We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED IT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dream South Beach

Save Saved
You added Dream South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dream South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“LOVED IT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Prompt check-in with complementary champagne and someone to bring our bags up, followed by a dim-lit chic room with a transparent bathroom (easily covered up once asking the front desk). This 5-story hotel is in an excellent location in the middle of Miami Beach. The roof-top pool and vibe are amazing, except the roof closes around 10. Everyone at the hotel was very nice, especially Andres the concierge helping us discover clubs to go to at night!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Awesome! Thank you so much for your outstanding review! We are so happy that you loved our hotel and got to enjoy all the amenities and design elements that make us one of the coolest hotels here in South Beach. Thanks for choosing Dream, and we hope to welcome you back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    682
    444
    129
    51
    20
See reviews for
62
817
81
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Property is beautiful, and wonderfully located.
Rooms are nice and well appointed and pool and roof bar really outstanding!
Nice spa too.
Negative points:
- bad room service in the morning (no way to get a coffee or breakfast at 7 had to call 4 times to finally have a cappuccino at 8!) and also unerasonably expensive
- awkard and poor lighting system in the room. Impossible to put make up on or to see your face in the bathroom mirror!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your experiences. We love hearing that you loved our beautiful property and got to enjoy our rooftop and spa! However, is is distressing to hear that you had a negative experience with our room service. I would like to offer my apologies that this caused you some frustrations during your stay. During your stay, we were transitioning between the old restaurant concept and our newest addition, Serafina. I am happy to say that we are now fully open and operating smoothly!

All of us here at Dream hope that you will consider staying with us again, so that we may provide you a flawless hotel experience and show you why staying at Dream is the best choice you can make when coming to South Beach.

Thanks again for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,

John Walbridge - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The room was very chic, but the complicated lighting failed to make up for the lack of sunshine in sunny Miami. It was also tiny in comparison to the other hotels I visited in Miami at similar price points. The lack of a proper door (it is glass) on the bathroom was also awkward. My biggest complaint was that, upon booking, we were not informed that the pool area was to be closed for the entire day owing to a private party. I had originally booked with the intention of spending my day by the celebrated pool, and in retrospect I should have cancelled my reservation upon check-in and found someplace more accommodating. For $350, I would expect use of the standard facilities advertised.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I would like to offer my sincerest apologies that you were not able to enjoy the pool due to the private party during your stay. Here at Dream, we work to accommodate all of our guests to make sure they are having the best experience possible, and it is unfortunate when the enjoyment of some guests negatively impacts others.

I would love a chance to speak with your directly about your stay, and hopefully you will allow me the chance to restore your faith in us. I may be contacted at: 305-673-4747, or johnwalbridge@dreamsouthbeach.com.

Thank you again for your comments, and I hope to be able to speak with you soon! Take care!

Sincerely,

John Walbridge - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Dream South Beach is the place to stay if you are looking for a well-located, off-beach hotel. The design is fantastic (although lighting in the rooms, although ultra cool, is confusing at first). The pool is an excellent roof-top oasis and the restaurant is very legitimate.

The walk to the beach is very easy by the way.

Room Tip: elevators are a bit slow so 2 floor would be ideal. the stairway is nicely appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your nice comments. We are so pleased that you were able to enjoy our location and the super easy access to the beautiful beach! We really appreciate your business and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The bed is great, fine sheets, comfortable and great pillows. Being able to sleep on vacation is important for me and the room is designed for sleep, or at least for stying in bed. The room is dark with the lights on as high as possible. Don't plan to spend time in the room unless you plan to stay in bed. Our room was small and a bit overdesigned as with trendy hotels.

Great rooftop pool and sitting areas, and nice staff.

Maintenance in the hotel is poor considering that the hotel is fairly new, our bathroom door would only open half way, an obvious problem that housekeeping should have but did not address. The hand dryer in the restroom at the pool was broken and the soap dispensers were both empty, for four days, the pool tempearature was up and down.
Overall the stay was nice, but I probably would not return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Dream and sharing your experiences with us. I would like to offer my apologies that you experienced some issues with the condition of the public areas. Here at Dream, we hold ourselves to very high standards, and we take it seriously when we fail in an area such as this.

I would love a chance to speak with you directly about your stay, and hopefully you will allow me the chance to restore your faith in us. I may be contacted at: 305-673-474, or johnwalbridge@dreamsouthbeach.com.

Thank you again for staying with us, and I hope to speak with you soon!

Sincerely,

John Walbridge - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed here for 7 days when I was down in FL for a conference. It was a nice boutique hotel and in a great location - near restaurants, shops, nightlife and a block from the beach. The rooms were super dark and there is no business center so I don't recommend it for business travel. I would definitely return for a personal vacation though. The rooms are super trendy and the rooftop pool was amazing. There is a restaurant in the lobby but I never ate there during the visit - it was never really that crowded so I am not sure how long it will survive.

The hotel was clean and the service was excellent. Note, check in is in one building but you may stay right across which is no big deal - gave me a glass of champagne when I checked in which was nice. Also watch, because there is a daily resort credit that is charged no matter if you use the beach/rooftop pool.

Note - No gym - have to use Crunch down the block which costs $20/visit.

Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us, and your nice recommendation! We agree with you 100% about our rooftop pool and lounge - it is awesome up there and the best way to relax in true South Beach style. We are all smiles knowing that you we were able to provide you with excellent service and that you could enjoy a nice glass of champagne during your check in. Thanks again for choosing Dream, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

the hotel is in a great location right in the middle of everything in sobe. that is about where the magic stops. the rooms are very small, I've been in cruise ship rooms bigger. the walls super thin
which makes sleeping in almost impossible. not to mention that you can hear everyones bathroom schedule (unless your into that kind of thing)

with the second tower rooftop bar be ready for a music filled night till about 2 am which is early for sobe. but chances are if your staying this close to the club's then, your out anyway.. also if you do stay here and they put you next to the elevator run as far as you can back to the front desk and change rooms trust me.... trust me. all in all would I stay here again... no. with the area so small and plenty of cabs I would choose a higher quality hotel with better amenities and sound proofing. and just cab it anywhere else

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Dream for your trip to South Beach! We are very happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our prime location - you really can't get any better than the heart of South Beach!

It is disappointing to hear that you were disturbed by outside noise during your stay and that you were not able to relax as much as you had planned. All of us here at Dream would love a chance to welcome you back and ensure that you have an outstanding experience! Thank you for your business, and until the next time, take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dream South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream South Beach

Address: 1111 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream South Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your loftiest dreams become a reality when you step foot in the art deco-inspired haven that is Dream South Beach. Located on Collins Avenue, our hotel is surrounded by stylish boutiques, the hottest clubs and is just 50 yards from pristine white sand beaches. Right next door is another fashionable address, once known as the famed Versace Mansion. Hospitality is reinvented at our luxury hotel in South Beach. Art Deco style meets French Moroccan chic, at Dream South Beach, which boasts 108 guestrooms and suites designed by Michael Czysz with modern amenities such as large flat screen TVs, high-speed Wi-Fi for a fee, fully-stocked minibars, Etro bath amenities and much more. While here, be immersed in late 70's poolside glamour at our rooftop pool and lounge, indulge in Mexican fare at Naked Taco, slip into ecstasy with a relaxing spa treatment, and enjoy an atmosphere that is both cosmopolitan and comfortable. For a stunning nightlife experience, head up to Highbar by the rooftop pool lounge and sample creative concoctions while taking in the Miami skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Dream South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.