We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fit for a dog” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Barbara South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Barbara South Beach to your Saves list
Santa Barbara South Beach
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   230 20th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33137 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
“Not fit for a dog”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I made a last minute reservation to attend a conference in Miami Beach, and this was one of the few reasonable properties available on Travelocity. I think the travel services should de-list it.

The place was clearly run down, but I did not have time to change rooms the first night. Front desk is unhelpful at best, if there is anyone there at all.

The place looks like it is ready to be demolished, and probably should be. The only working light fixture was the one overhead light, which was full of dead bugs. Air-conditioning was making noise, but basically non-functional. Water damage all over the room.
There was a two inch gap under the door, where just about any small vermin could slip in. In the middle of the night, larger vermin, who, apparently had a key, tried to come in. Fortunately, I had slid the bolt. I did not sleep the rest of the night.

The bed was broken, and the mattress was worn out. Surprisingly, I did not find any bed bugs under it. (I would have slept in the car.)
Frankly, I would not kennel my dog in the place. Spend the extra $50/night and stay somewhere, anywhere else.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    3
    2
    20
See reviews for
3
6
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

This place was on Expedia for an ok rate but when we arrived the rooms were in very bad shape the matters is similar to a mat you would sleep on in jail ! Management is rude they act as if they are doing you a huge favor by even letting you stay there in one of there outdated broken down rooms I was moved because I had no hot water then the next room had slightly warm water air conditioner was broken so they put an actual plug in fan in the room if you ask for better service or towels the managment acts as if your annoying them , I think this place should be remodeled or knocked down

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

I am embarrassed to say we stayed here as American Airlines dumped us in Miami for an unexpected overnight stay. We would have preferred to have slept on a park or airport bench it was that bad. Thinking of it makes me feel sick. The bed was terrible (we did check it before we got in it!) but surprisingly was bug free. The air conditioning worked but was like a jet engine. We kept our shoes off the floor and a chair at the door just in case the room was raided overnight. Do not even think of staying here!!!!!!!! We left very early morning to wait at the airport as this was preferable to staying in the room.

Room Tip: You cannot add to terrible - I didn't want to rate it at all...........................
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba, Spain
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

I did a Reservation last minute when arrived Miami, look for a decent Miami beach Hotel
Sorprised when arrived, that a regular motel rate of no more tan U$ 50 is the category of this hotel
If you want to sleep can do after 3:00AM, when the disco place in the back ends the loud sound in their music
As I am alone, cannot hear the TV, because the AC noise, so you watch TV warm, or see only TV cold
Can entertainment talking with the cockroaches in the room.
As I didn´t saw the previous comments, I come, and looked the level of the guests, no tourists at all, just depresive level, same as a low low hostel
All the same comments about Service, room cleaning, towel replacement, are in the previous guests comments
Definitly, don´t book this hotel if you don´t want to feel frauded

Room Tip: Go to another Hotel, Dont come to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

If you could rate a hotel with no stars this one would get no stars. The room comes with nothing other than a TV. No place to hang anything. No cups, glasses, nothing. I suffered for three days here and never had my room cleaned. This has to be the worst hotel in all of South Beach. Never ever stay here.

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

We saw at least 5 cockroaches in our room. I couldn't sleep because I kept feeling insects over my body. Room was hot and I couldn't turn on the AC because it smelt like a dead animal. Ceiling light didn't work. Bathroom was gross, dirty, cheap, not updated in maybe 30 years. The only upgrades this place made was a flat screen tv, which we never used once. The room did not look like anything in the pictures, I would absolutely not recommend this hotel which is more of a motel. Don't stay here, even if it's free, it's worth to spend $30-50 more and stay at a boutique hotel on Collins or Ocean in the teens.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

I don't know where I should start: I booked this Hotel through Expedia. my mistake don't look at previews reviews. The receptionist was not friendly from the beginning push me to wait until 3:00 pm to check in and I arrived 30 minutes before, and asking all the time if I was sure to keep the reservation because after my card swiped there is not refund.
This hotel is falling into pieces and has roaches all over the place, they were inside of the little refrigerator, the door was broken even worse.
They don’t have daily clean service, After my request a guy came around 8:pm to do some cleaning in the bathroom. That’ s all. After 3 days there.

My room, no lights bulbs in 2 of the 3 lamps, the blind was broken They don’t replace even the paper toilette.

I went by the holidays I couldn’t find any better price and it was not that cheap around 120 buck per night. If you can spent I little more choice another one. Please do. Good luck travelers.

Room Tip: The only good is the TV 32" good cable TV if you are near to the reception you will get a decen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Barbara South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara South Beach

Address: 230 20th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33137
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Santa Barbara South Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location! Location! Location! Santa Barbara is conveniently located in the heart of South Beach. On Collins Avenue, steps from the beach, nightlife, shopping and Art Deco district. Our property will great you with basic amenities and friendliest guest service. Please visit us if you are looking for affordable accommodations in the hottest part of town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and HostelBookers so you can book your Santa Barbara South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Barbara South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.