We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating! Highly Recommend!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Deco Private Walking Tour

Art Deco Private Walking Tour
10th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Flamingo / Lummus)
+1 305-814-4058
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$65*
and up
Ranked #7 of 128 Activities in Miami Beach
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Take the #1 walking tour in South Beach with the most popular tour guides in the district. Art Deco Tours, Inc., Will enlighten and entertain you with fascinating facts and stories. Two hours will fly by fast. Stroll along Ocean Drive and learn about the history, the unlikely hero who saved the Art Deco buildings, the role of Miami Vice and Hollywood and other pop culture. You'll admire the architecture from the outside and design & decor on the inside. No bumping elbows in a packed group. Daily small group tours (max 8-9 people) are offered several times a day. Or get the VIP treatment with a private tour with exclusive access to select buildings not permitted to large groups. Your guides will keep you engaged with lively conversation and trivia! Enrich your visit and learn about the culture, history and architecture of South Beach beyond the beaches!
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
“Fascinating! Highly Recommend!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014 NEW

Art Deco Tours is a wonderful, fun, educational experience. Our guide, Christine, was absolutely delightful and extremely knowledgeable. As part of our industry's annual meeting, a separate outing is planned for member spouses. Art Deco Tours was highly recommended by a business associate and it was an excellent choice. We visited several beautiful hotels and learned a lot about the history of Art Deco design and architecture as well as interesting stories. Wear comfortable shoes (not a extreme amount of walking but on your feet for about 2.25 hours) and bring your camera. Next time I'm in Florida whether for business or pleasure, I am going to go on another one of their tours. I plan on recommending this to all my friends that visit the Miami area as a must do activity.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    467
    59
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Educational and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

In just 2 1/2 hours, we learned the history of Miami beach, Art Deco architecture, the people behind the Art Deco movement, interesting stories of the famous and infamous, and in the end saw the art deco district in a whole new light. Highly recommend this tour.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We did this tour yesterday and had a great time. My wife is pregnant and we wanted to get away from the typical South Beach scene. Being that she is into architecture and interior design, this seemed to fit the bill. Our guide, Calvin, was very knowledgeable and entertaining. There is a lot to learn about the Art Deco style and the buildings that have been in Miami Beach since the 1920s. If you are looking for something other than booze and house music, I would strongly suggest this tour. There is a lot to learn.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Getting to know South Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

We booked an Art Deco walking tour by phone prior to our trip. The person we spoke with asked us questions about what things we were interested in. We explained that we had some experience with art deco and were looking for a bit more history of the area. She indicated that she thought Calvin would be the best guide for us. Was she ever correct! We thoroughly enjoyed our two hours plus with Calvin. He knows every nook and cranny of South Beach and its history. What stories he shared with us! We loved going into the different spaces and seeing and learning things one would never get just wandering along. Calvin's love and knowledge of the area is really impressive. Our only regret was that we could make it an all day event as we were sure that there are a lot more fun things to learn about the area. Calvin was very enthusiastic about all the company's tours. We are sure about the "art deco" tour with Calvin. Don't miss it.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant private tour of Miami's Art Deco gems”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

James Cuddy was our guide and what a brilliant guide he was (took the afternoon tour). Walking us through some of the Art Deco gems of Miami Beach, James was able to showcase his extensive knowledge of the area, peppered with his personal stories.

Highly recommend.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Art Deco Private Walking Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Deco Private Walking Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.