We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, space and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Townhouse Hotel

Save Saved
You added Townhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 20th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location, space and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Good location close to beach, restaurants and bars. The hotel is comfortable and service is very attentive. We felt the hotel staff cares about your experience, and wants to make sure you are satisfied and enjoying your stay. Nice notes: beach towels available at the front desk; bicycle rental available; free breakfast food in the lobby until late; and coffee was available for most of the day. I saw only one down-side: the nice rooftop is not open during the day. Overall, very good place to stay at this price range. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    329
    126
    51
    31
See reviews for
64
346
35
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hotel is perfectly located close to the beach, few blocks far from Lincoln Rd and the fancy parties at Delano and W. The lobby is bright and always full of natural light during the day. Room are comfortable, big with all necessary room facilities. There’s a lot of choice at breakfast and always fresh juices, croissant, muffins, marmalade and real Italian espresso (not just the coffee machine). What about the staff? Immaculate. To me, this hotel is great and the value really really worth. If I’ll be back in South Beach I’ll definitively stay again here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia K, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Adriano,

Thank you for your review of Townhouse. Nice of you to notice that we do use real italian coffee. I will forward the message to the department heads in regards to your comment about the staff. They will appreciate.

Best regards and we look forward to welcoming you back to Townhouse.

Georgia Kaufmann Behar
Revenue manager
Townhouse Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Reminds me of staying in a hospital - very spartan but servicable. Staff was friendly and helpful. I'd give it another half star on how nice everyone was. No complaints about the stay... and you're really only two minutes from walking on the beach! Would go back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia K, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Frank,

Thank you for posting a review about Townhouse on Trip Advisor.

Looking forward to seeing you again at Townhouse and thank you for the added half star!!

Best regards,

Georgia Kaufmann Behar
Revenue Manager
Townhouse Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Within walking distance to Ocean drive and Lincoln mall, a 100 meters fr.o.m. the beach. Lobby and room are bright and clean. Rooms are a little worn and electricity a bit scary but as a whole, well worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia K, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Buskachi,

Thank you for reviewing Townhouse.

I appologize if you thought your room was a little worn. Coulf you let me know what was your room number so we can look into it?

Best regards,

Georgia Kaufmann Behar
Revenue Manager
Townhouse Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Fantastic location, fantastic rates for very basic accommodations in the heart of South Beach. The super friendly and helpful front desk staff welcomed me and my friends to this very "cute" boutique hotel right off Collins Avenue. I likened it to an "upscale youth hostel" based on my observance that there was not one single guest that seemed to be over 30. I also felt that the communal help yourself daily breakfast albeit quite sparse with its selection of bagels and french bread, one type of muffin, coffee and OJ lent the feel of the place to a hostel as well. The property is well maintained and spotlessly clean including the rooms (the hallway carpets however are in dire need of replacing). The rood top deck is a wonderful place to take in the sunset. The placement of a stair-master exercise machine in the hallway was a clever but silly way to offer gym facilities without actually offering a gym. This hotel lacks a pool, and other amenities which is reflected in the room rates. The rooms are modern minimalist, but quite nice considering the lack of soft surfaces. My only real complaint was the bed itself. It is an "Ikea" type platform with a very thin and firm mattress that after a three night stay grew quite old.

Room Tip: lower floors mean you can skip waiting for the one elevator and use the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia K, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for reviewing Townhouse on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate the comments on the fairness of our pricing and the friendly staff.

I can see the comment on having a majority of young guests at the hotel. We do however welcome families on a frequent basis and older guests also. My grandmother for instance loves to stay at Townhouse!!

I am glad you notice the hotel is spotless clean. Our Housekeeping Manager puts a lot of effort into it. And the hallway carpets are being replaced next week.

I hope you had a nice trip back to Atlanta and we look forward to welcoming you back to Townhouse.

Best regards,

Georgia Kaufmann Behar
Revenue manager
Townhouse Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The hotel and the rooms are simple but nice in the Art Deco style maintained. The small kitchen with a simple breakfast buffet is also refilled diligently. It's ideal if you don't necessarily want steak with fried eggs for breakfast. You feel immediately comfortable in this hotel and the price / performance ratio is right on every case.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia K, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for the simple yet to the point review about Townhouse, we appreciate you tasking the time to write about Townhouse.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Georgia Kaufmann Behar
Revenue Manager
Townhouse Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walled Lake, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

I was lucky enough to travel to South Beach during Tropical Storm Isaac. The Townhouse is conveniently located on the 20th block of Collins Ave.

The rooms are very crisp and clean. It is a no frills hotel, but what else do you need? We were hoping to take advantage of their complimentary bikes and chairs for the beach. Unfortunately Isaac had other plans for us. The amenities at least sounded nice!

Breakfast was very basic, but included when you are spending a ton of money in South Beach. Bagels, croissants, pastries and hard boiled eggs. They have an espresso machine, juice and milk as well.

If you want great drinks close by walk to Liquor Lounge at 15th and Collins. They make the best mojitos in all of South Beach! Really if you want to get anywhere in South Beach from Townhouse, you can walk or you can take a fairly inexpensive cab ride. The front desk led us to our favorite night at Mangoes on Ocean Drive!

The front desk is very friendly and excited to give you different ideas of things to do and see. I would definitely stay here again. Hopefully next time I can when there isn't a hurricane!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia K, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry that you couldn't take advantage off everything we offer due to Tropical Storm Isaac. At least we were lucky enough that it didn't get upgraded while passing over Miami.
Just a small correction; the bikes are complemntary when you reserve using one of the promotions on our site and there is a small charge for the beach chairs. ( We do offer complimentary beach towels)

I didn't know about the mojitos on the liquoer lounge on 15th St. Thank you for the tip, I will make sure to let the Front Desk know about it. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the reccomendations you were given.

Please let me know when you are coming to Miami again and feel free to contact me directly. Hopefully no storms next time so you can also enjoy the beach.

Best regards,

Georgia Kaufmann Behar
Revenue Manager
Townhouse Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel

Address: 150 20th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#39 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Townhouse Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Kept Secret on The BeachConceived as a cool, fun and fresh retreat by owner Jonathan Morr, Townhouse offers a playful combination of modern design and old-fashioned comfort. Situated in the midst of South Beach and only steps away from the ocean, Townhouse provides guestswith a sleek and sexy hideaway for a weekend getaway or long retreat.Townhouse features 69 rooms affering fresh-cleanexciting design. The hotel offers free WI-Fi and complimentary breakfast served daily in the Pantry.The outdoor rooftop terrace offers a luxurious-yet simple design. At night the rooftop transforms into a lounge-sushi bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Miami Beach
Townhouse Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Townhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.