We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Townhouse Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Townhouse Hotel

Save Saved
You added Townhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Townhouse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 20th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Bournemouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Townhouse Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Fabulous Hotel. Check In was great, Room on 4th Floor, All clean!

Breakfast was adequate, plenty of Tea, Coffee, Fruit, Muffins etc.

Valet Parking was indeed needed and a great service!

Beach less than 5min walk and easily accessible!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    317
    120
    48
    30
See reviews for
58
330
34
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brig, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was my second stay in the Townhouse in Miami Beach.
Once again I can't complain about anything. The staff is very friendly and always very helpful.

The Rooms are bright, almost everything is white and only with the most necesarry things in it. Maybe it would be nice to add some more decoration?

The bathroom is small, but it's ok for a few days. Everything was very clean.

What I like the most about the Townhouse is the location. You can reach the beach in about 3 minutes by foot, and it's only 3 blocks from Lincoln Road.

It is definitely a cool Hotel to stay in Miami.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YORKSHIRE, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and as with all reviews this place looks great on the web and in reception. However, rooms are small, very stark in design and noisy. We had a superior room and the reason it was superior was because it had 2 windows!! Really??? The said superior room was a corner room at the back of the hotel and was overlooking the aircon unit of the hotel next door. This proved INCREDIBLY noisy and incessant. Breakfast was not good and self service from the smallest closet ever! Service ok but slightly stressed and preoccupied. Roof terrace nice but not open for drinks! Overall view stay elsewhere....

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manaus, AM
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The room is quite nice and very clean with it's all white linen. The staff is very kind and helpful. The breakfast was french style and unfortunetaly they had the croissant only on sunday, it was very tasty! Valet parking is expansive but "welcome to Miami Beach!". Location is a differencial just a few steps from the beach and four blocks way from Lincoln Road.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this modest little hotel. After reading some of the reviews below, I was afraid our Brazilian friends might have booked us into someplace awfully Spartan. But this is the upscale suburbs of Sparta. First, the staff were really nice. The front desk guys were unfailingly pleasant as I peppered them with questions and requests. The lady who stocks the breakfast bar looked after my 94-year-old father, bringing him coffee and magazines when I went out for a walk on the nearby biking/walking path. As noted in other reviews, the breakfast nook is hardly more than a cranny, but everyone was very polite and waited turns getting their coffee and croissants. I liked the bright, cheerful communal sunroom where you sit at long tables to eat. The clientele is very multi-national, and I found breakfast to be primo people-watching time. The hotel is only one block from the beach and has its own area on the beach where you can rent chairs. We did not go sit on the beach, but the Townhouse’s private area looked fine from a distance. I enjoyed my walk up the ocean-front path and back down the beach itself. Zillions of (expensive!) restaurants all around, of course. On the down side, the hotel has seen better days and is a bit worn about the edges. The room we had (218) was fine, not too small and had a bathroom door, but the furniture was pretty minimal and elderly, so be prepared for that. No dresser, but there was a hanging thing in the closet where we stowed our unmentionables. Our room did have a mini-fridge in the closet. I slept on the sleeping couch which was quite comfortable for someone under 6 feet tall who isn’t really that chubby considering her age. I was amused by the unpredictability of the linens they gave me for the couch. First I had a couple of duvet covers, a bit unusual, but they worked out all right. Then the duvet covers vanished and were replaced by one sheet. I called down and got another, so no problem, but there is clearly no standard set of linens for the sleeping couch. The air conditioning worked well since my father kept making me turn it off because he was too cold. I was not too cold. They have Stairmasters in the hallways in case you would like to work out in full view of passersby. At night, they light the lobby with dozens of candles. There was a candle in the room, too. I wondered if their insurance company had approved all that open flame, but it looked lovely. The location is pretty noisy, but all of Miami Beach is pretty noisy.

Room Tip: Try to get a room high up and away from Collins Ave. It was pretty noisy in room 218.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Our initial impressions of the Townhouse Hotel were good. The lobby looks nice with a boutique hotel -style feeling to it. Our room looked a bit more plain than in the photos but nothing out of the ordinary. However, the biggest problem in the room was noise. We got room 418 which was at the top floor but with a window to Collins Ave. It was Saturday night and the traffic continued to be busy until very late, maybe 5AM. It really was loud, we both had earplugs and even those didn't completely help. We asked on the next day if we could change room but unfortunately it wasn't possible as they were fully booked. Luckily we only stayed 2 nights and the Sunday night was quieter so we managed to get some sleep. We think a lot of the problem comes down to the single-glass windows which really weren't from this century. There was also noise from adjacent rooms and the corridor somewhat. Other than that, the breakfast was a nice plus, including bagels, eggs, pastries and both brewed and made-to-order coffee. In addition to that the other positive thing was the location. Yet in the end that doesn't help at all if you're too tired to go anywhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Very pleased with the hotel. Excellent location close to the beach, away from the clubs but within walking distance of shops and restuarants.

Pleased with room as it was slightly larger than expected. The only criticism was the noise of the aircon units on the roof of the building next door which were extremly loud. We stayed on the third floor in an odd numbered room. It was very noticeable but strangely didn't seem to bother us at night.

The breakfast was great (and available until quite late in the morning) with all the basics which kept you going until lunch. Coffee was available most of the day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel

Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Miami Beach
Townhouse Miami Beach
Townhouse Miami
Address: 150 20th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#69 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Townhouse Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Kept Secret on The BeachConceived as a cool, fun and fresh retreat by owner Jonathan Morr, Townhouse offers a playful combination of modern design and old-fashioned comfort. Situated in the midst of South Beach and only steps away from the ocean, Townhouse provides guestswith a sleek and sexy hideaway for a weekend getaway or long retreat.Townhouse features 69 rooms affering fresh-cleanexciting design. The hotel offers free WI-Fi and complimentary breakfast served daily in the Pantry.The outdoor rooftop terrace offers a luxurious-yet simple design. At night the rooftop transforms into a lounge-sushi bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tablet Hotels, Tingo, Amex, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Townhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.