We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Deco Private Walking Tour

Art Deco Private Walking Tour
10th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Flamingo / Lummus)
+1 305-814-4058
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #6 of 121 Activities in Miami Beach
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Take the #1 walking tour in South Beach with the most popular tour guides in the district. Art Deco Tours, Inc., Will enlighten and entertain you with fascinating facts and stories. Two hours will fly by fast. Stroll along Ocean Drive and learn about the history, the unlikely hero who saved the Art Deco buildings, the role of Miami Vice and Hollywood and other pop culture. You'll admire the architecture from the outside and design & decor on the inside. No bumping elbows in a packed group. Daily small group tours (max 8-9 people) are offered several times a day. Or get the VIP treatment with a private tour with exclusive access to select buildings not permitted to large groups. Your guides will keep you engaged with lively conversation and trivia! Enrich your visit and learn about the culture, history and architecture of South Beach beyond the beaches!
West Orange, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We very much enjoyed this tour with Robert, who not only pointed out the architectural features of the Art Deco buildings, but explained the history of the area from its founding through the present day. When the rest of us were watching Miami Vice, Robert was living through those days, meeting celebrities as well as less savory characters. His personal stories were a fascinating addition to the tour. He was charming and knowledgeable and even did his best to keep our 14-year-old son engaged (who claimed that he was bored on the tour, but on the way out, I pointed at a building and asked him to tell me why it was Art Deco, and he was able to identify every single feature that Robert had taught us about!). I highly recommend this to anyone interested in Art Deco architecture and the history of Miami Beach.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    59
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrific crash course on South Beach architecture and history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My wife and I had a great time on our Art Deco Walking Tour. Neither of us had ever been to South Beach before and we found this to be a great way to quickly get a deeper feel for the place, the architecture and the history. Our guide, John, did a great job telling us the stories with both humor and intrigue. On top of knowing his stuff cold, he's also a really great, interesting guy. I strongly recommend the walk to anyone who wants to know more about South Beach in a fun and interesting format.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great way to spend the day in Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Went on this tour during the winter and was not disappointed. The guide packed our day with anecdotes and facts and we got access to all manner of rooftops, lounges, and great art deco sights. Would probably do again next time I'm in town. Entertaining and educational.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Walking Tour of Art Deco Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My family and I really enjoyed our walking tour. We have family living in the Miami area and thought we knew alot about the Art Deco Buildings. Well... Robert was our tour guide and we really learned quite a bit more than we expected. We paid alittle extra for a private tour that included just our family and it was worth it. Highly recommend the tour for anyone interested in understanding the history of the South Beach Area!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh, pa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This is the first thing you should do when you arrive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This tour was well planned and very organized. I communicated with Christine, the owner, by text and email, it was very easy. Our guide, a musician, was funny and really good with people. Not only did we learned a ton about Art Deco but came away with a great appreciation for the history of the area. After the tour we took notice of the buildings on the island more and it really added to our trip experience....highly recommend.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Art Deco Private Walking Tour also viewed

 

Been to Art Deco Private Walking Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Deco Private Walking Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.