We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, great value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Townhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Townhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Townhouse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 20th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful hotel, great value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Great location really close to the beach! The room was big, nice and clean. The hotel is very cute, and we loved the design. The best part about it was the staff that was extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    365
    159
    56
    40
See reviews for
93
442
43
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed in room 212 on 3/1 and 3/2. The location is good and it is close to everything. However, our toilet did not work properly and overflowed everyday!! What a mess. They did send someone up right away to stop the toilet from flooding any more. We requested room service to clean the floors in the bathroom, they did not come until 2pm and I called at 8am!! We couldn't even get them to give us extra towels to clean in ourselves. We had to leave the room and use the restroom in the lobby. On check out I told the man working the desk the toilet was broken again and he did not care he just looked at me. Very disappointing. We come to SOBE often and I will look for other accommodations. It was my birthday trip sorry I went.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

First half - all good. Lovely situation, close to beach and to all of the action. Rooms clean, minimal, well styled. We liked the concept of this place and it seemed like a real value for money alternative to the expense and the glitz that is South Beach. The breakfasts were ample : eggs, bananas, pastries and toast, and the sharing this at long tressle tables at the place where the breakfasts were served meant that you could indulge in conversations with fellow guests if you were up for that at breakfast… The short walk to the beach and the chairs and sun shades that were reserved for the hotel was another bonus, but do be aware that there is an extra charge for this service. The only freebie here is the beach towel hire. The roof terrace is lovely and a great late afternoon, sundown place to relax.

Second half - a bit of a disappointment Our room, a superior, on the fourth floor was quite large with double aspect windows but the bathroom was tiny with a shower that was less than powerful and the thinnest towels this side of a Travel Lodge. The lighting in the room was poor ( but trendy) … Like other posters on this site we found that there were things that didn't work : the closet light for example, and the room make up which didn't happen until 5pm on our first day, and then we were left without towels. On another of our evenings there, the lights fused as i was in the shower and when the guy came to fix it he asked if i had been using the hair dyer as this sometimes trips the lights, apparently! On a couple of mornings, the bananas ran out at breakfast and no fruit was put out as a replacement. How hard can it be to get hold of fruit in this part of Florida??? And, i must admit i think the breakfast coffee would have tasted better out of real cups and not cardboard ones, but perhaps that is is just my own prejudice!

If you want a relatively low cost stay with no real frills but a few disappointments, then this is the place for you in South Beach. We were, overall, happy with our stay there, but had we paid a few dollars more for what we got, I would have felt a bit cheated.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Imagine an attractive decor, red and white, right out of an IKEA warehouse with all the comfort to match? Maybe if you spend all your time on the beach or in the bars and forget about comfort this might be your place. Our room had several problems: a faucet that didn't work, no working entry light, a malfunctioning A/C unit that cut in and out every 10 seconds all night long. The mechanic treated us like idiots when we complained. Get a good night's sleep? Fah-get about it. On the plus side the near beach location was great and so was the rooftop view. Plan to spend big bucks to park your car in this high demand area. With all the options in the world and in the Miami Beach area I wouldn't stay here again and wished I hadn't the first time. Definitely not worth the price. If you don't care about Art Deco, stay up in Ft. Lauderdale where you get more for the rent.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor on anything but south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We were pleased with the Townhouse. We stayed two nights (Saturday & Sunday) and it was about what we expected. The SoBe area is expensive so when you can get a hotel that is somewhat reasonably priced, in a nice area with good service, you should feel pretty lucky. The rooms are smaller (as are most boutique hotels in this area), but very clean. The staff absolutely rocked! There were smiles, accomodations, assistance, everything.
I will say that if you want a super quiet hotel, don't stay there (but what are you thinking when you stay in this area of Miami?!) We had a room that was next to the trash collection lot next door and in the morning, there is clattering noise. You can also hear people coming home at 3 or 4 in the morning in the hallways that aren't quiet. The Wifi is good, the breakfast works and they have bikes and towels to use. We were pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with noise in the morning, don't get a room facing the ocean. (there is a tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

The TownHouse is what everyone says it is – clean, white, bright. But the staff is also some of the nicest most accommodating folks on South Beach. As a very frequent visitor to SoBe I can tell you the properties here are not known for their nice and friends staff’s. Just the opposite. TownHouse is the exception. I had two issues with my room (both of them I caused but we don’t need to go into details do we?) and when I mentioned the issues to the front desk, they very quickly and nicely responded. The maintenance person came within minutes both times, fixed the issue, showed me what was needed to prevent the issue from reoccurring, did not make me feel stupid (which I was), and was so pleasant I felt compelled to give them a tip which they refused.

In terms of some complaints about noise – THIS IS SOUTH BEACH – IT IS NOISY. OK yes, the a/c from the building next door is loud (I call it white noise), but so is the traffic, and party goers on the street! If you want quiet DO NOT STAY ON SOUTH BEACH (or if you do stay way off Collins and Ocean – like at the Mondrian South Beach on West Street – make sure you ask for s balcony room facing the bay). BTW – The more quiet rooms are the even number rooms 02-12 at TownHouse which face 20th. Room 15 which faces south on Collins has the best views but you’ll get more street noise (but it is worth it).

Bottom line – rooms are very clean, staff is very friendly. This is my new place to stay in SoBe and I will recommend to clients and friends.

Room Tip: The more quiet rooms are the even number rooms 02-12 at TownHouse which face 20th. Room 15 which fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We returned to the Townhouse after having a swell time there two years ago, and were expecting the same savvy interior, cool vibe, and energetic staff. Times have changed: the hotel is soooo tired looking, the staff is uninspired, the room's white floors were stained with rust, the room rug was frayed, and the towels were grey. What happened? Even the terrific sushi bar on the lower level of the hotel was out of business. Despite the perfect South Beach location, everything about the Townhouse has sadly deteriorated. (One exception: the continental breakfast with its lovely fresh croissants and lattes is still intact.) But this property needs a monster reboot if it expects to get any of its formerly devoted return guests.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Hotel18
Hotel18
#97 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
City Center
SBH South Beach Hotel
SBH South Beach Hotel
#73 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Circa 39 Hotel
#45 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#95 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,097 reviews
Clinton Hotel South Beach
#121 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,293 reviews
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#78 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 3,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel

Address: 150 20th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#69 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Kept Secret on The BeachConceived as a cool, fun and fresh retreat by owner Jonathan Morr, Townhouse offers a playful combination of modern design and old-fashioned comfort. Situated in the midst of South Beach and only steps away from the ocean, Townhouse provides guestswith a sleek and sexy hideaway for a weekend getaway or long retreat.Townhouse features 69 rooms affering fresh-cleanexciting design. The hotel offers free WI-Fi and complimentary breakfast served daily in the Pantry.The outdoor rooftop terrace offers a luxurious-yet simple design. At night the rooftop transforms into a lounge-sushi bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Splendia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Miami Beach
Townhouse Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Townhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.