We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Townhouse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Townhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Townhouse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 20th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“nice location average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed for two nights in April 2013 The staff is ok but a bit more interested would not hurt .
The positive thing is the location. It is right next to the beach and close to all shops and restaurants . The room we first got offered was on the backside of the hotel this is a noisy envrionment due to a food factory right next to the hotel. We than moved to room 108 and this was fine. Rooms are sensitive to noise but it did not disturb us. These night club complaints we did not get . Valet parking yeah expensive but parking is an issue in this area.
The breakfast is ok for me ! it was nice and friendly . The only small thing is the price for two beds and an umbrella for the beahc which is quite a bit. Internet is excellent .

Room Tip: book on the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    311
    129
    47
    32
See reviews for
74
378
38
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Townhouse is a good option for the first time in miami for a couple. I carefully choose the location as we handed the hire car back after driving from Orlando to key west to miami. I definitely choose the most luxury location possible. Townhouse sits next to the most expensive hotels in SoBe creating a luxury surrounding at a significantly cheaper price. We had cocktails and food at the shore club next door. We partied at baoli, the mynt club and SLS across the road. We also went to LIV on friday which was good too. All the hotels and bars are full of the rich/wanabees and the good looking so expect a big check. Fortunately for us, on two occasions we were approached by promoters that let us in for free past the line and gave us a table with a bottle of goose! Although I thought some places were trying to copy off ibiza clubs, miami is defiantly cool by American standards. Lincoln mall is a few blocks down which is more commercial but still carrying a price tag.

As for the hotel, it nearly met my expectations. When I booked the hotel I thought the rooftop was impressive and it claimed to have parties at night from Thursday but every time I went up I was the only one there - day and night. I don't know if this is something they only do at peak season but they didn't mention anything about it when we checked in. We ended up just strolling over the road to the beach which was ideal. Townhouse did provide Sunbeds at an expensive rate which I thought was cheeky as the other hotels don't charge but I guess that's why the other hotels charge $500 a night. You get what you pay for in miami.

Fortunately, I like minimalist so the rest of the hotel was nice and the rooms were just what we needed. The staff were lovely and all very helpful and eager to ask if I needed anything. The breakfast was also minimalist but I'm not a big eater so it was fine with me. They provide coffee 24/7 which was perfect.

One thing that was really annoying - the cleaner accidentally threw away a present for my mum from Disney for Mother's Day. It was on the bed side table in a Disney plastic bag. If it was trash I would have put it in the trash myself or somewhere really obvious that it was trash, like the floor. Townhouse apologized and refunded $20 although it wasn't the money I was bothered about. It would cost a lot more and a lot more time to go back to Disney Orlando and buy it again. I was just relieved they had a safe in the room and I used it.

Even after a few issues, if I was to come to miami again I would 100% stay at townhouse if I was on a budget. But after seeing the hotels next door I would save and go all out. Before coming to miami a few people warned me of its tackiness and nicknamed it 'mean miami' but staying at townhouse and the surroundings has given me the opposite opinion. Maybe they stayed in a different area??!

Loved it!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natalie k, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for the lovely comments about the Townhouse.
Your opinions are very important to us as we strive to meet the needs of our guests.

Best regards,

Natalie Kramer
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wharton, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I just spend 6 days at the hotel for mi b-day, it was nice !!!!! close to the beach ,shops ,restaurants ,clubs and transportation . we didn't rent a car but the people at the hotel help us to take the bus to little Havana ,suuuperrr !!!.. and we walk to other places in South Beach . It is true about the noise because there is a club next to the hotel , but you can sleep , is not that bad . The only inconvenience I think ... it was that you have to pay 30 buck for 2 chairs and umbrella at the beach everyday , I think that is expensive, I think they should get their own service and charge half of it .... really good Hotel for and average price ,specially because they serve a simple breakfast , more than enough , I'm happy , I think can easily go back .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at Townhouse Hotel for 2 nights in March 2013. The location of the hotel is perfect if you want to be close to beach, clubs, restaurants and shops. Although it could a little bit noisy ( It maybe because of all the teenagers spending their spring break in Miami ) the breakfast is ok if you don't expect too much. The staff was kind and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I am well traveled and have stayed in all types of hotels, so I did not mind the minimal decor. Upon check in I was given room 118. This room is on the second floor and the roof of the first floor surrounds the building. My windows would not lock, which worried me so I asked for a different room. I was given 411, and told there might be a little noise from the air conditioner. I asked the bell boy if the noise I heard was what I would be hearing and he said "yes". The noise I heard was the bass and music coming from Mynt Lounge. It was so loud it shook my windows and kept me up until 5:00am.

