We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly a really good hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Townhouse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Townhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Townhouse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 20th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Surprisingly a really good hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A friend and I decided to stay here while we were in Miami and we both agreed that it was a pretty good hotel! The location is perfect. It's located in the nicer part of South Beach and tucked in a street where you can actually get some peaceful sleep at night. Really close access to the beach as well as the Miami boardwalk if you're looking to go for a morning jog. Plenty of shopping and restaurants to walk to as well as adjacent to some of the best/nicest hotels in Miami.

The staff is very friendly and quick to help. The rooms are what you would expect from a Miami boutique hotel...modern with minimal furniture. The hotel also has a beautiful rooftop deck, free wi-fi internet, as well as free breakfast every morning. Beach towels are also free and they have a special section on the beach if you want to rent out beach chairs.

A really good value for the hotel. If you're looking for a nice place to stay, a great location and good service...definitely check out the Townhouse Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    303
    128
    47
    32
See reviews for
72
372
38
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Me and a girlfriend had a great experience at the Townhouse! I called to confirm our Expedia reservation and asked if they had any two bed rooms – they did and the manager upgraded us for free! That was the start to a wonderful vacation and gave me comfort knowing we would be well taken care of. Upon arrival, ahead of check-in time, we changed into swimwear and hit the 5th floor deck while our bags were looked after and our check-in was processed. Half an hour later we were tanning while our bags were put into the spacious room: two queen beds, one couch, a closet, large flat screen TV, fridge, table, and a washroom (which was NOT tiny!). The front desk staff were friendly and helpful in making reservations (confirm/follow-up though, as sometimes they cannot make a reservation and neglect to inform you), suggestions on local attractions, etc. They have a dedicated beach area and at a cost of $30 you get two beach chairs and an umbrella; beach towels are free of charge. Breakfast is plentiful and satisfying; it’s help yourself style in a tiny kitchen off the main lobby. If the food runs low simply ask the lovely staff to refill. Also, coffee, tea and such are offered 24 hours/day. Check-out was simple and “surprise-free”.

A few disappointments: roof top bar is closed indefinitely (and there is no beverage service of any kind available up there). WiFi was intermittent at times. Toiletries were not replenished daily (although rooms were cleaned and towels changed). It would have been great if there were more fruit options each morning (there were apples twice in 4 days). Carpets need to be changed/removed ASAP!

SoBe suggestions: Shore Club hosts a pool party every Sunday – free of charge and super fun! Lincoln Road is a nice stroll where you can dine and shop. Versace Mansion is not open to the public Monday or Tuesday. The shuttle to Sawgrass Mills is an adventure worth taking (and the colonnade shops are AWESOME!). Nikki Beach is just ok (on a Monday evening; cannot speak of any other date or time). Many rooftop bars are closed or very quiet Monday-Wednesday. A taxi from MIA to Townhouse is ONLY $32! It’s less than 20 minutes and well worth it. SoBe is easy and best navigated by foot (although there are tons of taxis and they are inexpensive). There are lots of stores (many you will recognize and some that are local) for shopping or last minute items; drug stores are open 24 hours. There is a wide range of cuisines with an equally wide range of prices. We are at Sushi Samba, Oh Mexico, Spigga, Sultan (convenient and tasty!) and a few others that I cannot recall. We also had great ice cream at Kilwin's on Lincoln Road.

Room Tip: Rooms not overlooking Collins are quieter; we stayed on the 3rd floor and were very happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Townhouse Hotel - is a great place for a getaway visit to South Beach. The location is close to everything for a stroll, or a short cab if your heels are too high. The beach is right there with amenities. As well you can tuck into a nice stroll through town, or on the boardwalk.

