We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Townhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Townhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Townhouse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 20th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beach hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

This place is made for only sleeping over while spending most of the day on the beach or in town. Rooms are very basic. It was nice to have free coffee and croissant in the morning in the lobby. Shower is very strange and entire bathroom is quite tiny.

Stayed February 2016, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Steeton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Townhouse has a great location towards the top end of South Beach. We stayed for 1 night before a cruise then 3 nights after. Two nights the traffic noise was really bad with horns blaring at the road junction outside, the other two far quieter, but not sure quiet and Miami Beach go together. We walked everywhere and found the hotel close enough to everything we wanted to do in the South Beach area.

Staff very helpful although an issue we highlighted to reception with our shower wasn't resolved whilst we were there.

The rooms are simple but great as a base if like us you are out and about most of the time. As commented on by others there is a mini bar that has cold things in it but won't cool things down. But if you want cold beers and wine there is a supermarket and drinks shop a few blocks away and the fridge kept things cool if they were cold to begin with.

Breakfast was simple but good. Cereal, breads, fruit, jams, cream cheese, hot drinks and juice. Served between 7 and 10.

Free WiFi was good for checking email.

Coffee and water available all the time.

There isn't a bar at the hotel but you can take drinks up to the rooftop (no lift access to this) which I would recommend as a place to chill if steps are not an issue.

The deal breaker for us was the access to the hotel. We had asked in advance about wheelchair access and were told there was a lift to get in (about 10 steps up to the lobby). When we arrived after a long trip from the UK the platform lift was uncovered, switched on and then stopped half way down and stayed there for 45 minutes. This was eventually resolved through a mixture of turning it off and on and jumping on it! We watched it do a full run up and down without any problems before trying it. After that it did work but was very temperamental with further jumping on it to get it moving. We were never confident it was going to get up/down safely. We also had to ask to use it each time we wanted to go in/out which wasn't great.

The accessible room we had was good space wise but if you sat on the shower chair in the bathroom the shower pointed the other direction as it was broke. We highlighted the issue, this wasn't sorted so I had to hold the shower head for the other half when he was sat in there.

Taxis to the hotel from the airport are a flat rate of 35 dollars but there is also the 150 airport flyer bus which drops off and picks up just 2 blocks from the hotel (at Collins Park) We got this back to the airport and at 2.65 dollar's each it was a bargain.

I would have given the Townhouse 5 out of 5 but the access let it down so I had to take this into account. If access was improved I would stay there again, but not as it stands at present.

Happy to answer any questions.

Stayed January 2016, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RedSeaNewbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very good price for a hotel that is that close to the beach, and alot of stores and eating options nearby. Clean hotel with a pretty good breakfast. Wifi was ok at most. The rooftop terass was very nice. Sure, the room we stayed in could use some TLC, but other from that, pretty great

Stayed January 2016, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Danulk14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a very good hotel, nice breakfast, good rooms, it really saved our family after a disappointment with another place near. The staff is great too, very friendly. And there's a rooftop very nice that you should check! I will definitely came back!

Stayed January 2016, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location is key, Collins and 20th. 1 minute walk to the beach. The hotel itself is tired! Rooms are very basic and are in need of an update. Only 1 light was working in the room. Had to call twice to get the TV working. The windows were so dirty, I had to keep the blinds closed for it was that disgusting and out side of the room, it was so noisy, not the hotels fault, just lots of road noise. The bathroom was nice, however the water pressure was basically non existent. The towels were the quality of a motel, thread bare. I did stay for 3 nights and never had my room cleaned till late afternoon of the 3rd day after asking 3 times. Finally had to go to the front desk to get someone up there for fresh towels. Elevator very slow and scary. Several times one has to pull the door closed to get it to go up or down. Not an elevator I would be comfortable in so I usually took the stairs. Continental breakfast was included and was good, good coffee, juice, muffins, bagels, cereal and fresh fruit. I was there over the NYE weekend so the price was right. Like the other reviews, the front desk staff is not outgoing at all, not rude, but looks like they are not wanting to be there. A few times when I was at the front desk, the front desk clerk was on her cell phone clearly on a personal call and had to interrupt her to ask a question...so sorry! Townhouse, please put some money back into the hotel, towels, sheets, furniture, etc. All the other hotels are doing it, why not you?

  • Stayed January 2016, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYTravelerToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I and my boyfriend stayed here for few days at the beginning of the New Year. We appreciated mostly the location, since it is really close to the beach and, in particular, to the kite beach in Miami. For kitesurfers the position is among the best ones in Miami Beach. The hotel is restored, clean and confortable. The air conditioning is a little bit noisy, but we didn't use it so much since the temperature itself was good in January. In the hotel there is not a pool, as in many others in Miami, but actually we didn't care at all, since our life was mostly in the amazing beach all day long. There is a terrace that is quite nice, especially at the sunset, even if it hasn't a view in the ocean. The hotel gives the possibility to check out a little bit later without any further charge, if it is not full. Furthermore, there is a good and secured luggage storage.
In conclusion, we recommend it for active people, who wants to spend sporty days and don't mind to have a short walk in the night to reach ocean drive and the other Miami nightlife attractions.

Stayed January 2016, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015 via mobile

Not a good Value for money.
Front desk people not friendly.
Noisy room, not isolated. shower wasn't cleaned the second day.
I asked for extra towels, I should picked up by myself, by night only the guy at the front desk was available.

Stayed December 2015, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank alpinecharro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Thompson Miami Beach
#5 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,191 reviews
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#85 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 3,530 reviews
Circa 39 Hotel
#45 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
SBH South Beach Hotel
SBH South Beach Hotel
#89 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
Oceanfront
Metropolitan by COMO, Miami Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel

Address: 150 20th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#74 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Kept Secret on The BeachConceived as a cool, fun and fresh retreat by owner Jonathan Morr, Townhouse offers a playful combination of modern design and old-fashioned comfort. Situated in the midst of South Beach and only steps away from the ocean, Townhouse provides guestswith a sleek and sexy hideaway for a weekend getaway or long retreat.Townhouse features 69 rooms affering fresh-cleanexciting design. The hotel offers free WI-Fi and complimentary breakfast served daily in the Pantry.The outdoor rooftop terrace offers a luxurious-yet simple design. At night the rooftop transforms into a lounge-sushi bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Miami Beach
Townhouse Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing