We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best there is, anywhere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Beach

South Beach
Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Nautilus)
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #6 of 49 Attractions in Miami Beach
Type: Beaches
Activities: People-watching, Sunbathing, City walk sightseeing, Nightlife, Dining, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: People watching is a great pastime in Miami's South Beach, which draws celebrities and beautiful people in skimpy swim attire to see and be seen. The wide and fine, white sand-covered beaches are popular spots for fashion photo shoots, so you're sure to see models. The area is known for its hip clubs and wild nightlife as well as numerous excellent restaurants.
Miami Beach, FL
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Best there is, anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Miami Beach has everything: Wide, beautiful sand, warm water year round, proximity to restaurants, bars, nightclubs, hotels--everything you could want--parks, board walks, and lots of gorgeous (many topless) sunbathers and swimmers.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,420
    1,288
    400
    102
    63
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brockville, Canada
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
152 attraction reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“LOVE South Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We went last Feb. 2012. We are returning this Feb. 2013. We love South Beach. We stay at South Beach before we head out on a cruise. This time we are staying longer so we can see more. The whole atmosphere of South Beach is terrific.. lots of fun things to do..from shopping, to eating out to dancing and just spending time on the beach. We can't wait to return... BTW..we loved renting bikes. We found a place that we could rent for $10 a day. It wasn't the main bike rental but one up the street. We loved riding our bikes on the paths in South Beach. We also enjoyed walking all over the place and discovering hidden gems.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Run down and expensive...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

South Beach is frozen in time... early 90's, and since then not much has been done in terms of maintenance or novelty for the main income which is tourism. The restaurants & streets look almost mouldy, the beach was dirty and I am talking about high season... meanwhile the prices have gone up ridiculously, for example we got charged $20USD for a glass of mineral water with ice in one of the restaurants of the strip. The souvenir shops have not moved on with the times and there is plenty of fluoro tacky Tshirts & hot pants to choose from. I am going somewhere else next time.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fab”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Clean, Beautiful... fab atmosphere! Opposite bars and clubs, very peaceful but still really fun place to be.

TIP : sun loungers are $40 very expensive so take a beach towel

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“South Beach and Clubbing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

South Beach is way overrated. It is a joke. Hotels are expensive but dirty, overpriced, and service is horrendous. There is nothing to see. Art Deco? Please.

Do not waste your money and just go someplace exotic where people appreciate you for coming.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Beach also viewed

 

Been to South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.