We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Townhouse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Townhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Townhouse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 20th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I won't say this was a great hotel, it's not. The rooms are small and if the extremely bare look appeals to you, you might even like them. To us it looked way too austere, reminding us of hospital rooms. I don't think they look like the pictures.
But that's just the room, somewhere you hopefully won't be spending too much time anyway.
The location is great, on Collin's avenue. You can walk to Ocean Drive and tons of restaurants and hotels (Try La Sandwicherie!). The beach is practically under the hotel, it's that close. Service is quick and efficient. Beach umbrellas, chairs and bikes are available to rent. Free beach towels and Wifi. We went up to the rooftop when it was empty-the view isn't much, though.
Breakfast was better than expected. The extra star is for the freshly squeezed orange juice!

Room Tip: Try to get the penthouse rooms if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    349
    151
    50
    39
See reviews for
86
422
43
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As two 20 year old girls, we began a 6 week trip around South America with a two night stopover in Miami, USA and were not at all disappointed by Townhouse! The hotel is easy to find from 22nd Street bus stop on the 150 Miami Beach airport flyer and it's less than a 5 minute walk. It's also less than 5 minutes to the beach and the hotel provided us with beach towels, even after we had checked out. On arrival, we were greeted by friendly staff who set the precedent for all the staff we encountered during our stay. The room was large and comfortable, the decoration is minimalist but pretty and the bedroom and shower room were very clean. We were very impressed with the Parisian breakfast that is included in the already very reasonable price of the room, they had bagels, muffins, baguettes, jams, boiled eggs, cereals, fruit and yoghurts which is more than enough to set you up for a busy day exploring Miami. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend, especially if you are looking for somewhere that is close to the beach and great value!

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very close to the beach and a short walk to Lincoln Road. Free beach towels, friendly staff, clean rooms that are open and airy. Very comfortable beds. Very simple free breakfast. Bagels, fruit, muffins, cereal. I recommend.

Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I visited this hotel the week after Memorial Day back in May 2012. It was quiet, I guess after everyone left after the holiday the area needed to calm down! But I did not mind, it was great. The swings on the porch are nice and the view from the rooftop was beautiful! I definitely want to go back!

Stayed June 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is very bare bones, but serves the purpose. It's close to the beach - like literally you go down the stairs, turn right and walk a few feet and viola; you're there. They offer you a complimentary breakfast, again nothing fancy but at least it's something.

Cons
Our bathroom had a clog in the sink and in the tub. Not a pleasant experience when you're washing off from being at the beach.
The walls are extremely thin. Our neighbor partied until 3am in the morning. Wonderful!
They charge you for beach chairs - should be complimentary

Pros
Clean room
Antone was extremely pleasant when checking-in
Close to the beach

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

About a week ago I went on a girls trip to Miami and we stayed here. When we booked the room, the pictures they have up on their website looked amazing. However, once we got there...we were so disappointed. It literally looked like a Hostel!! It ruined our mood because it was nothing like what the pictures look like. The bathroom was nasty that we had to wear flip flops when we took a shower. The water was not draining properly...the elevator was slow so we always took the stairs (even with our luggage). The staff is rude and lazy...we called the front desk once for towels and they said we had to go down and get them ourselves. The next time we tried to call...the phone was not working. They say they have a rooftop bar...yes, they are right about that...however, it's never open. They said they closed it until new management. Be careful with valet, because they ask for your room number only. They do not ask for the actual ticket, hence someone can take your car and the staff will put their hands up in the air and probably take no liability for your loss. We put water bottles in the fridge and a few hours later... they just did not get cold. So we called the staff to come look at it. A guy came and basically looked at us as if we were stupid and said "the bottles are cold." Then he later states that this is not really a fridge. Then he states that the top part of the fridge is not working. So.....who is the stupid one now. I agree there are a bunch of people in this world that are stupid and a bunch that are smart....but someone in there late 20's will know the difference between hot, cold and warm. My advice would be to pay a little more and stay at a cleaner and safer hotel nearby...there are loads of hotel choices around. Don't ruin your trip because as much as we say that we will not be in the hotel...lets be real..everyone wants a clean place to shower and a nice bed to sleep on. Peace!

Room Tip: Listen to the reviews on this...we regret not doing it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Townhouse is located on 20th Street, it is a few blocks walk from Lincoln Road Mall and the chops located on Collins Avenue. It is also right by the beach and a short walk to Ocean Drive, the Art Deco centre of Miami. My boyfirend and i spent 3 nights in a double room. The room was clean and there was enough space for us to lay out our suitcases and clothing and not feel cramped, the space was great. The bathroom was also clean, not shabby and towel provided were of a good quality. For South Beach and the location the price was very affordable. What I would say is there are a few things you should know whilst staying here, parking your car will cost you $36 per day until 2pm each day via valet. The valet is pretty slow each time we wanted our car and expected a tip. The rooftop is nice to sit and read your book or take your own purchased drinks up, but the bar is not in service and hasn't been opening for a long time, so do not expect that there are parties on the roof. The breakfast includes hard boiled eggs, toast, bagels, croissants, cereal, fruit, juice, tea and coffee - which is great, certainly other hotels which are more expensive do not offer any breakfast. What I would say is that breakfast is served each day in their basement former bar/club, which has black walls and furniture. It seems a bit weird to be honest, it would be much better served on the rooftop. Overall given the price, location and good clean state of the rooms I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel

Address: 150 20th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#54 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#66 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Kept Secret on The BeachConceived as a cool, fun and fresh retreat by owner Jonathan Morr, Townhouse offers a playful combination of modern design and old-fashioned comfort. Situated in the midst of South Beach and only steps away from the ocean, Townhouse provides guestswith a sleek and sexy hideaway for a weekend getaway or long retreat.Townhouse features 69 rooms affering fresh-cleanexciting design. The hotel offers free WI-Fi and complimentary breakfast served daily in the Pantry.The outdoor rooftop terrace offers a luxurious-yet simple design. At night the rooftop transforms into a lounge-sushi bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Miami Beach
Townhouse Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Townhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.