Their rooftop lounge was a peaceful tranquil place to rest between activities up away from the city. The decor is minimalist and simple, but fun , with some whimsy . It will remind you more of a European vibe than a more traditional North American hotel. I give this location high marks especially for the very warm and friendly staff who were eager to help you out and alway friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

arrived late at the hotel but got our rooms as booked. rooms are all in red and withe but I guess recently refurbished. very comfortable bed and space for luggage. Bathroom clean but may have requested more refurbishment. Nice staff but for public car park you need to walk some bloks unless you are leaving your keys with valet. had a fine stay close to beach and Lincoln street for shopping. would go there back again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at Townhouse Hotel for three nights in February. The location of the hotel is very good, the beach is 500m away and the shopping/dining options are close by as well. The rooms are furnished very basic interior. We had a room with a separate little room that functioned as a closet, which was good to have some space. The bathroom was tiny but clean. Breakfast is basic too, but ok for me (Other people already wrote about the stuff they offer). You help yourself at a small buffet, which is located in a tiny room. This is a bit annoying because if more than two people want to get something at the same time, you have to wait outside the room. There are two big tables where you sit together with all the other guests.
The roof terrace is a nice thing, although it is not too well kept. They don't have any beverage service or something, there are sunbeds (not all of them are completely clean) and umbrellas and you can hang out there whenever you like.
One problem we had with our room was that although I asked for a quiet room in advance they gave us one that wasn't quiet. I read from others that you should ask for a room away from Collins Street, so i did that. We then got one (Room 302) on the other side, but on that side there is the garbage dump and in the early morning the trucks from all around come there and it is really loud even when you have the window closed...
Over all there are good things about the hotel and the price is in the middle range for Miami Beach which is very expensive anyway. I haven't got any experience if you can get a lot more for your money elsewhere. For me it was ok.

Room Tip: 302 is away from Collins Street but still not a quiet option. Maybe the ones next to this room are g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed here over the SoBe Wine and Food Festival Weekend and enjoyed the stay. The rooms are very minimalist which we enjoyed for the weekend. Had it been for an entire week I think I would have wanted something more plush. All depends how much time you would be spending in the room. Great location for what we needed, down the block from the beach was nice. This made for nice walking down the path on the beach. We enjoyed the complimentary "french" breakfast, what else do you need but coffee and something easy. The "room", or closet where you get the breakfast was a bit tight with a few people getting breakfast but all in all was really nice.

Management was pleasant and helpful. We valeted the car, didn't use it at all over the weekend as it was a "wine" weekend. Getting the car at the end was uneventful and non-issues. As far the cost of valeting a car, it is in line with what we are used to.

Bottom line, for a weekend in Miami this is a great value for the location, and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was far beyond expectations!
You can pay much more and demand much more,, but paying a low fare in a good loacation and recive more than you expect is a good feeling.
No,, it have no pool, but its VERY close to the beach.
No it have no fancy breakfast,, but the food served was quite OK.
Yes, they do have cheap parkingservice.
Overall I have to say that I could see myself checking in at this hotel in a future.
The rooms was very clean, yet very minimalistic but fulfill the daily needs if you are in Miami as a tourist!
The location is good!
The staff was friendly and the rooftop area was really good,, should we write 4 or 5,,
If there was at least a small pool on the large roof it should have deserved a 6!!
I write 4 but I could have been reading the signals wrong since the weather was the worse ever at our visit,, 3rd time in Miami and we dident ever wet our feets in the atlantic sea,, on the other hand we used both overcoat and umbrellas!!
Hope to see you again!

Best R Olle B

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel

Address: 150 20th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#49 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#65 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Kept Secret on The BeachConceived as a cool, fun and fresh retreat by owner Jonathan Morr, Townhouse offers a playful combination of modern design and old-fashioned comfort. Situated in the midst of South Beach and only steps away from the ocean, Townhouse provides guestswith a sleek and sexy hideaway for a weekend getaway or long retreat.Townhouse features 69 rooms affering fresh-cleanexciting design. The hotel offers free WI-Fi and complimentary breakfast served daily in the Pantry.The outdoor rooftop terrace offers a luxurious-yet simple design. At night the rooftop transforms into a lounge-sushi bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Miami Beach
Townhouse Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Townhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.