We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service, great location & excellent time!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Townhouse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Townhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Townhouse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 20th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Friendly service, great location & excellent time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We were pleased with the Townhouse. We stayed two nights (Saturday & Sunday) and it was about what we expected. The SoBe area is expensive so when you can get a hotel that is somewhat reasonably priced, in a nice area with good service, you should feel pretty lucky. The rooms are smaller (as are most boutique hotels in this area), but very clean. The staff absolutely rocked! There were smiles, accomodations, assistance, everything.
I will say that if you want a super quiet hotel, don't stay there (but what are you thinking when you stay in this area of Miami?!) We had a room that was next to the trash collection lot next door and in the morning, there is clattering noise. You can also hear people coming home at 3 or 4 in the morning in the hallways that aren't quiet. The Wifi is good, the breakfast works and they have bikes and towels to use. We were pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with noise in the morning, don't get a room facing the ocean. (there is a tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    313
    129
    47
    32
See reviews for
75
379
38
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

The TownHouse is what everyone says it is – clean, white, bright. But the staff is also some of the nicest most accommodating folks on South Beach. As a very frequent visitor to SoBe I can tell you the properties here are not known for their nice and friends staff’s. Just the opposite. TownHouse is the exception. I had two issues with my room (both of them I caused but we don’t need to go into details do we?) and when I mentioned the issues to the front desk, they very quickly and nicely responded. The maintenance person came within minutes both times, fixed the issue, showed me what was needed to prevent the issue from reoccurring, did not make me feel stupid (which I was), and was so pleasant I felt compelled to give them a tip which they refused.

In terms of some complaints about noise – THIS IS SOUTH BEACH – IT IS NOISY. OK yes, the a/c from the building next door is loud (I call it white noise), but so is the traffic, and party goers on the street! If you want quiet DO NOT STAY ON SOUTH BEACH (or if you do stay way off Collins and Ocean – like at the Mondrian South Beach on West Street – make sure you ask for s balcony room facing the bay). BTW – The more quiet rooms are the even number rooms 02-12 at TownHouse which face 20th. Room 15 which faces south on Collins has the best views but you’ll get more street noise (but it is worth it).

Bottom line – rooms are very clean, staff is very friendly. This is my new place to stay in SoBe and I will recommend to clients and friends.

Room Tip: The more quiet rooms are the even number rooms 02-12 at TownHouse which face 20th. Room 15 which fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We returned to the Townhouse after having a swell time there two years ago, and were expecting the same savvy interior, cool vibe, and energetic staff. Times have changed: the hotel is soooo tired looking, the staff is uninspired, the room's white floors were stained with rust, the room rug was frayed, and the towels were grey. What happened? Even the terrific sushi bar on the lower level of the hotel was out of business. Despite the perfect South Beach location, everything about the Townhouse has sadly deteriorated. (One exception: the continental breakfast with its lovely fresh croissants and lattes is still intact.) But this property needs a monster reboot if it expects to get any of its formerly devoted return guests.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We recently had a 4 night stay. The hotel is situated in a quieter part of SoBe but is not too far from the action. The rooms are minimalist but have everything you need including free wifi. The breakfast is good but try not to be too late as the variety available will be less - seating can be a problem but there is some outside and some people even took it up to their rooms.
The decking on the roof is a wonderful space for the late afternoon - did not use their beach area as it was cool!
There are a range of restaurants closeby and Lincoln Mall is not far away. The hop on/off bus goes past the end of the road, it is an easy walk to the Art Deco area (either on the beach broad walk or down Collins). The staff are very friendly and helpful.
Would quite happily go back.
Only one gripe the room safe was positioned in such a way to make it a little difficult when getting things out - i.e. I dropped the camera onto a concrete floor.

Room Tip: There are a couple of clubs in the area so a higher floor is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Hotel has a14 day cancellation policy in February! ( booking thru them or booking site had same cancellation policy)Snow cancelled my flight ( got $$ back from airline)but they charged me for 1 nite tho they sold the room immediately. Not very nice!:( I'd rather stay at a starwoods hotel where there is a better policy ESP in winter with flights .
Otherwise I've stayed here 4 times nice hotel tho no pool, no food service on roof deck, and the attached sushi restaurant has closed. Not sure if I'll go back again. I cancelled my late feb reservation due to cancellation policy

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Another exhibition to go to and very excited that this was to be in Miami! The Townhouse is a very basic hotel but not unpleasant. The rooms were very simple with cheap 'ikea' type beds. Clean and minimalist but free wifi, which some bigger hotels charge for. The biggest problem for the rooms was the exceptionally thin walls. I could hear every movement of next door!

The location of the The Townhouse was superb. 5 mins walk to the lovely beach. 10-15mins to the exhibition hall. 15 mins to the main shopping area and in very close proximity to the W, Setai and other hotels with good bars and swimming pools. The Townhouse has a rooftop bar which would be nice if it had been open. The entrance is small and basic with a simple breakfast area and with it a simple breakfast.

In short it did the job for our stay and we could walk everywhere from the hotel. Also we could hire bikes for $10 for 3 hours.

Had a good stay and played plenty of golf .... Oh and also went to the exhibition!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

My financé and I stayed at Townhouse back in November. It was our first time visiting Miami Beach. From the airport it only took 20 minutes to get to the hotel. The moment we walked into the hotel, the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Fantastic location- only about a 3 minute walk to the beach. Very clean and modern rooms. Breakfast is included and was simple but delicious- hard boiled eggs, bagels, toast, muffins, pastries, fresh juice, etc. Plus, coffee and water available 24-7 (not to mention an espresso machine!) All the giltz and glam of South Beach is within walking distance. Would definitely stay here again…you can't beat the price!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel

Address: 150 20th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#50 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#65 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Kept Secret on The BeachConceived as a cool, fun and fresh retreat by owner Jonathan Morr, Townhouse offers a playful combination of modern design and old-fashioned comfort. Situated in the midst of South Beach and only steps away from the ocean, Townhouse provides guestswith a sleek and sexy hideaway for a weekend getaway or long retreat.Townhouse features 69 rooms affering fresh-cleanexciting design. The hotel offers free WI-Fi and complimentary breakfast served daily in the Pantry.The outdoor rooftop terrace offers a luxurious-yet simple design. At night the rooftop transforms into a lounge-sushi bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Miami Beach
Townhouse Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Townhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.