much for your recent stay with us and allowing us to take care of you and your daughter. We couldn't be happier knowing that you all had a pleasant and relaxing stay and got to experience our beautiful rooftop. All of us here at Dream look forward to seeing you again soon! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a great hotel for couples! The rooms are cozy (teeny-tiny), but are well appointed. I went with a girlfriend to celebrate our milestone birthday, and the bathroom situation was a bit awkward. When you first walk into our room, there is a toilet and sink on the right with clear glass doors (no shade for privacy), on the left is the shower (also clear glass doors), and straight ahead was the bedroom. There are "privacy" doors to close between the bedroom and bathing area, but even those had glass cutouts. So, if one person was out of the room and came in while the other was using the toilet -- very awkward! The room could not have been smaller (we had one king bed because to upgrade to two beds was more money than we wanted to spend), but we made do. Lighting in the room is dim, but there is a sign that they will bring in more lighting if you desire. Would not go back here for another girls weekend, but would consider it with my husband.

Location is great for South Beach. One block from the beach. Close to shopping and restaurants. The staff at the hotel was friendly and helpful. We did not eat at the restaurant on site or use room service, so I can't speak to that. The pool and bar on the roof are lovely. We very much enjoyed sitting on the front porch to people watch. Quite the scene!

So, to sum it up, I would not go back here for another girls weekend, but would consider it with my husband.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent stay and your nice comments about our friendly staff! It is nice to know that you had a relaxing time and were able to fully experience South Beach. Great job taking advantage of our awesome rooftop and our terrace - we agree that it is perfect for people watching! Thanks again, and see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Here's the deal: Stay only at the Dream South Beach if you want lovely, helpful service, a quieter SOBE experience, sleek, fashionable interiors and a very good value. Otherwise, go to one of those moody, darker looking hotels with a surly staff who snarls and a sound-deafening club that spills into the hallways and rooms. Granted, this is for people who are looking to relax and soak in the SOBE scene without partying like a Kardashian. It's also not a resort, but a boutique hotel. First off, the look of the place is fresh, beachy and chic, yet far from feeling dated like the Shore Club or Delano (which in my opinion both need an update. Don't think they got the "90s are over" memo). The staff couldn't have been nicer, including Raoul, who walked us through the tricky lights in the room. The Serafina staff was also very helpful, even suggesting fun things for us to do when it rained.The rooftop pool bar was very sleek and had Moroccan style poufs and beds, with a chic feeling that made you want to lounge there all day. Pool is the size of a postage stamp, but that's what to expect with a smaller hotel in SOBE. The location is good, but five blocks away from the hot spots/restaurants on Collins Avenue near SLS and ROYAL PALM. We preferred to stay off Ocean Drive, but it was very close to the Hotel Victor and Tides. The junior suite was a good size. The glass doors on the bathroom leave little to the imagination (couldn't they have been frosted?). But what we loved was that the rooms were noise-proof in the sense you didn't hear anyone above you, next you, etc. We did have a corner room, which helped, but thankfully, there were no all night parties going on. The food was excellent, so were the drinks, and they had a lot of deals for guests--free pizza, half price cocktails and free ones too--which made it even more of a deal. I thought for the price we paid for the rooms (an internet deal), it was an amazing place. My only gripe: pool furniture/cushions were looking a bit worn, some had cigarette burns and some of my decorative bedding pillows were stained. In a place like SOBE where a new hotel opens every minute, you need to be on top of your game. So replacing these will keep the Dream looking fresh and fab. Overall, a dreamy experience!

Room Tip: The junior suites are the way to go here. We had a queen one that was quite sizeable (330 sq feet) a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Awesome! It is such a pleasure to read your review and know that you had such a lovely stay here at Dream. We realize there are many beautiful hotels for you to choose from, and we are proud to be one of your new favorites here in South Beach! Thank you for allowing us to take care of you, and we hope that you will come back and visit us again very soon. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dream South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream South Beach

Address: 1111 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your loftiest dreams become a reality when you step foot in the art deco-inspired haven that is Dream South Beach. Located on Collins Avenue, our hotel is surrounded by stylish boutiques, the hottest clubs and is just 50 yards from pristine white sand beaches. Right next door is another fashionable address, once known as the famed Versace Mansion. Hospitality is reinvented at our luxury hotel in South Beach. Art Deco style meets French Moroccan chic, at Dream South Beach, which boasts 108 guestrooms and suites designed by Michael Czysz with modern amenities such as large flat screen TVs, high-speed Wi-Fi for a fee, fully-stocked minibars, Etro bath amenities and much more. While here, be immersed in late 70's poolside glamour at our rooftop pool and lounge, indulge in Mexican fare at Naked Taco, slip into ecstasy with a relaxing spa treatment, and enjoy an atmosphere that is both cosmopolitan and comfortable. For a stunning nightlife experience, head up to Highbar by the rooftop pool lounge and sample creative concoctions while taking in the Miami skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Dream South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.