We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When a kasbah meets the 70s in the Art Deco district” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dream South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Dream South Beach to your Saves list
Dream South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rimini, Italy
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“When a kasbah meets the 70s in the Art Deco district”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed at Dream SoBe for 3 nights over NYE period and considering the price and the location I have no complaints.

The hotel: located on Collins Ave. right behind the Versace mansion, Dream is a really nice boutique hotel in a superb location, in the heart of South Beach. Restaurants, bars, clubs Lincoln Rd, almost everything you need is walking distance.. and the beach is just a block away!
There's also a brand new italian restaurant (Serafina) on the ground floor and a nice place for drinks by the rooftop pool (Highbar).

The room: yes, our Deluxe King was tiny but I knew that when booking. If you're planning to stay here well, travel light as there's almost no space for your bags and clothes. I really loved the funky decor that looked like a good mix of 70s and arabic style. Also liked the huge shower and the Etro amenities.
Looking at the reviews seems that the biggest issues are the lights and the bathroom with the glass door. My room was overlooking 11th street and I used to open the curtains to let the natural light get in, but at night I didn't find the lights control panel difficult at all. Just look at the pictures on the buttons and you'll be fine. Otherwise just ask to one of the guys of the hotel how does the light system work.
About the bathroom: if you understandably want more privacy when sitting on the toilet or having a shower, just close the doors that separate this area from the bedroom. It's easy.
My biggest disappointment about the accomodation was the very poor soundproofing. You can literally hear everything, from the other rooms and from the street. Be aware of this if you're a light sleeper.
Also found the air conditioner a little bit uncomfortable as I'm not used to cold air blowing straight over me while sleeping (I even woke up with a sore throat after the first night).
Anyway, being on a very particular time of the year, I didn't spend a lot of time in my room so I could get over these things.

Service: front desk guys were always nice and helpful. Check-in and check-out were super fast. Can't really understand their mandatory $ 7.99 tax per day. Wouldn't be easier to include the cost of the wifi and the beach services in the price of the room? Whatever.

Overall a nice experience, and it's always good to come back to sunny South Beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Dream over the New Years Eve holiday, and for sharing your comments with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed the cool design of our hotel and got to interact with our always friendly front desk staff - they love being able to take care of their guests and make sure they are having a very relaxing stay! Thank you again for staying with us, and we look forward to providing you another great experience the next time you visit sunny South Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    465
    138
    52
    22
See reviews for
64
861
83
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

So it depends what is important to you. The hotel is very cute and clean. The staff is helpful. The location is one block from the beach. The Versace mansion is right behind the hotel. The Room was small , we were two people with a king size bed. It was cute though. The lighting is horrible. It's mood lighting blue and dim. We had to call the staff to bring us a lamp and they did and it was fine. Our room did not have a window. The toilet which was like a half bath had glass sliding doors and so did the shower. There were doors to separate the "bathroom " area from the bed so if you close those then you could get privacy while showering and pooping. It was overall fine. I would stay again if I couldn't find anything better like bigger, with more lighting ?

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thanks very much for staying with us and sharing your comments. I am sorry that you had some issues with the lighting design, but it is nice to hear that our staff was able to help you quickly resolve that issue! Here at Dream we take pride in being able to help our guests have the most relaxing and enjoyable stay, and get to enjoy their visit in true South Beach style! Thank you for choosing Dream, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

You will feel like you are in the room with your neighbors. Conversations and furniture moving noise from neighboring rooms (and above) is incredibly loud. The mechanical systems are very loud (some massive humming sound came on in the middle of the night loud enough to wake me). There is NO light in the room!!!! Seriously, the lighting in the rooms is incredibly poor - difficult to read the instructions on how to turn the lights on! The internet connection is so slow that you cannot do anything other than read email on it. No real bathroom - just glass separating the toilet from the entryway and then your shower is on the other side of the entry way. Overall, this hotel was a huge disappointment and I would never ever consider staying here again regardless of the price compared to other rooms in South Beach. I think they keep their prices low so they can woo people in the door.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to offer my sincerest apologies that you did not enjoy your stay here at Dream. It is unfortunate that you were disturbed by discourteous neighbors and some of the sounds coming from around the hotel. All of us here at Dream take great pride in being able to interact with our guests and find quick resolutions to any issues that may occur. With this being said, it is disappointing that we were not made aware of these challenges that you were encountering while you were with us and are only being made aware of them now.

