We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go for a holiday” 2 of 5 stars
Review of South Beach

South Beach
Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$65*
and up
Miami City Bus Tour
Ranked #25 of 159 Activities in Miami Beach
Activities: People-watching, Sunbathing, City walk sightseeing, Nightlife, Dining, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: People watching is a great pastime in Miami's South Beach, which draws celebrities and beautiful people in skimpy swim attire to see and be seen. The wide and fine, white sand-covered beaches are popular spots for fashion photo shoots, so you're sure to see models. The area is known for its hip clubs and wild nightlife as well as numerous excellent restaurants.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Don't go for a holiday”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The tourists don't quite have the American etiquette of the beach. Let's just say if you lie somewhere, expect somebody to lie literally right next to you. If they spoke English I would tell them to move over but I had to move 2 times because somebody would intrude on our sand!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,056
    1,634
    496
    123
    70
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mesquite, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“NICE!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Great swim at the beaches of miami! My kids didn't want to leave the beach! Had a great time! You will love the view. Breath taking! Can't wait to be back again!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Finding a Good Beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

There are many beaches in Miami Beach and most of them are very nice; however, finding one with convenient parking can be challenging. If you are a visitor, and have been here before, you will notice the beaches have become much smaller. Super Storm Sandy, coupled with an unusual high tide, took a good part of our beaches away. In some areas the beach is gone. Our Governor recently asked Our Government for 800 Billion to start to address the beach erosion problem but it was denied because of the overwhelming cost The US Government has to pay out for the mass destruction which took place in New York and New Jersey. My advice, look at the beach before you park the car and happy swimming.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“LOVE this beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Beautiful, sexy, friendly people everywhere! I felt like I belonged there. I want to move there and so that I can feel that way everyday!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Always wanted to see South Beach and I was not disappointed. Fun place to visit! Family friendly, beautiful beach, lots of good hotels and restaurants.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Beach also viewed

 

Been to South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.