We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baby Blues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dream South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Dream South Beach to your Saves list
Dream South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save 15%!
Ranked #55 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City
Level Contributor
105 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Baby Blues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Friends of ours and us stayed at the Dream for the Miami Marathon. We really enjoyed our stay the the staff made us feel right at home. I was glad to have the opportunity to see our friend's handicap room. The handicap room has a much larger bathroom (with a door!) - so just a suggestion when you make your reservations. Our regular room was just perfect from a size perspective - of course its not huge but who is spending much time here? The lighting - which everyone comments on - is really cool, at first, but then the novelty wears, but still really awesome; nice to see some creativity! Daily we opened the window shade every day, problem solved. The bed is extremely comfortable but wish there was a regular duvet cover instead of two sheets over an insert. Tossers and turners will have this pulled apart quickly....as I soon discovered. We came with earplugs from reading previous reviews but didn't need at all. The shower is big and plenty of hot water fast. The toilet - well, you've read about this already so hope you're not shy. Staff here is phenomenal, everyone was super nice and friendly. Hats off to Melissa at Highbar for ensuring we were well taken care of. The drinks were good, wine selection reasonable and food from Serafina fast and delicious. The pool is warm and beds/chaises comfortable with plenty of various stylish seating options around the roof to provide whatever view or sun/shade requirements you have. Downside to Highbar is the awful rooftop club a block away blasting music that is just too damn loud; it completely drowned out the great lounge music Highbar plays throughout the day. But note this was only really a problem one day. Try to take the stairs to Highbar, the elevator is without competition, the slowest on the planet (but the first full-length mirror you'll find to check your outfit!). The deal on chairs at the beach is great, and only one block away. From a design point of view, the hotel is just gorgeous, much like its sister Dream Downtown in NYC. Starbucks is just one block away (poor service daily). We'd definitely stay at the Dream again .

Room Tip: Try to get a handicap room for a bathroom with a door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, General Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Congratulations on competing in the ING Miami Marathon and thank you for your review. We truly value the comments and suggestions submitted by our guests and strive to utilize them to improve the hotel. Thank you also for your recognition of Melissa at HighBar. She is an example of one of our many dedicated employees who work hard to provide our guests with exceptional customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back next year - or sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    590
    176
    68
    34
See reviews for
91
1,060
104
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

It is a gorgeous place. The room was perfect and the rooftop pool/bar is amazing!. Everyone was friendly. Very clean and cool. The bathroom only works with people you know well and don’t mind seeing you in the buff. It is however mostly couples. I went with two friends, which worked also only because we had two beds, there are only a few rooms with two beds.

Did not get a chance to eat at Sarafina, but had some food sent up to the rooftop and it was delicious as was the champagne specialties. The seating and sunbathing on the rooftop was the best part. They also have a bar with a tv up there perfect for when you have sunbathed enough and want to chill up on the roof.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, General Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your review and I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your long weekend. I agree that our pool and rooftop High Bar is a special place and chilling with drinks and food with an ocean view is the way to go. It is true that Dream South Beach is primarily designed for couples, but we do have a few rooms with 2 double beds. It's important to reserve those as they do fill up quickly. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We spent one night here just before a cruise. The staff is polite and helpful, the rooftop pool and bar devine, the restaurant great for breakfast. The location can't be beat. the only problem is the lights! Make sure you get guidance from the staff on how to turn on the bathroom light without turning them all on so you don't wake each other up like we did. I assumed that the other comments about the lights being a challenge were due to low IQs, but we couldn't figure them out either.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, General Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your review and comments. We agree that the rooftop with the view is one of the features of the hotel that makes us special and unique. It's true that the lighting can be tricky to master but any of our friendly staff is more than willing to show you how to use them. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Dream South Beach was one of the highlights of my visit to Miami. If your Miami is the cool, laid-back, fun Miami (as opposed to the pompous, over the top, shopping freak Miami), this is the place for you.

The location is perfect, right in the heart of South Beach. You will be surrounded by shops and restaurants and just one block away from the beach.

The decor is a lot of fun. Yes, it might seem a little tacky to Wallpaper's subscribers. But I really enjoyed it. The building itself is very charming, deco style and recently renovated. The swimming pool and bar at the rooftop are just fantastic, by far the hotel's best feature. I was surprised it was mostly deserted at night, since it really is a great place for a drink, but maybe that was because it was January - it could be different during the Summer.

I got one of the junior suites - really just a larger room. I definitely recommend it. It was a nice, spacious room with a very comfortable king bed. I was travelling with friends and they got a regular room, which seemed REALLY small for my taste.

The staff was very nice and extremely helpful. Everyone did everything with a smile on their faces. There was one african-american waitresses (shamefully I forgot her name) who was probably the nicest waitress I ever met.

When we arrived, we were received with a glass of sparkling wine, which was refilled more than once during check-in. Nice touch.

