We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service, nice room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dream South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Dream South Beach to your Saves list
Dream South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off Room Rate
Ranked #52 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lake Mary, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding service, nice room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Spent the last two nights. The staff and service was outstanding, particularly Henry, who greeted us when we arrived and made us feel like a VIP. Also, our bartender, Emily, on the rooftop bar,was particularly attentive and gave us great advice on night spots. This is the first time I have ever written a review but felt compelled to after the outstanding job they did for us. The only downside was the glass doors to the bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your great comments about Henry and Emily - they really have a great time interacting with their guests and making sure everything is just right. We really appreciate your business, and we hope you will return and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    474
    141
    55
    22
See reviews for
65
875
85
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

positives: good location - quick walk to beach and nightlife though being a few blocks closer to lincoln would have been a bit better. at the restaurant in the hotel - serafina - enjoyed my breakfast of ricotta/lemon pancakes. also had a wonderful authentic italian dinner of pesto, potato, and homemade pasta as well as peperonata. sheets are soft. decor is fun/appealing. free internet.

negatives: extremely noisy. heard my neighbors going at it full throttle. woke up one morning to an alarm that wouldn't go off - from next door. couldn't sleep because of the persistent "thump thump thump" of some kind of electronic music. same type of annoying "music" up at the pool too - there isn't a calm peaceful moment here. after complaining to front desk around midnight they got the restaurant to turn it off. the pool is nice for a quick dip but there is almost no chance of actually getting a seat near it since it is so small. no gym but i didn't mind paying the $15 to use Crunch which is a great gym just a few blocks away. painfully slow elevator.

would probably look for a different hotel next time due to the noise.

Room Tip: ask about noise. probably best not to be right above restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. I would like to apologize that you encountered some issues with the music and noise levels during your stay. Here at Dream we work to accommodate all of our guests to make sure they are having the most enjoyable stay possible while here in South Beach.

Thank you again for choosing Dream, and all of us here hope to see you again for your next trip to Florida! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Prompt check-in with complementary champagne and someone to bring our bags up, followed by a dim-lit chic room with a transparent bathroom (easily covered up once asking the front desk). This 5-story hotel is in an excellent location in the middle of Miami Beach. The roof-top pool and vibe are amazing, except the roof closes around 10. Everyone at the hotel was very nice, especially Andres the concierge helping us discover clubs to go to at night!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Awesome! Thank you so much for your outstanding review! We are so happy that you loved our hotel and got to enjoy all the amenities and design elements that make us one of the coolest hotels here in South Beach. Thanks for choosing Dream, and we hope to welcome you back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Property is beautiful, and wonderfully located.
Rooms are nice and well appointed and pool and roof bar really outstanding!
Nice spa too.
Negative points:
- bad room service in the morning (no way to get a coffee or breakfast at 7 had to call 4 times to finally have a cappuccino at 8!) and also unerasonably expensive
- awkard and poor lighting system in the room. Impossible to put make up on or to see your face in the bathroom mirror!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your experiences. We love hearing that you loved our beautiful property and got to enjoy our rooftop and spa! However, is is distressing to hear that you had a negative experience with our room service. I would like to offer my apologies that this caused you some frustrations during your stay. During your stay, we were transitioning between the old restaurant concept and our newest addition, Serafina. I am happy to say that we are now fully open and operating smoothly!

All of us here at Dream hope that you will consider staying with us again, so that we may provide you a flawless hotel experience and show you why staying at Dream is the best choice you can make when coming to South Beach.

Thanks again for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,

John Walbridge - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The room was very chic, but the complicated lighting failed to make up for the lack of sunshine in sunny Miami. It was also tiny in comparison to the other hotels I visited in Miami at similar price points. The lack of a proper door (it is glass) on the bathroom was also awkward. My biggest complaint was that, upon booking, we were not informed that the pool area was to be closed for the entire day owing to a private party. I had originally booked with the intention of spending my day by the celebrated pool, and in retrospect I should have cancelled my reservation upon check-in and found someplace more accommodating. For $350, I would expect use of the standard facilities advertised.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I would like to offer my sincerest apologies that you were not able to enjoy the pool due to the private party during your stay. Here at Dream, we work to accommodate all of our guests to make sure they are having the best experience possible, and it is unfortunate when the enjoyment of some guests negatively impacts others.

I would love a chance to speak with your directly about your stay, and hopefully you will allow me the chance to restore your faith in us. I may be contacted at: 305-673-4747, or johnwalbridge@dreamsouthbeach.com.

Thank you again for your comments, and I hope to be able to speak with you soon! Take care!

Sincerely,

John Walbridge - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Dream South Beach is the place to stay if you are looking for a well-located, off-beach hotel. The design is fantastic (although lighting in the rooms, although ultra cool, is confusing at first). The pool is an excellent roof-top oasis and the restaurant is very legitimate.

The walk to the beach is very easy by the way.

Room Tip: elevators are a bit slow so 2 floor would be ideal. the stairway is nicely appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your nice comments. We are so pleased that you were able to enjoy our location and the super easy access to the beautiful beach! We really appreciate your business and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The bed is great, fine sheets, comfortable and great pillows. Being able to sleep on vacation is important for me and the room is designed for sleep, or at least for stying in bed. The room is dark with the lights on as high as possible. Don't plan to spend time in the room unless you plan to stay in bed. Our room was small and a bit overdesigned as with trendy hotels.

Great rooftop pool and sitting areas, and nice staff.

Maintenance in the hotel is poor considering that the hotel is fairly new, our bathroom door would only open half way, an obvious problem that housekeeping should have but did not address. The hand dryer in the restroom at the pool was broken and the soap dispensers were both empty, for four days, the pool tempearature was up and down.
Overall the stay was nice, but I probably would not return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Dream and sharing your experiences with us. I would like to offer my apologies that you experienced some issues with the condition of the public areas. Here at Dream, we hold ourselves to very high standards, and we take it seriously when we fail in an area such as this.

I would love a chance to speak with you directly about your stay, and hopefully you will allow me the chance to restore your faith in us. I may be contacted at: 305-673-474, or johnwalbridge@dreamsouthbeach.com.

Thank you again for staying with us, and I hope to speak with you soon!

Sincerely,

John Walbridge - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dream South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream South Beach

Address: 1111 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#55 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your loftiest dreams become a reality when you step foot in the art deco-inspired haven that is Dream South Beach. Located on Collins Avenue, our hotel is surrounded by stylish boutiques, the hottest clubs and is just 50 yards from pristine white sand beaches. Right next door is another fashionable address, once known as the famed Versace Mansion. Hospitality is reinvented at our luxury hotel in South Beach. Art Deco style meets French Moroccan chic, at Dream South Beach, which boasts 108 guestrooms and suites designed by Michael Czysz with modern amenities such as large flat screen TVs, high-speed Wi-Fi for a fee, fully-stocked minibars, Etro bath amenities and much more. While here, be immersed in late 70's poolside glamour at our rooftop pool and lounge, indulge in Mexican fare at Naked Taco, slip into ecstasy with a relaxing spa treatment, and enjoy an atmosphere that is both cosmopolitan and comfortable. For a stunning nightlife experience, head up to Highbar by the rooftop pool lounge and sample creative concoctions while taking in the Miami skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Dream South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.