We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Italian in Ocean Drive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prime Italian

Prime Italian
101 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7212 (South Pointe)
305-695-8484
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Prime Italian is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #242 of 876 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: South Pointe
Cross street: 1st Street
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good Italian in Ocean Drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Normally, I dont recommend any restaurant in ocean drive BUT Prime Italian has good ambiance , good food and good service . One star less because the plates are toooo big , impossible to ördek a 2 course meal .

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    90
    45
    23
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Perfect. Food, service ambience. The meat was perfect. Portions are very big, so share or the bill will be too expensive. fried oreos were from heaven

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very poor experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Recommended by our concierge and our taxi driver confirmed its excellent reputation. However our worst meal in some time.
Arrived on time and table not ready. Shown to bar where it took a long time to get a drink because they didn't have enough staff. A/C not working. Shown to our table 30 minutes late.
Waiter not overly friendly, looked tired but wanted to impose his will on us. First question of "is there a children's menu" met with "no" in a very deadpan style. Was not happy with us not choosing any appetisers and aggressively tried to change our selections.
Messy menu with too many specials at very high prices.
When it arrived the food did not live up to its reputation or prices. The 3 who did not order pasta described the food as ok but would not order again (including the "speciality" meatballs). The pasta was nearly $30 and was probably the worst we have ever seen or tasted.
It was a complete waste of our time and money.
The night was summed up when we did not leave a gratuity and the waiter ran after us into the street to suggest we didn't understand the US system. I explained that we did and had been reflected within the size of the tip.
Avoid this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“We love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

This is THE SPOT for couples and groups in South Beach.
This is my husband's and my date night restaurant.
The food comes in super, huge dishes - perfect for sharing or take away-we have tried almost all the dishes in the menu and some of the meals of the day, and they are all delicious. The huge cheese and garlic warm bread is served with a slightly spicy tomato sauce.
Some good choices are: Kobe meatballs, all their salads, pizza or lobster bisc as starters.
Veal Milanese alla parmeggiana, lasagna, steak with the side dish of your choice (the side dishes are enormous).
Service is perfect, they are kind and attentive, checking that the glasses are never empty, paying attention to all the details. Once you place your order, it only takes 15/20 minutes to be served.
Atmosphere is the best, it has a large bar, with the perfect lighting, and when seated outside -our preferrence, even in winter- we enjoy watching the fabulous cars, and people surrounding both restaurants Prime Italian and Prime 112, located just opposite to this one.
Pricey, but classy. Its really worth it.
That's why my husband and I simply love it!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not worth the price - mostly people watching place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Went to check this place out as it seemed to be highly recommended on Tripadvisor. However, was very disappointed with the quality of food. We ordered the Kobe meatballs and pasta - I have to say that it wasn't anything truly exciting and on top of that the pasta was overcooked. We ordered the fried zucchini as a side to the steaks - the steak that was to be cooked 'well done' was 'well charred'. Fried zucchini was rather awful - where you would expect to get that in a Kebab Take Away - not at a Prime restaurant. My fillet mignon steak was average - again, nothing to rave about. We had steaks at Red and I have to say, it was absolutely amazing. Overall verdict of this place: pricey food but probably ideal for people watching. If you are foodie, this isn't the place to head to.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prime Italian also viewed

 
Miami Beach, FL
 

Been to Prime Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prime Italian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.