We did have a few issues with the room, though. The first one they gave us had an awful cigarette smell. We called the front desk and they promptly offered to move us to a different room. We stayed on the new room for one night, only to find that some of the lights were not working properly. The next morning we went back to the front desk and they moved us again. It took a while, but we finally got a great room - and the staff was very helpful throughout this process.

The hotel gets some extra points for the Serafina restaurant - great food, great fun, good prices - and the concierge team.

I definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms on the ground floor, since delivery/trash trucks come very early in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, General Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your review and recommendation as well as the comments that will help us to improve our service to future guests. I'm happy that you enjoyed the Junior Suite and Serafina Restaurant. We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I visited Dream South Beach two years in a row. The first year was great even while they were going under renovations. However, last year they had Fire Alarms sounding at 3 am causing all the patrons to leave immediately and stand outside for 30 minutes. I appreciated they have a working system but they could have offered courtesies to the patrons for such an inconvenience.

The room is small.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, General Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing us for your return stay. I was disappointed that your return was disrupted by the fire alarm and I want to assure you that this is an extremely rare occurrence and thankfully a false alarm. I would like to encourage you to try us again in the future and would encourage you to contact me directly via email at peggybenua@dreamsouthbeach.com so I can personally see to a flawless repeat visit. I look forward to hearing from you.
Peggy Benua
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Perfect! I stayed at Dreams in 2007 before the pool was completed and had an amazing stay. To celebrate a dating milestone I decided the perfect romantic get-away with my boyfriend would be to stay at Dreams. My boyfriend works in the hotel industry in Europe and it is pretty hard to impress him but he was in amazement when we got to our room. The room was exactly as pictured. The junior suite was gorgeous. The chandelier light over the bed was beautiful; the room was spacious and even had a couch in it. I loved the amazing glass bathroom that still afforded us privacy. The lighting is adjustable so you can create just the ambiance that you desire. The rooms here are the best in Miami period; we did not even want to leave but decided to explore the rooftop pool and bar. The pool did not disappoint, it was heated, spacious and clean and it was just fun being up there as the clientele was not crazy but a rather classy bunch. The hotel staff took good care of us; they were welcoming, polite and friendly. We received complimentary chocolate covered strawberries and mojitos in our room and while checking in we got complimentary champagne at the front desk. We didn’t get a chance to check out Serafina but there was a really good deal where you get a free pizza with lunch. The restaurant was decorated nicely and next time for sure we will dine there.
If you want a romantic getaway in Miami, this is the place for you, perfect, unspoiled and gorgeous. It doesn’t get better than this.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, General Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hi Stacey,

Thank you for your awesome review and I'm so glad to hear that you had enjoyed your experience at Dream South Beach. Many guests tell us that our hotel and rooms are designed for romance and I'm happy that you had the experience you were looking forward to. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Peggy Benua
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Dream South Beach is a very chic and trendy hotel. Yes, the rooms are small but aren't they all here in South Beach.? In addition, the staff here is very attentive to your needs. John made an excellent and favorable impression upon checking in and assisted us with some supplies since our bags were delayed in arriving at the airport. The bedding and pillows were very comfortable which made it much easier to sleep. The only negative is of course the noise. Though it is a block away from Ocean Drive there is quite a bit of drunk fools running around until the wee hours of the morning. Especially on the weekends. We only tried the restaurant for breakfast. But it was very good and was pleasantly surprised. The pool on the top floor is right nice and peaceful actually. It closes down nightly at around 11 o'clock so there really isn't any noise generated from this area that would affect sleeping, unless one went to bed before 11 o'clock. And why would you do that here?!!

Room Tip: if your on the third floor take the stairs one level up to the pool. convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, General Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for posting your review of Dream South Beach and for your compliments about the property and staff. I agree that John is a superstar and thank you for taking time to recognize him.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Peggy Benua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Hotel
#22 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,203 reviews
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#15 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,102 reviews
City Center
Vintro Hotel South Beach
Vintro Hotel South Beach
#7 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#46 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,135 reviews
Thompson Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 594 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#6 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream South Beach

Address: 1111 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#55 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your loftiest dreams become a reality when you step foot in the art deco-inspired haven that is Dream South Beach. Located on Collins Avenue, our hotel is surrounded by stylish boutiques, the hottest clubs and is just 50 yards from pristine white sand beaches. Right next door is another fashionable address, once known as the famed Versace Mansion. Hospitality is reinvented at our luxury hotel in South Beach. Art Deco style meets French Moroccan chic, at Dream South Beach, which boasts 108 guestrooms and suites designed by Michael Czysz with modern amenities such as large flat screen TVs, high-speed Wi-Fi for a fee, fully-stocked minibars, Etro bath amenities and much more. While here, be immersed in late 70's poolside glamour at our rooftop pool and lounge, indulge in Mexican fare at Naked Taco, slip into ecstasy with a relaxing spa treatment, and enjoy an atmosphere that is both cosmopolitan and comfortable. For a stunning nightlife experience, head up to Highbar by the rooftop pool lounge and sample creative concoctions while taking in the Miami skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Dream South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.