We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Frills and little substance!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Townhouse Hotel

Save Saved
You added Townhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 20th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
YORKSHIRE, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“All Frills and little substance!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and as with all reviews this place looks great on the web and in reception. However, rooms are small, very stark in design and noisy. We had a superior room and the reason it was superior was because it had 2 windows!! Really??? The said superior room was a corner room at the back of the hotel and was overlooking the aircon unit of the hotel next door. This proved INCREDIBLY noisy and incessant. Breakfast was not good and self service from the smallest closet ever! Service ok but slightly stressed and preoccupied. Roof terrace nice but not open for drinks! Overall view stay elsewhere....

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    289
    118
    45
    30
See reviews for
66
352
37
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manaus, AM
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The room is quite nice and very clean with it's all white linen. The staff is very kind and helpful. The breakfast was french style and unfortunetaly they had the croissant only on sunday, it was very tasty! Valet parking is expansive but "welcome to Miami Beach!". Location is a differencial just a few steps from the beach and four blocks way from Lincoln Road.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this modest little hotel. After reading some of the reviews below, I was afraid our Brazilian friends might have booked us into someplace awfully Spartan. But this is the upscale suburbs of Sparta. First, the staff were really nice. The front desk guys were unfailingly pleasant as I peppered them with questions and requests. The lady who stocks the breakfast bar looked after my 94-year-old father, bringing him coffee and magazines when I went out for a walk on the nearby biking/walking path. As noted in other reviews, the breakfast nook is hardly more than a cranny, but everyone was very polite and waited turns getting their coffee and croissants. I liked the bright, cheerful communal sunroom where you sit at long tables to eat. The clientele is very multi-national, and I found breakfast to be primo people-watching time. The hotel is only one block from the beach and has its own area on the beach where you can rent chairs. We did not go sit on the beach, but the Townhouse’s private area looked fine from a distance. I enjoyed my walk up the ocean-front path and back down the beach itself. Zillions of (expensive!) restaurants all around, of course. On the down side, the hotel has seen better days and is a bit worn about the edges. The room we had (218) was fine, not too small and had a bathroom door, but the furniture was pretty minimal and elderly, so be prepared for that. No dresser, but there was a hanging thing in the closet where we stowed our unmentionables. Our room did have a mini-fridge in the closet. I slept on the sleeping couch which was quite comfortable for someone under 6 feet tall who isn’t really that chubby considering her age. I was amused by the unpredictability of the linens they gave me for the couch. First I had a couple of duvet covers, a bit unusual, but they worked out all right. Then the duvet covers vanished and were replaced by one sheet. I called down and got another, so no problem, but there is clearly no standard set of linens for the sleeping couch. The air conditioning worked well since my father kept making me turn it off because he was too cold. I was not too cold. They have Stairmasters in the hallways in case you would like to work out in full view of passersby. At night, they light the lobby with dozens of candles. There was a candle in the room, too. I wondered if their insurance company had approved all that open flame, but it looked lovely. The location is pretty noisy, but all of Miami Beach is pretty noisy.

Room Tip: Try to get a room high up and away from Collins Ave. It was pretty noisy in room 218.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Our initial impressions of the Townhouse Hotel were good. The lobby looks nice with a boutique hotel -style feeling to it. Our room looked a bit more plain than in the photos but nothing out of the ordinary. However, the biggest problem in the room was noise. We got room 418 which was at the top floor but with a window to Collins Ave. It was Saturday night and the traffic continued to be busy until very late, maybe 5AM. It really was loud, we both had earplugs and even those didn't completely help. We asked on the next day if we could change room but unfortunately it wasn't possible as they were fully booked. Luckily we only stayed 2 nights and the Sunday night was quieter so we managed to get some sleep. We think a lot of the problem comes down to the single-glass windows which really weren't from this century. There was also noise from adjacent rooms and the corridor somewhat. Other than that, the breakfast was a nice plus, including bagels, eggs, pastries and both brewed and made-to-order coffee. In addition to that the other positive thing was the location. Yet in the end that doesn't help at all if you're too tired to go anywhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Very pleased with the hotel. Excellent location close to the beach, away from the clubs but within walking distance of shops and restuarants.

Pleased with room as it was slightly larger than expected. The only criticism was the noise of the aircon units on the roof of the building next door which were extremly loud. We stayed on the third floor in an odd numbered room. It was very noticeable but strangely didn't seem to bother us at night.

The breakfast was great (and available until quite late in the morning) with all the basics which kept you going until lunch. Coffee was available most of the day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friedberg, Hessen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I'm from Germany and I spent my vacation in the "Townhouse Hotel" ! The very relaxed atmosphere and the very good and friendly service procured me a wonderful time!!!
Thank you to the whole team of the Townhouse Hotel. You were the coronation of my holiday.
Great little breakfast included, very clean and stylish rooms, cycles and a fantastic roof top, all this
just one minute walk from the beach.I will come back...

Room Tip: ...check the suites - it's worth ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed for two nights in April 2013 The staff is ok but a bit more interested would not hurt .
The positive thing is the location. It is right next to the beach and close to all shops and restaurants . The room we first got offered was on the backside of the hotel this is a noisy envrionment due to a food factory right next to the hotel. We than moved to room 108 and this was fine. Rooms are sensitive to noise but it did not disturb us. These night club complaints we did not get . Valet parking yeah expensive but parking is an issue in this area.
The breakfast is ok for me ! it was nice and friendly . The only small thing is the price for two beds and an umbrella for the beahc which is quite a bit. Internet is excellent .

Room Tip: book on the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel

Address: 150 20th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#83 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Townhouse Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Kept Secret on The BeachConceived as a cool, fun and fresh retreat by owner Jonathan Morr, Townhouse offers a playful combination of modern design and old-fashioned comfort. Situated in the midst of South Beach and only steps away from the ocean, Townhouse provides guestswith a sleek and sexy hideaway for a weekend getaway or long retreat.Townhouse features 69 rooms affering fresh-cleanexciting design. The hotel offers free WI-Fi and complimentary breakfast served daily in the Pantry.The outdoor rooftop terrace offers a luxurious-yet simple design. At night the rooftop transforms into a lounge-sushi bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Miami Beach
Townhouse Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Townhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.