We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Townhouse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Townhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Townhouse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 20th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I am somewhat surprised by all the excellent/5-star reviews on this site about this hotel. There are undoubtedly several good things going for it (see below), but ultimately the hotel fails in two key aspects:
(1) it was extremely noisy and I found it impossible to get a good night's sleep or an afternoon kip there: the noise was coming from outside all through the night (street noise, nearby music, deliveries) and from the hotel (I could hear EVERY step from upstairs. I was on the 3rd floor (out of 4).
(2) the location is great for the beach (5 min walk away), but not for the shops, restaurants, etc. If that is a concern, bear in mind you will need a few taxis given the heat.

For me, these two drawbacks are major ones for a hotel in what-should-had-been a relaxing destination. On the plus side:

-the hotel was much cheaper than anything else of similar standard that i could find on the Beach. In hindsight, I would have paid extra to go somewhere else
-staff was super helpful
-they don't try to make money off you at every opportunity: wi-fi and 24-hour coffee are free and there is a decent cold breakfast included in the price. They also provide towels for the beach (and I believe bikes for riding around town, but i didn't use them so can't tell for sure). I should say that $34 for valet parking (only choice) seemed a lot when there was a public parking nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    299
    126
    45
    32
See reviews for
71
365
38
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pesaro, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Veramente una bella esperienza.
Struttura piacevole a due passi dalla splendida spiaggia e accanto alla via principale, la sera piena di mivida.
Camera carinissima e veramente pulita, doccia splendida.
Ottima la colazione.
Unico neo: il valet parking (non ci sono parcheggi in zona) a 34$ al giorno.

A really good experience.
Nice texture to two steps from the beach and next to the main street in the evening full of mivida.
Cute room and really clean, great shower.
Excellent breakfast.
The only drawback: the valet parking (there is no parking in the area) to 34 $ per day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel is nice enough, but can certainly improve a few things. Breakfast is very basic, just coffee, toast and bagels. We had quite a bit of noise throughout the night from the rooms above us, it sounded like elephants tap dancing, which kept us awake for hours. And the housekeeping staff walked into our room without knocking, which was a little off-putting. The hotel is about 10 blocks from the lively parts of Ocean Drive, which feels like quite a big walk when doing it a few times during the hot humid day or in heels at night! We ended up getting a cab a couple of times, so I think next time I would prefer to stay somewhere slightly closer to the action.
On the plus side, the hotel is just metres from the beach, and the front desk staff were quite helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Clean and airy! The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was amazing. Great coffee available at all hours. The Price was the truly unbelieveable for the location, amenities and customer service provided at this hidden gem!

We cannot wait to return to the Townhouse Hotel. The beach was only steps away and it was magnificient!

Room Tip: The Price was unbeatble for the location and cleanliness!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I just spent a lovely 4 day weekend at the wonderful Townhouse hotel in South Beach,FL. We turned up early on Friday and were greeted by a great staff. The hotel room couldnt have been any nicer, super clean, bright, airy rooms. The hotel was really wonderful, they serve a complimentary breakfast every morning which was always fresh, tea and coffee is also on offer through out the day. The hotel is literally steps from the beach, they offer umbrellas and sun loungers on the beach (for a small charge) which is great. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful, the concierge were very knowledable about the area and recommended several great restaurants that we tried. The hotel also has a lovely rooftop garden complete with sun chairs and umbrellas. I can't rate this hotel high enough and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

For the price and the location, it would be hard to beat the Townhouse Hotel. A 2 minute walk to the beach and maybe 10 minutes to Lincoln Road Mall, the hotel was exactly what we were looking for. The rooms were very minimalist but that wasn't a problem for us - they were very comfortable and clean.

The breakfast was simple but nice, although it was hard to find room to sit down sometimes and the room it's served from is very small!

The staff were always helpful, lending beach towels, giving maps etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel

Address: 150 20th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#65 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Kept Secret on The BeachConceived as a cool, fun and fresh retreat by owner Jonathan Morr, Townhouse offers a playful combination of modern design and old-fashioned comfort. Situated in the midst of South Beach and only steps away from the ocean, Townhouse provides guestswith a sleek and sexy hideaway for a weekend getaway or long retreat.Townhouse features 69 rooms affering fresh-cleanexciting design. The hotel offers free WI-Fi and complimentary breakfast served daily in the Pantry.The outdoor rooftop terrace offers a luxurious-yet simple design. At night the rooftop transforms into a lounge-sushi bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Miami Beach
Townhouse Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Townhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.