I went down the next morning and asked for a different room, and the new guy at the counter knew all about the noise from Mynt. He told me I would need to stay on the front of the building to not hear the nightclub. I was told I would have to check out of the hotel by 12, and recheck back in after 3. I did this and got room 217, which was better as it was closer to the front. I could still hear the club, but I was able to sleep.

Now to the parking, I knew about the $34 a day valet, and I was fine with that. At checkout, I told the guy at the counter that I would be back at 3pm to get my car. He said "no Problem". Upon returning at 3pm, I was told that since I did not get it by 2pm, I owed another $12. I paid it just to get out, and it took over 20 minutes to get my car.

Townhouse ruined a birthday weekend with friends....

Room Tip: Stay on the front side of the building. The noise from Mynt Lounge shakes the windows on the back s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natalie k, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear keith,

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at the Townhouse.
We are located in the heart of South Beach and sometimes the festivities can be an inconvenience to certain guests.

Best regards,

Natalie Kramer
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We (a family with a 2 years old son) stayed at the Townhouse Hotel from March 26 to 28, 2013. At first sight, the hotel is nice and quite well located. However, very loud music from some clubs in the vicinity caused the walls of our room to vibrate at night! The really big problems came with the disorganization and a very bad, murky management (for two examples, please read below). In short, we recommend to avoid the Townhouse Hotel, if you do not want to have to deal with this hotel's shady management. There are better options to stay in Miami Beach. At least places whose staff you can trust.

Examples:
- After leaving the car with the valet parking service upon arrival, at check out they were not able to find the car and we had to wait about 40 minutes for it. (Bear in mind that the hotel has no parking and the valet parking service charges 34 USD per night).

- The worst came some days later. After leaving the hotel, we realized that we had left a purse with an iPhone inside in the wardrobe of our room. Somebody of the hotel staff left us a voicemail saying that they found those items in the room. Very surprisingly, the items had disappeared when we wanted to pick them up.
You would expect a reasonable hotel management to report the loss or theft of items pertaining to hotel clients to the police. When the management of the Townhouse Hotel at first did not know that its staff had left a voicemail message with us, they just lied and tried to make us believe that there had been a confusion with items found in another room.
When we confronted them with the fact, that we actually got a voicemail of the hotel staff that reported exactly about the items we left in the room, the managements explanations for the loss of our items became more and more adventurous.

Room Tip: Our room was 415 I we couldn't sleep well due to the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natalie k, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Itziar,

Im sorry if there was a miscommunication and you were inconvenienced in any way during your stay at the Townhouse Hotel.
We hope you will take advantage of the concessions offered to you.

Best regards,

Natalie Kramer
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A friend and I decided to stay here while we were in Miami and we both agreed that it was a pretty good hotel! The location is perfect. It's located in the nicer part of South Beach and tucked in a street where you can actually get some peaceful sleep at night. Really close access to the beach as well as the Miami boardwalk if you're looking to go for a morning jog. Plenty of shopping and restaurants to walk to as well as adjacent to some of the best/nicest hotels in Miami.

The staff is very friendly and quick to help. The rooms are what you would expect from a Miami boutique hotel...modern with minimal furniture. The hotel also has a beautiful rooftop deck, free wi-fi internet, as well as free breakfast every morning. Beach towels are also free and they have a special section on the beach if you want to rent out beach chairs.

A really good value for the hotel. If you're looking for a nice place to stay, a great location and good service...definitely check out the Townhouse Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel

Address: 150 20th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#50 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#65 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Kept Secret on The BeachConceived as a cool, fun and fresh retreat by owner Jonathan Morr, Townhouse offers a playful combination of modern design and old-fashioned comfort. Situated in the midst of South Beach and only steps away from the ocean, Townhouse provides guestswith a sleek and sexy hideaway for a weekend getaway or long retreat.Townhouse features 69 rooms affering fresh-cleanexciting design. The hotel offers free WI-Fi and complimentary breakfast served daily in the Pantry.The outdoor rooftop terrace offers a luxurious-yet simple design. At night the rooftop transforms into a lounge-sushi bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Miami Beach
Townhouse Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Townhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.