We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eye opener for art deco!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Deco Private Walking Tour

Art Deco Private Walking Tour
10th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Flamingo / Lummus)
+1 305-814-4058
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 146 Activities in Miami Beach
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Take the #1 walking tour in South Beach with the most popular tour guides in the district. Art Deco Tours, Inc., Will enlighten and entertain you with fascinating facts and stories. Two hours will fly by fast. Stroll along Ocean Drive and learn about the history, the unlikely hero who saved the Art Deco buildings, the role of Miami Vice and Hollywood and other pop culture. You'll admire the architecture from the outside and design & decor on the inside. No bumping elbows in a packed group. Daily small group tours (max 8-9 people) are offered several times a day. Or get the VIP treatment with a private tour with exclusive access to select buildings not permitted to large groups. Your guides will keep you engaged with lively conversation and trivia! Enrich your visit and learn about the culture, history and architecture of South Beach beyond the beaches! Price starts at $30 per person
Hearst
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Eye opener for art deco!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The tour was great and even more informative than we expected. John was very knowledgeable on Miami's history and architecture. The pace of the tour was excellent. We got to visit the inside of the buildings which is not done by other similar tours. Our party of four will highly recommend this tour to any one we know who will be visiting Miami. In fact, we have recommended it to my wife's sister who is presently vacationing in Miami with her husband.
Learned and saw on the spot proof, that art deco = eyebrows, symmetry, triads and sometimes embellishments.

Guy & Suzanne Rheault
Hearst, On, Canada

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    473
    58
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“An Outstanding Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I asked Christine to conduct a bilingual tour for us and our cousins visiting from Argentina. She did a fabulous job. We had seen many of sites before, but Christine provided interesting information at each stop. We realized that while we thought we had seen these sites, we really hadn't, we had missed so much! Christine has contacts at many of the Art Deco hotels along the way and she has access to parts of the hotels not often seen by the tourist.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I was not overly excited about taking the art deco tour but I was so impressed I would do it again. Christine had so much enthusiasm and knowledge the 2 hrs flew by

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cool,casual,informative Art Deco Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Very pleasant,casual, and informative tour including interesting chronological history of Art Deco from Paris to NYC to South Beach! Also history of Miami Beach and Miami and how Art Deco was born, decayed, and was reborn!Specific architectural explanations of design, materials, and restoration techniques! Guide was very educated and accurate also and freely admitted what he did not know and was receptive to all questions. Kudos to this tour! Worth every penny and minute! Also the walk was short w stops so anyone can do it easily!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We very much enjoyed this tour with Robert, who not only pointed out the architectural features of the Art Deco buildings, but explained the history of the area from its founding through the present day. When the rest of us were watching Miami Vice, Robert was living through those days, meeting celebrities as well as less savory characters. His personal stories were a fascinating addition to the tour. He was charming and knowledgeable and even did his best to keep our 14-year-old son engaged (who claimed that he was bored on the tour, but on the way out, I pointed at a building and asked him to tell me why it was Art Deco, and he was able to identify every single feature that Robert had taught us about!). I highly recommend this to anyone interested in Art Deco architecture and the history of Miami Beach.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Art Deco Private Walking Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Deco Private Walking Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.