Here at Dream, we do understand that our hotel may not be for everyone. We have very unique design and lighting elements throughout the hotel, and these can sometimes be very unexpected for those guests who are accustomed to the more typical hotels throughout the world. However, we are proud, and fully confident that we are providing a fresh, cool, and totally unique experience for our guests, and our rave reviews will back that up.

Thank you very much for your business, and we hope that perhaps one day in the future you will consider staying with us again. Take care!

Sincerely,

John Walbridge - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a convenient location with not mansion-kind bedrooms, then this is the hotel you should look at. With mosern designs and fancy interiors, tiny rooms in this hotel are worth the money. Stone's throw away from best watering holes and the beach.
We stayed here during the orange bowl weekend and there were some unexpected knocks on the door at wee hours but rhat comes with staying so close to ocean drive.
Superb location, decent rooms, great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing Dream and sharing your comments with us. It is unfortunate that you had such a great stay and enjoyed our awesome location, but only rated us 3 stars. Hopefully you will decide to come back and visit us again, and we can provide you with another great experience and become one of your top rated hotels. Until next time, take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The hotel does not justify its price. Internet is not free, it costs $ 7.99 per day, slow. The rooms are small and not comfortable. Blue lights are very annoying, inadequate lighting. The teeth can be cleaned while sitting on the toilet. Air conditioner blowing in your face when you are on your bed, you can get sick. Open window is useless because it is very noisy until 3 am on the street, and at 6 am you could be woken by the employee who blows the leaves from the sidewalk using machine with a gasoline engine. After than harvester rattles until 7am.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to offer my apologies that you did not have a pleasant experience here at our hotel. We completely understand that our hotel and the design and lighting may not be for everyone, especially those travelers who are accustomed to the more typical, cookie cutter hotels throughout the world. Here at Dream, we take pride in providing a truly unique, fresh, and delightfully unexpected hotel experience for our guests. From the rave reviews we have received, we are fully confident that we are providing just that!

We appreciate your business, and hopefully you will consider us again for your next trip to South Beach. Until we see you again, take care!

Sincerely,

John Walbridge - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My last night in Miami I stayed at the Dream Hotel. Was very impressed by how clean the hotel was.
I got room 104, which unfortunately has a bad view. The room itself was perfect, although a little bit too dark.
Slept with earplugs as I know how busy hotels can be, still got woken up at 6am by the room above me, which kept me up for 1.5h. I complained and without any problems I got to speak with a Manager who refunded me 40% of what I payed.
Excellent service and great location!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Just perfect! Thank you so much for your review, and nice comments about our service and location. We agree - our location in the heart of South Beach can't be beat! We really appreciate your business, and hope to welcome you back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Loved this chic, funky hotel. Hotel staff was fantastic- very helpful and friendly. Rooms, although pretty small, are stylish and comfortable. Pool area is lovely. Hotel is just off Ocean Drive, so it is both convenient and peaceful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Short and sweet and just perfect! Thanks for your excellent review, and for choosing to stay with us. We really enjoyed being able to take care of you during your stay, and we hope that you'll come back and visit us many times in the future. So until then, take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dream South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream South Beach

Address: 1111 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#58 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your loftiest dreams become a reality when you step foot in the art deco-inspired haven that is Dream South Beach. Located on Collins Avenue, our hotel is surrounded by stylish boutiques, the hottest clubs and is just 50 yards from pristine white sand beaches. Right next door is another fashionable address, once known as the famed Versace Mansion. Hospitality is reinvented at our luxury hotel in South Beach. Art Deco style meets French Moroccan chic, at Dream South Beach, which boasts 108 guestrooms and suites designed by Michael Czysz with modern amenities such as large flat screen TVs, high-speed Wi-Fi for a fee, fully-stocked minibars, Etro bath amenities and much more. While here, be immersed in late 70's poolside glamour at our rooftop pool and lounge, indulge in Mexican fare at Naked Taco, slip into ecstasy with a relaxing spa treatment, and enjoy an atmosphere that is both cosmopolitan and comfortable. For a stunning nightlife experience, head up to Highbar by the rooftop pool lounge and sample creative concoctions while taking in the Miami skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo, Agoda, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Dream South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.