We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and Great Info” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Deco Private Walking Tour

Art Deco Private Walking Tour
10th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Flamingo / Lummus)
+1 305-814-4058
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 114 activities in Miami Beach
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Take the #1 walking tour in South Beach with the most popular tour guides in the district. Art Deco Tours, Inc., Will enlighten and entertain you with fascinating facts and stories. Two hours will fly by fast. Stroll along Ocean Drive and learn about the history, the unlikely hero who saved the Art Deco buildings, the role of Miami Vice and Hollywood and other pop culture. You'll admire the architecture from the outside and design & decor on the inside. No bumping elbows in a packed group. Daily small group tours (max 8-9 people) are offered several times a day. Or get the VIP treatment with a private tour with exclusive access to select buildings not permitted to large groups. Your guides will keep you engaged with lively conversation and trivia! Enrich your visit and learn about the culture, history and architecture of South Beach beyond the beaches!
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun and Great Info”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

If you're staying in Miami, you've probably heard the term "Art Deco," but what does that really mean? Our tour guide, John, took us to some neat spots, taught us about art deco, and the history of Miami, while we had a lot of fun!

This tour is also a great intro to the area. John pointed out a few spots for us to check out later. We will definitely return to several places on the tour later in our stay, like the public roof top at the Palmer Hotel.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    58
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Best Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I've been to Miami many times, have wandered the art deco hotels and really had no idea what it was all about... until this tour! Loved the insight John provided on the history of the area, the cocktails are tasty and the destinations are true gems. I highly recommend this as a unique view of SoBe!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amityville, New York
1 review
“Art Deco Walking Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Marty was great! He was very patient, as traffic delayed us. He was very informative, and the group really enjoyed his stories. They even continued to speak of him, and his tour during the dinner, which means he left a great lasting impression on them! Thank you again, and if my events bring be back to south Florida, I'll be sure to let you know!
Thank you.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Unique experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

It is rare to get to see the Art Deco hotels in a downpour but , in spite of that, John made the experience memorable, informative and great fun. While we were offered a rain check, we chose to continue the tour and our tour guide, in spite of the cold and wet, kept us interested and amused. I have had a place in Miami Beach for 16 years and have gone in and out of many of the hotels on the tour but never knew the history behind them.
I will direct all our visitors to this tour from now on.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An art deco walking tour not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Looking for an art deco walking tour of Miami? Go to artdecotours.com. We had a fantastic tour. Organised by Christine and run by John it far exceeded our expectations. Very small group which enabled us to explore the art deco buildings in detail - including the insides - which is a must but not run by some of the larger group operators. John is a natural tour guide giving an incredible insight into Miami art deco buildings as well as a comparison with the difference in development of UK art deco. It must be on the top of " what to do" list for people visiting Miami.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Art Deco Private Walking Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Deco Private Walking Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Art Deco Private Walking Tour to your Saves list