We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want a beach? - go to Australia.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of South Beach

South Beach
Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Nautilus)
Update attraction details
Book a Tour

Ranked #8 of 48 attractions in Miami Beach
Type: Beaches
Activities: People-watching, Sunbathing, City walk sightseeing, Nightlife, Dining, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: People watching is a great pastime in Miami's South Beach, which draws celebrities and beautiful people in skimpy swim attire to see and be seen. The wide and fine, white sand-covered beaches are popular spots for fashion photo shoots, so you're sure to see models. The area is known for its hip clubs and wild nightlife as well as numerous excellent restaurants.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Want a beach? - go to Australia.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I've been on worse beaches. It's a great place to watch people and to have a bit of swim but as a beach it barely makes the grade. Coarse sand, crowded with umbrellas, lounges and quite a swathe is set aside and packed down as a road. A bit of rubbish in the water. Shallow for along way out and no waves.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,973
    1,060
    335
    89
    57
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Ontario
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“BREATHTAKING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We had to make a stop at the beach when we stayed in South Beach for the night.
I wish we had more time to fully enjoy the area.
The beach is gorgeous and the water is even better. The sandbars are awesome that you can walk out to.
I will return and enjoy some more time on the beach.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“You can see it all here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

What a great beach. Go early to reserve one of the "beds". It is an elevated queens size padded "bed" that hold 3-4 people. Great for sunning and people watching. Food is across the street. You are not suppose to bring alcohol on the beach but if you are discrete about it, nothing will be said to you. We had a total blast.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“A Night on the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We found parking about 4 blocks away from Ocean Drive but we didn't care because it was a beautiful day to walk. We did stop by the beach but since it was getting dark, there wasn't any thing interesting to see and so we headed back to the strip. I liked this strip. It was full of happy people shopping or drinking coffee and tea or just people watched. We didn't buy anything but I chatted with a nice Spanish speaking sales clerk who was just happy to talk to someone because her store was devoid of customers. Anyway, it was good to finally see Ocean Drive and South Beach and the highlight for me was the Versace Mansion which is now a hotel.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Nice water, nice sand, too bad there are no bars on the beach though.

Make sure you bring your sunscreen!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Beach also viewed

 

Been to South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.