We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great history of South Beach and Art Deco Design” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Deco Private Walking Tour

Art Deco Private Walking Tour
10th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Flamingo / Lummus)
+1 305-814-4058
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 115 activities in Miami Beach
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Take the #1 walking tour in South Beach with the most popular tour guides in the district. Art Deco Tours, Inc., Will enlighten and entertain you with fascinating facts and stories. Two hours will fly by fast. Stroll along Ocean Drive and learn about the history, the unlikely hero who saved the Art Deco buildings, the role of Miami Vice and Hollywood and other pop culture. You'll admire the architecture from the outside and design & decor on the inside. No bumping elbows in a packed group. Daily small group tours (max 8-9 people) are offered several times a day. Or get the VIP treatment with a private tour with exclusive access to select buildings not permitted to large groups. Your guides will keep you engaged with lively conversation and trivia! Enrich your visit and learn about the culture, history and architecture of South Beach beyond the beaches!
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great history of South Beach and Art Deco Design”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our family recently enjoyed a tour with Robert. He provided a great overall historical review of the area from its early beginnings through to today as well as showcasing many great examples of the art deco architectural style. I particularly enjoyed the access to roof top patios and lobby areas that you normally wouldn't see if you were sightseeing on your own. I learned a lot about the area that I wouldn't otherwise have known. Thanks to Robert for a great tour!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    58
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great South Beach hotel tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Highly recommended for both visitors and locals. Reasonable price and good value.
Robert, our own personal guide (only 2 of us on this tour) is professional, knowledgeable, and personable and an enthusiastic supporter of Miami Beach. During our 2+ hour walk Robert provided general as well as interesting little details about the buildings that we viewed. Most buildings were observed from the street, but we entered several hotel and business lobbies, where Robert obviously was well-known and liked. The area views from 2 rooftops were especially helpful. Although the emphasis was architecture, Robert provided a lot of social history of Miami Beach, which gave context to the overall tour.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Understanding the Miami Art Deco District”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

South Beach in Miami is a happening place. The Art Deco architecture would not seem to fit into the stereotypical beach scene, but here it really gives the area it's own character. Taking a tour explains how all of this came to be. I thought the Miami Design Preservation League tour was excellent. Our guide Jeff was smart, personable and extremely knowledgable. I recommend this tour.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a Delightful and Informative Afternoon in Miami Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed being part of a four person Art Deco tour of Miami Beach with John as our guide. We learned so much and loved being on rooftops of hotels, hearing the fascinating history of Miami Beach, and seeing the many aspects of Art Deco hotels.

John is an articulate, knowledgeable guide with tons of energy and a great sense of humor.
The time flew by and we learned a ton!
Keep up the great work!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun and Great Info”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

If you're staying in Miami, you've probably heard the term "Art Deco," but what does that really mean? Our tour guide, John, took us to some neat spots, taught us about art deco, and the history of Miami, while we had a lot of fun!

This tour is also a great intro to the area. John pointed out a few spots for us to check out later. We will definitely return to several places on the tour later in our stay, like the public roof top at the Palmer Hotel.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Art Deco Private Walking Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Deco Private Walking Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Art Deco Private Walking Tour to your Saves list
;