We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More and less than meets the eye.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dream South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dream South Beach to your Saves list
Dream South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off Room Rate
Ranked #53 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“More and less than meets the eye.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed at the Dream for 6 days and 5 nights mid March.

The staff is very very attentive, helpful, and eager to assist you with anything. The staff deserves 5+ stars, their is nothing worse than staff that doesn't care, everyone who works at the Dream really gets this. I don't remember a staff that was so happy to be there for you.

The hotel is very well maintained, charming, if you like small and quaint this is a great hotel right in the heart of South Beach.

Roof top pool big plus, very chill, beach with private lounge chairs for hotel residents also a big plus. Sarifina's restaurant is part of the hotel too, so you hardly need to move far for great meals.

The hotel photos are beautiful, absolutely beautiful, the problems are that the rooms are tiny, everything at the Dream is small. Sidewalk walking traffic is so close to the hotels lounge chairs, if you want that you will like this, if not, oh well too bad, you will deal with it,

If you know what you are getting in advance, you will be very happy. I can go either way now since Ive been there.

I may go back maybe during off peak where I can upgrade the room, but with so many options in South Beach to choose from I enjoy seeing new resorts.

Overall I give everything 4 or 5 stars but the small rooms really make it hard for me to love this place.

I have been to many places in south beach

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your super nice comments about our staff! All of us here at Dream take great pride in being the best at what we do, and so your comments really make us smile. It's nice to hear that you also were able to enjoy Serafina and their delicious menu creations. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dream, so until then, take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    476
    141
    56
    22
See reviews for
66
878
85
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed in this hotel before when it was Palmer House and about half the price so my review is lowered by the fact that I think it might not be the best value for money in South Beach. Having said that the rooms are pretty amazing, with very cool decor that makes you feel a bit like you are still in one of the Sobe clubs - very blue and blacklight! The lights are complicated - even on my last day I was still figuring out how they worked and that was after a demo from the bellstaff.
The bar on the roof was through in the other building so not accessible from our rooms without going outside, but it was very nice for late night drinks - the pool wasn't massive so don't expect that you will be able to do any laps in it.
My only complaint about this very beautiful hotel was that I was woken up every morning, not just by jetlag but by someone upstairs moving very loudly in the room above me at 4am. It sounded like they were moving furniture and thumping through the room for about an hour - the fact that it happened every day made me wonder if there was some kind of cleaning cupboard above my room as I doubted it could have been another guest at that time in the morning - although its South Beach and it seems that the city never sleeps!
Location wise its literally round the corner from the beach and the Versace mansion so very convenient!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us! We agree 100% with you about the design of our rooms - they are definitely beautiful and amazing! Sorry that you encountered a discourteous neighbor during your stay, but we hope that you will come back and visit us again, and we can provide you with another great stay. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic customer service. Arrived early about 10 am after a cruise. They let us have our room right away. Then we had an evening flight and they let us stay late in our room to enjoy the pool and be able to take a shower before we left.
The pool area on the roof was so relaxing and the staff would bring drinks and cool washcloths and set up the umbrella. They think of everything and even provide suntan lotion and ice water in a large pitcher. The music by the pool on the roof was so relaxing. We even splurged and got a massage there.

The bar on the roof has the greatest servers. It is a quick walk to the ocean.

The only challenge is to figure out the light switch in the room.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review! We couldn't be happier reading your review and knowing that yo had such a relaxing stay here at Dream. We take great pride in providing outstanding customer service and making sure that your visit to South Beach was truly memorable. Thank you for choosing Dream, and we look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel was in a nice location, was clean, had excellent service and while my room was "cool" figuring out how to turn on the lights was like solving a reubix's cube. And it wasn't just me, several people in my company were staying there as well and couldn't figure it out. The lighting was super cool and mine was in a blue color. Instead of light switches there were panels with icons...i spend half my time convinced that there had to be a way to make the room brighter, but couldn't figure it out.
However, it wouldn't keep me from staying there again, it was a really nice, fun hotel but i would definitely ask for a tutorial on the light situation!

Room Tip: My room did not have a window, but because of the design of the room i didn't even notice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us, and taking the time to share your comments. I am sorry that you encountered some challenges with the lighting design in the room, but it is great to hear that you had a nice stay! We do understand that there are some elements of our hotel which can be a little unexpected, but with the help of our friendly staff, we are always here to make you as comfortable as possible. Thank you for choosing Dream, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I took my husband on a vacation which included Miami Beach, Islamorada and Orlando. I chose to stay at higher-end hotels throughout our travels and, I must say, our favorite hotel was Dream South Beach. The customer service and ambiance of the hotel was outstanding!! The photos of the rooms on the website are just as they appear in person. The rooms have state-of-the-art lighting and ammenities. It was quite impressive! The restaurant, the staff and the food live up to the "five-star" rating as well.
For persons that travel often, Dream South Beach is our favorite hotel ever:-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Fantastic! Thank you so much for your outstanding review! We are all smiles knowing that we have the honor of being your new favorite hotel - that is a very high honor indeed! All of us here at Dream take great pride in providing outstanding service to our guests, and it sounds like you had a perfect stay. Thank you for choosing Dream, and we look forward to seeing you both again in the future. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahamas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Great, hotel, great staff, great rooms, amazing roof terrace and bar and a great location, only thing I didn't like was the lighting in the bedrooms. Trying to do your makeup was a nightmare, The lights were dim and wouldn't go any brighter! The positives though, by far our weighed the bad lighting!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and nice comments! We love hearing that you were able to enjoy our hotel and interact with our friendly staff. We hope to see you again for your next trip to South Beach, and remember that our friendly bellmen can always bring extra lighting to your room. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Dream South Beach was a good choice on South Beach. As you can see in the pictures, it has a very interesting (strange?) lighting system that gives the rooms a blue glow. But the rooms do feel very modern and have a cool vibe. The bed was super comfortable, and the room was very clean.

The pool is small, but is sufficient for taking a quick swim and cooling off. There are a lot of comfortable chairs/beds around the pool. It is about a 5 minute walk to the beach, and beach chairs are included in the hotel's $8/night resort fee.

Location is great. It is right by some decent restaurants and within a few blocks of a lot of the prime nightlife on south beach. The staff is friendly and helpful.

Overall, we were very pleased with our stay at Dream South Beach and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review! We are so happy to read that you were able to enjoy the hotel amenities and relax on our awesome rooftop. Thanks for choosing to stay with us, and all of us here hope to welcome you back again soon for another great stay. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dream South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream South Beach

Address: 1111 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your loftiest dreams become a reality when you step foot in the art deco-inspired haven that is Dream South Beach. Located on Collins Avenue, our hotel is surrounded by stylish boutiques, the hottest clubs and is just 50 yards from pristine white sand beaches. Right next door is another fashionable address, once known as the famed Versace Mansion. Hospitality is reinvented at our luxury hotel in South Beach. Art Deco style meets French Moroccan chic, at Dream South Beach, which boasts 108 guestrooms and suites designed by Michael Czysz with modern amenities such as large flat screen TVs, high-speed Wi-Fi for a fee, fully-stocked minibars, Etro bath amenities and much more. While here, be immersed in late 70's poolside glamour at our rooftop pool and lounge, indulge in Mexican fare at Naked Taco, slip into ecstasy with a relaxing spa treatment, and enjoy an atmosphere that is both cosmopolitan and comfortable. For a stunning nightlife experience, head up to Highbar by the rooftop pool lounge and sample creative concoctions while taking in the Miami skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Dream South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.