We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Location to be on South Beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dream South Beach

Save Saved
You added Dream South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dream South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 10%
Ranked #41 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Location to be on South Beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel. actually two buildings adjoining is unique from an Art Deco perspective. The rooms, while much smaller than most North American hotels, are exquisitley detailed. The ambience of the room lighting as well as the shower and the bathroom facilities are outstanding. The plate glass doors to the shower and toilet while not affording privacy from a room mate, are high quality. The restaurants on Ocean Ave are just one block away. South Beach is a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
We agree with you 100% - our location here is South Beach is awesome! Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your comments. All of us here at Dream hope to welcome you both back again very soon. So, until then, take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    670
    432
    125
    49
    17
See reviews for
57
799
78
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Bermuda
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were really blown away by the interior design of this hotel. A lot of attention had been paid to detail and made this anything but a cookie cutter hotel that could be anywhere in the world. The rooftop pool and bar were very cool and a great place to start the evening off with a couple of cocktails. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room, a duplex sun suite that we were lucky enough to be upgraded to upon arrival, was comfortable and stylish, albeit that the shades and lighting system made it difficult to immediately know what time of the day it was - I found the lack of natural light a little bit disorientating. I had read comments about the glass walls to the bathroom - and agree that an optional screen or a little bit of frosting would be nice for all but the most exhibitionist of bathroom-goers. Overall, I would say there was definitely a "wow" factor to our stay at this hotel, but if I was going to stay for longer than 2 nights, I would rather have had a room with plenty of natural light.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us! We love hearing that you were able to interact with our friendly staff and get to enjoy some delicious drinks up on our rooftop. We really appreciate your business and hope to see you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

The Dream South Beach is pretty much just that without using hyperbole. From check in to check out it is everything that you would want and expect in a hotel. Unlike many others they have not forgotten what hospitality is all about. From front desk staff to bellhop to valet, you're greeted with smiles and friendly faces.
A pivotal moment comes when you enter the room and encounter the lighting panel. However, the great staff delivering your baggage will give you a brief explanation. Intimidation fades away and a sense of control sets in. This should not be taken lightly (pun intended!) Mastering the lighting schemes will help you set the mood and atmosphere for your stay. However, it's not all lights and mirrors (although the mirrors do have lights.)
You will then start to notice the minimalist design of the room- however that doesn't mean lacking.
Unless you are traveling very heavy, you will find more than enough storage room for your things. You will find robes and slippers and you will find more than enough towels. You will also find an almost overstocked snack tray and refrigerator.
There are a few things you won't find: More than one hook in the bathroom, more than one small pain of glass at the shower entrance, privacy for using the toilet or much of a view from the windows. However, you will find that you don't mind any of this, especially once you've had an amazing night's sleep in the most comfortable bed you ever laid on in a hotel!
You'll also want to make sure that you taken advantage of the rooftop. What you will find there is a bar, a 3 foot deep heated infinity pool to enjoy some amazing Mojitos or specialty drinks and a great lounge area with amazing views of both the ocean at sunset as well as the vibrant scene on Collins Avenue. Whether you decide to lounge on a chair, couch or bed the great staff will take care of your every need.
By the time you check out you'll realize it was not a dream, it was real and you'll be very happy it was.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Very awesome! Thank you so much for your outstanding review, detailed feedback, and great recommendation! All of us here at Dream were so happy to be able to take care of you and make sure you stay was extra special. We would love to be your new favorite hotel in the world, and look forward to welcoming you back again and again. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everywhere
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The main reason to stay at this hotel is for the location, which is pretty amazing. Located right on the famed Collins Avenue, it is nestled near the beach (as in walking distance) and right in the heart of shopping, restaurants and bars. If you are in Miami to party, party, party and get some beachtime, this is the place to stay.

Cons are the thin, thin walls (I literally heard the people in the room next to me arguing and could hear every person that walked up and down the halls); restaurant was under construction so it ran out of a few menu options and there was some noise; rooms were slightly dark. Also, no gym onsite, so you have to go down the block to a gym they have a deal with.

Benefits were great location, attentive staff, great rooftop bar and pool, trendy room design and full service spa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We are very happy that you were able to enjoy or perfect location here in South Beach!

I am sorry that you were disrupted by loud neighbors, and that you were not able to fully enjoy the restaurant. It is currently in transition to becoming Serafina, so hopefully you will stay with us again and be able to enjoy their delicious menu creations!

Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Before you read this review - I know how it is difficult to pick up the right hotel especially in the place you have never visited before and no one to ask! It took me a while, but if you plan to spend just a dedicated amount of time in Miami with all happening around your corner - go for this one!
You have an easy access to beach, restaurants, night clubs, shops! I was slightly confused about the noise you get in the room, as it is not very well isolated, but well....who wants to stay all the time in the hotel room while in Miami?? After several considerations I simply ignored that "noise aspect" and really enjoyed my stay at the hotel. The room was spacious, with absolutely comfy bed. You certainly have to spend time on the rooftop pool area: way relaxing and refreshing! Special thanks to the music selection. Important to notice, If you plan to be with someone who is not your significant other, do consider twice or make a special request, as the bathroom/shower doors are made out of glass!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your great review! We totally agree that our location is beyond perfect! We are also so happy that you were able to enjoy our rooftop pool and lounge, and relax to the great music. Thank you for your business, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Excellent hotel, outstanding in all aspects, great staff, with beautiful destination rooftop pool and spa. Hotel is a stone’s throw from the beach, but set back from ultra-noisy Ocean Drive. Wonderful location, quiet but central.

