We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very minimal, great location, worth the low price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Townhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Townhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Townhouse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 20th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
“Very minimal, great location, worth the low price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This hotel is very minimal, no furniture in the rooms, but still clean and well decorated to mask the age of the building. I was traveling alone on business and wanted to stay somewhere that I could "experience Miami" when my business for the day was over and this place accomplished that perfectly. As people have stated, the rooms are very loud... I woke up a few times at night thinking I had left a window open, but it was really just the sound coming through the cement walls... Mostly conversations from outdoors and cars honking. By night 2, I had gotten used to it though and slept fine. Breakfast is also very minimal, but they had hard boiled eggs with I loved to satisfy my need for protein and also take a few extra for lunch. Since I was traveling alone so this place worked out great for me. Had I been with someone else, or planned on spending a lot of time in my hotel room, I probably would have opted for a hotel with bigger rooms. Valet parking is really your only option and is $34 a day. The beach is just a few minutes walk and takes you to the very north end of South Beach. All in all, I liked staying here and I'd do it again if traveling alone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    331
    141
    49
    38
See reviews for
81
404
40
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

To me, the hotel rooms are NOT CLEAN! I found hairs a few times...yew.....
WC nooot clean, shower not clean, and floor not clean!
And it is VERY LOUD VERY LATE! (even with earpluggs...)
The hotel is not direct on the beach.
Most of the front desk staff are ok but thats it..Don't ask anything to the other staff..
No pool.
Your not allowed to take food or drinks on their "famous" roof top, so if you stay the afternoon, you have to buy..
It is veeerrryyy cold in the lobby...So take a jaket when you go for "breakfast"...
Most of the time there are not enough places to seat at breakfast..
Breakfast is very simple, no fresh juices, no yogurts, poor...
Ladies, if you were high heels and want to go to clubs...take a taxi....it is not centerd..
Managing team not reactive...
To bad...

Room Tip: The different room i stayed in were not clean and loud!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Location and rooftop bar make this hotel worth the stay. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The rooftop bar is a nice place to enjoy a cocktail in the evening before heading to ocean drive. Old building but what I expected. Room has minimal furnishings but was clean and comfortable.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Hotel was excellent. Room very clean and airy. Staff very friendly and extremely helpful. Near to restaurants and bars. Rooftop bar had just opened so was not very busy. Opens until 3 am. Continental breakfast was good and tea and coffee available all day,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I purchased a 2 night stay at the townhouse at a charity silent auction. When I tried to use it, I was told that the hotel was under new ownership and that they were not sure how they were handling gift certificates. I had to talk to the management before they could book my stay. I am an accountant. I know that the value of the gift certificates is considered a liability when you make the purchase so it is not like they were losing money. I tried to call the manager and got no answer. I left a message and could never get a call back. I could understand if they wanted to limit the days to non-peak periods, but I was trying to use it in off season during the middle of the week which should have been during their lowest occupancy. And they don't even have the decency to return the call to tell me that they wont accept it? I don't know about you, but a hotel that will not even return a call is not one that I would trust to provide good quality service. There are way too many hotels in Miami Beach to have to put up with bad service. The only good out of this was at least my money went to a charity.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

This has to be one of the worst hotels on Miami Beach! Overpriced and under furnished!
This hotel is not on the beach like online pics lead you to believe, nor are there balconies on any room at the hotel. Old building, old furniture and old bathroom.
The free breakfast is served in the lobby, coffee in paper cups, plastic cutlery. Really low class. Only good thing going for it is the location.

Would not recommend to a friend or enemy!

Room Tip: Book another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohegan Lake, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Recently redecorated, clean, bright and the roof bar is killer. Stayed at many hotels in Miami and I really like this place. Right on the beach with their own chairs, umbrella and all. It's near all the south beach action, Lincoln street is 3 blocks. Go for it, now they are fully open you can't beat the place or the price.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel

Address: 150 20th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#63 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Kept Secret on The BeachConceived as a cool, fun and fresh retreat by owner Jonathan Morr, Townhouse offers a playful combination of modern design and old-fashioned comfort. Situated in the midst of South Beach and only steps away from the ocean, Townhouse provides guestswith a sleek and sexy hideaway for a weekend getaway or long retreat.Townhouse features 69 rooms affering fresh-cleanexciting design. The hotel offers free WI-Fi and complimentary breakfast served daily in the Pantry.The outdoor rooftop terrace offers a luxurious-yet simple design. At night the rooftop transforms into a lounge-sushi bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Miami Beach
Townhouse Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Townhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.