We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want a beach? - go to Australia.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of South Beach

South Beach
Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Nautilus)
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #7 of 50 Attractions in Miami Beach
Type: Beaches
Activities: People-watching, Sunbathing, City walk sightseeing, Nightlife, Dining, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: People watching is a great pastime in Miami's South Beach, which draws celebrities and beautiful people in skimpy swim attire to see and be seen. The wide and fine, white sand-covered beaches are popular spots for fashion photo shoots, so you're sure to see models. The area is known for its hip clubs and wild nightlife as well as numerous excellent restaurants.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Want a beach? - go to Australia.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I've been on worse beaches. It's a great place to watch people and to have a bit of swim but as a beach it barely makes the grade. Coarse sand, crowded with umbrellas, lounges and quite a swathe is set aside and packed down as a road. A bit of rubbish in the water. Shallow for along way out and no waves.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,503
    1,332
    414
    105
    63
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Ontario
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“BREATHTAKING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We had to make a stop at the beach when we stayed in South Beach for the night.
I wish we had more time to fully enjoy the area.
The beach is gorgeous and the water is even better. The sandbars are awesome that you can walk out to.
I will return and enjoy some more time on the beach.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“You can see it all here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

What a great beach. Go early to reserve one of the "beds". It is an elevated queens size padded "bed" that hold 3-4 people. Great for sunning and people watching. Food is across the street. You are not suppose to bring alcohol on the beach but if you are discrete about it, nothing will be said to you. We had a total blast.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“A Night on the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We found parking about 4 blocks away from Ocean Drive but we didn't care because it was a beautiful day to walk. We did stop by the beach but since it was getting dark, there wasn't any thing interesting to see and so we headed back to the strip. I liked this strip. It was full of happy people shopping or drinking coffee and tea or just people watched. We didn't buy anything but I chatted with a nice Spanish speaking sales clerk who was just happy to talk to someone because her store was devoid of customers. Anyway, it was good to finally see Ocean Drive and South Beach and the highlight for me was the Versace Mansion which is now a hotel.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Nice water, nice sand, too bad there are no bars on the beach though.

Make sure you bring your sunscreen!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Beach also viewed

 

Been to South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.