2 week stay in November, we had fantastic weather, 27 degrees every day and not a drop of rain!

The Shala Spa was great, Jennifer is an extremely gifted holistic ayurvedic masage therapist, the best I’ve ever been to, in 15 years of sampling various different spa treatments in the uk and globally. I expect she’ll be a personal holistic guru to the A-list one day! The massage table is encased in some kind of mega-comfy sumptuous sheet (5000 billion egyptian cotton thread count, no doubt! mixed with satin, wow!! I wish I had this at home!)

The hotel rooms are small but ultra-beautiful design concept, romantic atmosphere with blue mood lighting and fantastic large shower room with fabulous ‘etro’ products, very young and funky. Wardrobe, as expected, was small, but my request for 20 extra hangars was swiftly granted. The mattress and pillow were ultra-comfy, ideally I’d like to have these back home as well! Best 2 weeks sleep of my life!

Throughout our stay our every need was catered for, we requested some extra space in our fridge, and Joseph appeared instants later, with an entire extra fridge! Brilliant customer service, which you would never get in a British hotel!

We requested a quiet room away from the lift on a high floor, near to the pool, and this was granted, and John at the Front Desk was consistently wonderful and charming throughout our 2-week stay. Jennifer at the Front Desk was also helpful, and between the two of them, they resolved our only major issue during the stay, which was our astronomical phone bill (future guests be aware: one 15-minute call from the hotel to the bank in UK will set you back $250!! top tip: buy a phonecard instead!)

The guys who handled our luggage were extremely good, polite and always service with a smile, (despite our having 6 ultra-heavy suitcases!) Maids kept the room beautifully clean and refreshed, loving the gold pyramid chocolates! Pool staff were also extremely hardworking and upbeat!

We preferred the pool during the week as at weekends it was busier and the music got much more loud and hectic! But it was definitely a great taste of the special magical Miami ambience at all times!

Wendy at the Concierge Desk was also very helpful, with great attention to detail, no wonder she won ‘Concierge of the Year’ award! Oscar too helped us with excursions. There are some great attractions in Miami: Star Island Boat Trip, Vizcaya Mansions (4 cats there! Yes!! and some beautiful orchids! as well as many fashion shoots), Barton G Restaurant (inside Gianni Versace’s Mansion, pricey but great for a special occasion / romantic night out) and of course the amazing giant sandy beach!!!

Next time we’ll definitely do the day trip to the Bahamas (£100 each), includes a 2-hour boat trip each way. I’ve heard there’s tax-free shopping there!

Try the ugly burger at Dream Hotel’s own restaurant ‘Tudor House’ - it’s the best burger we’ve ever tasted!! We even had to get an extra one to eat on the taxi en route to the airport. (I’m veggie 90% of the time, but even I had to concede this was one DELICIOUS burger!) If you want to watch your waistline try the lush watermelon and feta cheese micro-salad, (it’s like the best canape you’ve ever had!! even better than the Maldives!) Tiny portion, but perfect if you aspire to be like the size zero white-bikini uberbabes around the pool!

Beyond the hotel, Good value cheap eats and veggie options were Pasha’s (Lincoln Road Alfresco Shopping Mall), Pizza Rustica, West Avenue Cafe (near Mondrian Hotel = a way out, so get it delivered!) and Jerry’s Deli (Collins Avenue, open 24 hours, eat in Art Deco splendour with the biggest menu choice on earth!) Best Eggs Benedict in town was Hotel Cardozo (owned by Gloria Estefan), great service too!

If you like mood lighting, great spas, being right near the beach, with 5-star quality at 4-star prices, definitely check out this hotel!

Claridge’s in London (one of Princess Diana’s old haunts) and Miami Dream South Beach are now my official top fave hotels! We hope to return very soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
WOW! Thank you so much for your awesome review! All of us here at Dream had such a fun time taking care of you both and making sure you had a fabulous stay. We really appreciate your kind words about our staff - they love what they do, and it really puts a smile on their face to see that they were mentioned. We hope to be your new favorite hotel, and can't wait to welcome you back. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The hotel was in a good location near the beach and lots of restaurants. We stayed for a couple of nights at the end of our trip and enjoyed our stay. The pool area was really nice as was the rest of the rooftop bar area.

The room was quite small and also quite dark, and we found it strange to have see through doors to the toilet and shower. But the bed was very comfortable.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your feedback! We are so pleased that you got to enjoy our awesome rooftop pool and relax in style. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dream South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream South Beach

Address: 1111 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#49 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream South Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your loftiest dreams become a reality when you step foot in the art deco-inspired haven that is Dream South Beach. Located on Collins Avenue, our hotel is surrounded by stylish boutiques, the hottest clubs and is just 50 yards from pristine white sand beaches. Right next door is another fashionable address, once known as the famed Versace Mansion. Hospitality is reinvented at our luxury hotel in South Beach. Art Deco style meets French Moroccan chic, at Dream South Beach, which boasts 108 guestrooms and suites designed by Michael Czysz with modern amenities such as large flat screen TVs, high-speed Wi-Fi for a fee, fully-stocked minibars, Etro bath amenities and much more. While here, be immersed in late 70's poolside glamour at our rooftop pool and lounge, indulge in Mexican fare at Naked Taco, slip into ecstasy with a relaxing spa treatment, and enjoy an atmosphere that is both cosmopolitan and comfortable. For a stunning nightlife experience, head up to Highbar by the rooftop pool lounge and sample creative concoctions while taking in the Miami skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Splendia, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Dream South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.